We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful dining experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kanalen Restaurant

Kanalen Restaurant
2 Wilders Plads, Copenhagen 1403, Denmark
3295 1330
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #166 of 1,542 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French, Danish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Belfast
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Lovely staff and the food was to die for. This is an experience, not just a meal. As many courses as you like and wine to go with every one. The champagne on arrival was a particularly nice touch

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    49
    16
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

A very nice experieince of Christianshavn. The restaurant is located just by the canal and you can sit inside or outside. Amazing servers with perfect knowledge of the wines. Very good modern cuisine with menus for 3-8 courses. The only disadvantages is the wind when sitting outside.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great flavours!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We chose the fixed asparragus menu. Even dessert was based on asparragus and the flavours were very well combined.

Service was excellent, friendly and ready to answer all questions we had.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Fantastic food, fantastic setting and amazing helpful and knowledgeable staff. A great time. We would thoroughly recommend this establishment.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful Danish cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We just had a wonderful dinner at Kanalen restaurant. The food is locally sourced and very well presented. My husband and I chose the "Lokal" menu and matching wine menu. I originally chose the three course menu without the cheese, but after my husband was served his cheese course I could not resist his ordering o d for me as well. And it was delicious as well as the matching wind which was announced by the waiter as "funny" tasting on its own but perfect with the cheese. And indeed it was!!! As was the dessert wine which we both thoroughly enjoyed. Altogether a lovely experience of first class Danish cuisine!! To be repeated next time we'll be visiting Copenhagen!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kanalen Restaurant also viewed

Frederiksberg, Copenhagen
 

Been to Kanalen Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kanalen Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.