We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Building” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copenhagen Opera House

Copenhagen Opera House
Ekvipagemestervej 10, Copenhagen, Denmark (Indre By)
45-33 69-69-69
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 95 Activities in Copenhagen
Type: Architectural Buildings, Operas, Performances
Attraction details
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Not normally an opera goer but as we managed to get cheap tickets to Puccini's Il Trittico on the Monday night of our visit we thought we'd head along. Stunning building on the inside, very well organised too, even though it was virtually a full house it never seemed packed. Nice choice of drinks and snacks in the lobby cafe with no queue which was a first with regards most theatres I've been to.

Only problem we had was down to my inability to understand Danish whilst booking the tickets, Google Translate wasn't able to identify that the "seats" I was purchasing were actually standing tickets! So perhaps be careful with that, we were able to sneak into seats after the intermission as it was not full up in the gods.

Very well organised afterwards with many buses lined up to take us back to the City Centre. A great experience.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    146
    26
    2
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire and Beyond
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Carmen...Wow!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

What an amazing structure and opera house. It is lovely inside and the staff were excellent. Great opera as well seeing the original Carmen as Bizet intended

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“It is the inside that counts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

From the outside the building is bulky and not very welcoming. But at the inside you find the cool vestibule with the enourmous chandeliers by Olafur Elliasson. The nxt tep is the actual crown - the theatre - wow what a place. Go and see an opera or a play!!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Superb architecture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Can become overheated in the auditorium,

Good performance by local cast.

Excellent restaurant (Borgen)

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Extraordinary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

I have been to several opera houses around the world but this pace is fantastic. Beautiful and Scandinavian style at its best. The acoustics are world class. So is the view of the harbour.

Don't come to Copenhagen without visiting the opera house - it is a must!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Copenhagen Opera House also viewed

 

Been to Copenhagen Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copenhagen Opera House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.