We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, unique, friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rye

Hotel Rye
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Rye to your Saves list
Hotel Rye
Ryesgade 115, Copenhagen 2100, Denmark (Østerbros)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Cozy, unique, friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Small hotel with a lot of soul. Artistic details, worn and torn but in a good way. Several rooms have lovely naive "Trompe L'oeil", illusion art, on the walls. Owners are sweet and caring. Feels like you are visiting there own home. Pretty good location, on a calm street next to the city ponds. Also close to Rigshospitalet known from Lars von Tries TV-series "Riget" (The Kingdom)!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    2
    1
    8
See reviews for
6
5
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex UK
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

I think this is the worst place i have ever stayed, it might be ok for some one on there own, but even then i think you would be disappointed! It is more of a Hostel than a Hotel and very dated and grubby. Please find some where else to stay and enjoy your visit to Denmark.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

This is a hostel not a hotel. I paid 800 Danish Kroner (equivalent to £100) and it was the worst hotel I have styaed in for twenty years of travelling for work and pleasure. Rooms are awful - dirty and poorly equipped. Shared shower room was a discrace - dirty and so old. Toilet was horrible. Rooms are all over a very narrow, drab corridor. Breakfast/loungs is the floor below. Breakfast was good and the coffee was very good but all else was terrible. To be charged so much money for such poor quality was very very poor value for money. Unfortunately my office had agreed the price before I arrived.
Avoid this hotel at all costs.
Dont let this put you off Copenhagen though it is a fantastic city and very much worth a visit. This hotel is NOT representative of the rest of Copenhagen.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
århus
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights. We were welcomed with really personal service, coffe, tea and cakes. Lovely. The Hotel was very cosy and we felt at home at once. The Breakfast was excellent. The owner made bread herself. Uhm. Fresh and good products of all sorts. One of the best hotel-breakfasts ever. The staying room was perfect for relaxing and sleeping. We will return.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

We happened on this hotel as we walked to the downtown of Copenhagen after leaving our cruise ship. Excellent location - near parks, subway, museums, restaurants, etc. Pleasant walk to Tivoli also. It was a wonderful discovery. We stayed in a nicely decorated family room with huge windows and beds for each of the 4 people in our family. The living room downstairs was available for us to play table games in the evening. Coffee, tea, & cookies were available in the late afternoon and evening. The breakfast was great - similar to what we had in other Scandinavian hotels, with the addition of homemade crepes and rolls. The breakfast room looks out on a courtyard with a beautiful garden. The computer in the breakfast room had high speed internet access and was always available. There was a shared washroom near our room as well as others in the hotel. All were clean. Plenty of hot water, towels, bath robes, & slippers. We rented bicycles at the subway station nearby and locked them overnight behind the hotel - no problem. We stayed on the 3rd floor, but stairs don't scare us!
We were so delighted with this hotel that we booked it for an additional 3 nights for the end of our stay in Denmark. The price was better than we'd found at other places, and the manager was pleasant and accommodating. We recommend this hotel to other travelling families. We will book here when travelling to Copenhagen again.

  • Liked — location, food, big room, character
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2006

I stayed one night and could'nt wait to leave, my standards may be higher than others. The shared bathrooms were dirty.

  • Liked — there was nothing
  • Disliked — all of it
  • Tips/Secrets — Do not stay here. PHOTOS ON WEB NOT ACCURATE!!!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2006

We chose this hotel after reading the website - how far from the truth could it have been. From the first step inside, my impression was one of utter dismay. There is no mention of the numerous stairs we had to climb to get to the hotel entrance. The appearance is more like a hostel than a hotel! The welcome was far from friendly, with rules and regulations being spouted out from the word go. When we eventually arrived in our room, after wallking down a dark smelly corridor, we could not believe the state of it. It was absolutley filthy, the wash basin in the room was stained brown, the 'Kimono and Slippers' which were mentioned within the hotel website, were actually grey cotton wraps, and the slippers were old and grubby and you would not even attempt to put your feet in them. The overall decor of the room was painted, everything painted!!!, from the wardrobes and dressing tables painted onto the wall as a "feature", along with numerous painted book shelves, not relaxing at all. The window again was a painting, with far reaching views and even curtains.
What a surprise I had when I attempted to open it and have a look outside!
Now onto the bathrooms, hopefully you won't be eating whilst I describe this. There were 'splats' up the door which could have been anything, including you know what. A mop was there to use if you were brave enough to have a shower, however it was full of hair and dirt. The top of the tiles had about 1/2 inch of dust and I would not dare to sit on the loo.
After a long night, we went down for breakfast, again welcomed by the usual warm and friendly greeting we experienced on our arrival, "So you're here then", could have said there and then "Yes but heaven knows why". She showed us her home made buns, and we thought that things were looking up, but when we looked at the state of the dirty tea-towel which was covering them over, we thought again. We tried a pancake AWFUL, and bread with some cheese AWFUL. We made a hasty retreat to our room, threw our things into the suitcase, said goodbye with the same attitude as our greeting, and went along to the tourist information centre to find somewhere else to stay for the next few nights. They had'nt even got this place listed, and I'm not surprised, although they may want to start a list of places definatley not to stay at, this would be No 1 without a doubt.
To summarise, this should no way be called a hotel, or be allowed to give the impression that it is one. There were workpeople and what looked like families living there, so it's no more than a hostal. The hotel website should be updated and not give the impression of it being a hotel at all. For only £5 more, we eventualyy stayed at The Maritime Hotel and this was like heaven on earth compared to the place we had just left.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — All of it
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rye

Address: Ryesgade 115, Copenhagen 2100, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Østerbros
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Rye reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rye Hotel Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rye, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.