We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“God views and price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copenhagen Island Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Copenhagen Island Hotel to your Saves list
Copenhagen Island Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kalvebod Brygge 53, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark (Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
1 review
“God views and price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

I had a sea facing room and the view was good. The room was beautiful and good value for money.

Our room service was 20 minutes late which was a bit frustrating because I was hungry.

But other than that, it was a good experience.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your review and for the 4 points on Tripadvisor. Thank you for staying here, next time we will speed up on your room service.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    504
    191
    67
    22
See reviews for
112
395
66
236
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgetown
Top Contributor
379 reviews 379 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 159 cities Reviews in 159 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a Collette Vacations tour of Scandinavia. At first, I was very disappointed with the location. The view is good, the site beautiful and Copenhagen's largest mall is next door, However, with a half hour's walk to the downtown area, the hotel is a bit far from many of the places we want to go. The savior was the Hop-On Hop-Off bus/cruise. A short walk to the nearby Marriott connected us to the Hop-On Hop-Off bus; and even shorter walk back of the hotel connected us to the cruise. Once we discovered this, the location began to grow on us.
The room was good and we like the free internet in the large business centre. There was also a nice restaurant to have our breakfast in. There were negatives as well. Breakfast, while adequate, was the worst we had in Scandinavia. There was no place to put our luggage after our early arrival from our cruise ship. We were required to leave our luggage in the lobby. Also, the beds were very soft and the mattresses did not seem to fit well. The staff were not as friendly and helpful as we had found elsewhere (although they were not really unfriendly either).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for giving us 4 points on Tripadvisor. Walking distance to the city center is app. 20 minutes or 5 minutes by bus. We have 2 buses very close to the hotel. You can also try the Hop on /Hop off bus as you did. If you would like to see Copenhagen by bike, you can rent bikes at the hotel. Most our guests are very happy with the service of our staff, so we are naturally sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. However, we do hope to welcome you back at Copenhagen Island Hotel.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, England
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Hotel Copenhagen Island, which was a little bit out from the city. It was a deal with travezoo for a superior room with harbour view, breakfast, and a bottle of bubbly. However, the room was really small and there was no room for the cases, and a very tiny awkward wardrobe (we didn’t bother using it); and to plug in the kettle we had to put it on the floor opposite the bathroom. There was only one china cup – the other was a polystyrene mug. No safe. Small balcony. As usual, the hotel had an enormous atrium – better use of space would be to enlarge the rooms and make them more ergonomic. Sunday breakfast was complete chaos; it was clear that the staff couldn’t cope and had given up. Not impressed by burnt bacon, reconstitute scrambled egg, and salty sausage. Breakfast on Monday was a much different experience, as there were hardly any customers. and the breads and pastries were very good. The hotel had wonderful bikes for hire and access to the lovely 50m Harbour pool.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your guest review. Our rooms are between 20-25 square metres, which is normal compared to Danish standards. We recommend our guests to avoid rush hour in the breakfast restaurant, as Sunday mornings are always busy. However, we will pass on your comments to our restaurant and kitchen manager. We are glad that you had a positive experience in the restaurant on Monday morning.
Looking forward to seeing you again at your next visit to Copenhagen.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Copenhagen Island Hotel is located on the canal, literally. Our room was on the water side and we upgraded to a room with a balcony. Beautiful view. The food in the hotel restaurant/bar was excellent.Beds were comfortable and the housekeeping staff was quick and efficient.There are numerous sites to see within an easy walking distance. It is located right next to ah big shopping mall but is still a quiet, restful hotel. There are numerous restaurants close by too. Check in and out was easy and the front desk staff was very helpful. We stayed 2 weeks there and were happy the whole time,

Room Tip: Upgrade to a canal side room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you very, very much for giving us 5 points on Tripadvisor. It is a pleasure reading you review of your hotel stay. We are glad that we could contribute to a nice vacation in Copenhagen and that you found our service satisfactory.
We hope to welcome you back another time.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Beautiful new hotel in the heart of CpH. Really enjoyed the beautiful rooms, great view, and fine dining. It is really easy to get in and out of given the train station is 2 minutes away and the city center is less than 15 minutes by walk. The wifi is excellent and free! Always an underrated benefit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for giving us 4 points! We are glad to read all your positive comments.
Thank you very mucc, looking forward to seeing you again.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I was a bit reluctant to stay in this rather new hotel in Copenhagen, located on Kalvebod Brygge about 30 minutes walk from the centre of town, as so many good hotels are found in the city centre. But I grew to like the hotel and the location very much. It has a beautiful location on the harbour with its inviting walks and activities, such as a seawater Olympic size pool just at the hotel. In the morning I had great jogs along the harbour and over the bicycle/walking bridge that connects to "the other side of the harbour" (Islands Brygge) just south of the hotel.
The modern designed room was small with limited clothing space, best suitable for a single person and a bit too tight for two, I think. It has a large flat-screen television and the bed is great with a cylindrical pillow that just gave my head the right support. The bathroom is modern and beautiful. There is a gorgeous view of the harbour, as mentioned before, from a floor to ceiling French balcony door. The breakfast restaurant is a bit inconveniently located from the second floor and down a few flight of stairs. The breakfast buffet is OK, but not outstanding. The service is also OK. but not outstanding either. Worst of all is the welcome to the hotel of 12 or so steep stairs on which you have to struggle up with your luggage without the help and welcome of a doorman. Have that changed, please. The location, however, is not bad at all, as there is a subway station a hundred meters or so from the hotel just one stop away from the central station. Furthermore, the hotel is next door to one of the largest and best shopping centres of Copenhagen (Fisketorvet) where you can get all of the Danish delights which you are looking for and find some quite good eating places too.

Room Tip: Get a room with view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your review and for giving us 4 points on Tripadvisor. Glad to read that you enjoyed your room and the surroundings of the hotel. You stayed in an executive room with a lovely harbour view. We will definitely see if we can handle the luggage problem at the intrance door. Thank you for choosing us!
We hope to welcome you back another time.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Yesterday i had kept my bags in the store of the hotel waiting for check in i came back after half an hour and i suprized that two bags of mine are lost or stolen and when i asked the front desk staff they said we do not know while they give me ticket with the number of bags i already kept moreover i asked the staff to check the camera which is located in the resption area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alp_12, General Manager at Copenhagen Island Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
It is really unfortunate that another group by mistake took your luggage and brought it to a cruise ship. We have spent time trying to locate your luggage and we are sending your suitcases to you. We would, however, like to emphasize that storing your luggage in a hotel is your own responsibility.Looking forward to seeing you again.
Anne Louise Poulsen, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Copenhagen Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Island Hotel

Address: Kalvebod Brygge 53, Copenhagen 1560, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Copenhagen Island Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 326
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Copenhagen Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copenhagen Island Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.