We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish, creative and overly friendly atmosphere - staff treats you like friends rather than guests” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen

Save Saved
You added Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vesterbrogade 107, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark (Formerly Bertrams Hotel Guldsmeden, Copenhagen) (Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #9 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
GreenLeadersBronze level
Berlin
1 review
“Stylish, creative and overly friendly atmosphere - staff treats you like friends rather than guests”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

Very creative and warm decor throughout the whole hotel. The room is so cosy that we first didnt want to leave to have a look at the city. The breakfast was one of the best that I have ever experienced at a hotel, amazing variety, fresh and tasty. Around 15 minute walking distance to the city center, I am sure that you can find hotels that are close to the center but this hotel is amazing in terms of value for money. The staff encorporate the whole eco-culture of the hotel and treated us like friends rather than guests.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this review, May 5, 2010
Thank you for taking the time, to let other readers know of your stay with us.

Positive remarks and comments, like the ones you have provided indicate that we are hitting the nail on the head.

It is greatly appreciated that each client has their own perception and view points.

Yours sincerly

Nikolas HALL - OWNER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    184
    59
    24
    5
See reviews for
34
276
39
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
France
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2010

What a nice surprise I had in arriving at the Bertrams Hotel! The room was on the fourth floor facing the courtyard with a little balcony. A very nice furniture in the room, with a beautiful four posted bed, without mentionning the old style bathtub but so trendy! Clean, charming, warm and very comfortable! Ask Nikolas or Adam whatever you need, and they'll do their utmost to satisfy your wishes, always with the smile!! I travel a lot and see many hotels every week, all year long... This one will remain impressed in my mind, and I will for sure come back to the Bertrams Hotel if I might travel to Copenhagen again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this review, April 13, 2010
Thanks for the feedback. What has been described is exactly what we want to achieve.

It requires hard work and focus on your guests needs - but that is what hospitality is all about.

Nikolas HALL
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

This hotel is located on the far end of Vesterbrogade, easily reachable on foot from the train station, which is about a 15 minute walk away. Take the exit where you can see the trains underneath the square, and not the Tivoli exit, the walk straight, turn left at top and follow Vesterbrogade until you reach the hotel. Keep walking straight, it will be on your left hand side. It's also served by a local bus which stops right outside the hotel door on the way into the city.

The reception staff were extremely helpful and always available for a chat. I did not have the breakfast here and can't comment too much but as it is offered by one of the best organic bakeries in the city, I imagine its quite good, be it pricey.

My room was a superior single which had its own balcony and a very comfortable four poster bed! It was roomy enough for one staying. The bathroom was small but had everything you would need. The shower cream and shampoo for example were really special, as they are organic and made especially for the hotel and also sold at reception in larger bottles to bring home if you wish! The room was well heated during the bitterly cold month of January!

I did not find any problems during my stay. Some other reviewers have mentioned people standing outside the hotel's front door and were a bit perturbed by it. No need to be worried, its just people queuing at the stop for the bus! A great hotel in summing up and well worth it to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this review, March 3, 2010
Thanks for posting your review. It sums the atmosphere that we want to create, and refelcts to the public at large what we offer.

Nikolas Hall - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkenes, Norway
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2010

The hotel is a short walk away from Strøget, but as we love to walk, this is only an advantage.

The room was clean and light, though not large. The bathroom in our room was very small, but equipped with everything we needed. The bed was very good. The recepion area, the public areas and the backyard are very inviting. The staff was very nice and friendly.

There was a good tapas restaurant across the street - recommended!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

We only stayed here one night but were given such lovely service from a lady on the reception. She gave us some great spots to visit for lunch and shopping, not just the typical toursity areas.

The hotel itself was lovely. It had a very warm and down to earth feel which extra niceities you just wouldn't get from a big hotel chain. They have a lovely kitchen area for meals and breakfast which we didnt opt for in the end but it looked gorgeous. It looks like a cottage open kitchen, very welcoming and friendly. They also serve tea and coffe through out the day without an extra charge and cakes should you wish to have a little munch.

We stayed on the 5th (top) floor double room with a shower room. Everything worked and was comfortable. And considering it was -2 degrees outside we were very warm through out the night - no complaints.

The lift to the floors is abit daunting, A two people carriage which is exposed to the outside of the building. Stairs are available for those who might not like confined spaces!

Location wise it was great. About a 10-15 minute walk from Central station. Very central in terms of the main streets, we only ever walked 20 minutes maximum to get to main attractions in the city.

We paid a reasonable £100 for the night which I would consider slightly pricey, but worth is as everything worked wonderfully and were treated very well.

I would highly recommend this hotel to friends of mine. A great local hotel. It also has a sister hotel close by with Spa treatments which we did not get to use because of time but looked nice. Also central.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

I spent a lot of time researching hotel options before choosing to book this one. Be warned, do not expect to find anything cheap either accommodation wise or food wise in this city. You wont find it! Having said that, I am very glad I chose this lovely hotel. The staff went the extra mile to help me find my way to various museums and places of interest. As a single traveller it really helps you feel more confident about finding your way around a new city.

Some people in previous reviews have complained about the noise from the street. I had a pang of concern when walking in to my (lovely) room when I realised it was street facing, but there was hardly a sound to be heard all night, even with traffic (when I opened the curtains to check).

Likewise the bathroom is small, but as I don't sleep in it and everything works (nice hot shower!) I don't really care. The organic products are nice, and the (only discovered on second day) little bag containing miniature goodies including a tiny sewing kit was very sweet.

The free internet access and free loose tea which you can use whenever you like is a very welcome plus too. There is a bus that stops right outside the hotel for those concerned about the walk from the train station. You can easily buy a ticket there and then walk a few hundred yards to the nearest bus stop.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

Recently taken over by Nicholas Hall & his wife, they have created a warm atmosphere & nothing was too much trouble (they let us use the laptop to book in online & print out our boarding cards).
The decor is stylish & the rooms are well designed (if a little small) with very comfortable beds - we had rooms at the front & there was some traffic noise.
The breakfasts were excellent, with a great selection of breads, cereal, boiled eggs, cold meats, juices & hot drinks.
the hotel's location means it is a long walk to Tivoli & the central area, but there is a bus stop right outside & the buses are frequent.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen

Address: Vesterbrogade 107, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark (Formerly Bertrams Hotel Guldsmeden, Copenhagen)
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#3 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
#9 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#9 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate boutique hotel is located in the hip Vesterbro district of Copenhagen. Bertrams Guldsmeden offers guests a sumptuous organic breakfast buffet.We do require of guests to be over 18 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Fastbooking, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bertrams Hotel Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.