We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, modern and good value!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copenhagen Island Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Copenhagen Island Hotel to your Saves list
Copenhagen Island Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kalvebod Brygge 53, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark (Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Clean, modern and good value!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I'd definitely recommend the Copenhagen Island Hotel! Modern and stylishly decorated both externally and internally, large and clean rooms, great sea view with balcony, nice gym and helpful staff all at a good price! It's well located too, only 1 metro stop away from the city centre and a decent shopping mall next door.

Only slight negative was the breakfast which I didn't think was that good...

Nevertheless - really enjoyed my stay!

Room Tip: Get a seaview with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    553
    207
    68
    24
See reviews for
118
441
71
259
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel is in a great location, comfortable and spacious. Breakfast is very good, staff nice. I could only get warm, but no hot water, which is fine for showers but not for a bath. There was an issue with the invoice as more ( a second amount) was deducted from my card than what is on the invoice. They are looking into fixing it though.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

the hotel is clean and the rooms are really nice although the beds are rather small which others reviewers have mentioned. Breakfast is lovely although there does not appear to be enough tables and chairs for the guest so was a bit of a struggle finding somewhere to sit. The staff are really friendly with Dennis helping us with our meal reservation. Overall a decent hotel or the price. I was thinking of staying in the Marriott but it was £100 dearer and it's an ugly building!!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My second stay at Copenhagen Island (the first being in January) and I really rate this hotel for its decor, views across the harbour (if you wish) and the helpfulness of the staff.

As others have mentioned, the hotel stands next to a shopping mall, which if you don't choose to eat in the hotel, offers some good eateries - our favourite was 'My Fair Lady' which served some basic food at a decent price (it also doubles as a cocktail bar in the evening).

The rooms in the hotel are not the biggest or have great provision for big luggage, but they are bright, spotlessly clean and are reasonably well equipped with tea and coffee facilities in some. We ate in the restaurant one night and the food was fantastic, with a beautiful ambience.

The hotel provides free wifi, which unfortunately was an issue during our stay as the signal kept dropping. The hotel staff did everything they could to help however - staff in general are incredibly helpful, professional and courteous.

The city centre is approx 15 minutes walk to the main town square, which wasn't a problem for us - a bracing walk along the harbour front was great exercise!

Copenhagen is a great City from so many aspects - good food, shopping, beautiful architecture and the lovely people.

Thanks for a great stay - I will be back!

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for a harbour view room. Great views down to some of the famous landmarks from some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alp_12, Direktør at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you very much for your kind and positive review. Thank you for emphasizing the helpfulness of our staff and for visiting our restaurant, The Harbour.
We are now offering tea/coffee facilities in all our superior, executive rooms and junior suites.
Thank you for choosing our hotel. We will look forward to your revisit.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It may technically be an island but that shouldn't be your deciding factor in booking. It's essentially waterfront and we did have a room with a harbor view which is certainly nicer. It is one stop from the Central train station and about 3-4 stops from the most popular areas of the city to visit. The design of the lobby, the rooms, the restaurant, etc... are aesthetically fantastic. The staff was pleasant and helpful. There are bikes available on site. It is adjacent to a large shopping center should you have forgotten anything when packing.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alp_12, Direktør at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review and our description of the surroundings. We hope that you enjoyed your stay at Copenhagen Island Hotel.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is the 2nd review I have taken the time to write for this hotel. I managed to get a superior water view room this time. As last time I had a motorway facing room. Which aren't as bad as some have made out. The air conditioning I had in the one I stayed in worked a treat. So no need to open the window.
The superior room had a small balcony, a kettle and ironing board. And was very quiet. Generally this is a quiet hotel, and most guests being business guests tend to be the types to respect others quietude. It's also busy, but not too busy ( Bella hotel in Amagor is immense and very busy), the breakfast room is great, and not overloaded, ( Bella in Amagor is huge and extremely busy).
I loved the breakfast room and food, and I also enjoyed the restaurant which has a simple good menu, and isn't too pricey. I don't drink, so probably saved a fortune there!
The shopping mall contrary to others reviews is very useful, and is hardly the cheap end of the spectrum. It's got loads of useful shops all under one roof, 1 minute from the hotel. Made my life easy nipping to the supermarket for some cordial and sandwiches/coffee for the hotel room for my stay to keep costs down. Those who travel a lot know that shopping like a local makes the money go further! So it's really useful.
The hotel has a weird layout of steps and stairways, up and down to the restaurant, odd layout. More quirky than awkward. But I wouldn't walk up or down that glass stairway drunk! Get the lift, it's easier. And having only 5 floors, is not an issue is the lifts fail either.
Copenhagen is quirky city, currently looks like a giant building site with all the subway improvements, and endless improvements, it's been like that for the last 3 years I've been going there, so I think it's typical for a capital city. It's not the easiest to fathom initially, but this hotel is ideally situated not 15 minutes walf from the central station. And for exploratory days out this is more than useful.
The staff are ok, all speak Engish, are competent and friendly, Trine was especially thoughtful and helpful with a query I had, and thoughtful consideration and personal ownership of issues is a sign of great customer services, Trine has that is spades. I've had a few "lost in translation" conversations with the staff, and I'm not sure they know where humour ends, and casual comments become flippancy. But as a foreigner, I'm not sure I'm mis-understanding the Danish sense of humour, or was being belittled. Hence "lost in translation".
I like this hotel. Enough to visit it twice. It's a number of things that makes it work as a base. I would definitely recommend it over staying in the chaotic city centre. And it has the boat trip landing ( only in good weather will it run in April) is just behind the hotel. A much nicer way to enter Copenhagen than the roads and trains.
Like any major city it's nice to have a more peaceful hotel to return to, having water and quietude is very pleasant. And it's easy to have a quiet walk up the harbourside in the eveningsIt's a good hotel.

Room Tip: If you like your kettle. Get a superior room. But use the fridge to store the milk you've bought...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alp_12, Direktør at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you very much for your extensive and positive review. We are very happy that you have chosen us for the second time as your hotel in Copenhagen. All our standard rooms have city/street view. All our superior rooms have harbour view and all our executive rooms have harbour view and balcony. Our superior and executive rooms have tea/coffee facilities. It seems that you had a good time in the hotel and in Copenhagen. Hope to see you again
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent three days last weekend in Copenhagen. The central station of Copenhagen was 15 minutes on the train from the airport and is directly opposite Tivoli Gardens in the centre of the city. After a lovely walk along the river using Google Maps we found the hotel. If you get on a local train it is only one stop to Fisketorvet shopping mall which is directly opposite the hotel. After a very quick and friendly check-in, we were told we had been upgraded as I had mentioned it was my husband's 50th birthday! We had a gorgeous room on the second floor overlooking the harbour and river. There was a wedding in the hotel so saw them taking photos by the boats (saw 3 weddings that day!). The hotel is very new, modern and clean with glass lifts in the lobby. The bathroom was great and included a bath and good shower. Also had a hairdryer. Location good, walk to the right along the river for little mermaid, hippy town of Christiania, palace, Nyhavn. You have to see Nyhavn, it is the prettiest place in Copenhagan, looks very dutch and is right on the water with lots of lovely boats. Take the free walking tour which goes every day at 11am from the town hall (by KFC), you will see so much and it is fun, its three hours but with a stop for coffee. You will find out so much about Copenhagen. Breakfast on Sunday and Monday was continental but so much choice and proper butter (dutch but like English salted butter!).

Room Tip: Harbour room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alp_12, Direktør at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much for your kind and positive review. It seems that you both had a great time in the hotel and in Copenhagen. Thank you for staying at Copenhagen Island Hotel. We hope to welcome you back again.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copenhagen Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Island Hotel

Address: Kalvebod Brygge 53, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Copenhagen Island Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Splendia, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Copenhagen Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copenhagen Island Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.