We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced but clean and comfortable enough” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen to your Saves list
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vesterbrogade 107, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark (Formerly Bertrams Hotel Guldsmeden, Copenhagen) (Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Experience magical X-Mas
Ranked #9 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
GreenLeadersBronze level
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced but clean and comfortable enough”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Pros:
+Clean rooms
+Amazing shower

Cons:
-seems more like a very fancy hostel than a hotel
-is further from the train station than advertised
-room facing the street was noisy

Overall, our stay at Bertrams was fine. Had the cost been less per night we would have rated it higher as it was clean and comfortable. However, it seemed very overpriced for what it was as the rooms are small and very plain and the location was a little further out than advertised.

Room Tip: There is an added charge for credit cards so plan to pay cash or use a debit card. Also good to req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Stacey W

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

I am pleased that you were overall pleased with your stay with us, however I feel compelled to comment your review.
- our distance from the station has, and always will be, roughly 1 kilometer from the station, and we do not advertise otherwise.
- our rates reflect the value of the product & services being purchased, the demand and supply for the city, and are comparable for similar properties for any given period.
- we levi a credit card charge for all credit card transactions. This is the exact amount the card processing company charges us. This information is provided on our website, and readily available when you check in.

I hope you that your trip to Copenhagen was otherwise pleasant.

Nikolas HALL - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    198
    66
    24
    6
See reviews for
35
294
41
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Brook, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I stayed at the hotel for a week for business. The staff was very personable and helpful with directions, taxis and anything else that you needed. The breakfast was wonderful and fresh. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated, the bed was very comfortable. They have a nice courtyard to sit outside and enjoy the lovely weather. I was very content staying at this lovely hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear JanP-MCD

I much appreciate the time you have taken to post a review of your recent stay with us, and I am sure that other TripAdvisor users will also appreciate your review.

I am pleased to conclude that your trip to Copenhagen was successful, and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Have a pleasant summer.

Nikolas HALL - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

In a very convenient location and with lovely comfortable rooms and a great breakfast, I would recommend this hotel to any first time visitor to Copenhagen. Nikolas and the rest of the staff are friendly, very helpful and knowledgable about the area and what to visit. The purchase of a Copenhagen card was a good decision and so we used the public transport extensively. It is a very easy city to get around and everyone is so helpful and friendly to English speaking tourists. Restaurants around the hotel are many and varied and Nikolas was kind enough to do bookings for us.
We had rooms at the back of the hotel which were nice and quiet. The only improvements would be a kettle for making tea and a box of tissues.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony are at the back of the hotel and therefore quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear JetLaggedMaureen

It was with pleasure that I read your review of your recent stay with us.

I am pleased that the advice provided both with regards to dining, and visiting sites in the city we exactly what you seemed. This task is a challenging one, but we do our utmost to narrow it down for you.

Hope you had a safe journey home, and would like to wish you and the family a wonderful summer.

Nikolas HALL - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lidkoping, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The staff is great and breakfast was really good! The hotel has a small backyard where you can relax with a glass of good wine after you have been all around Copenhagen shopping. The room were not so big but kind of romantic!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Torbjorn12

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

Great to hear that you relaxed with a glass of wine in our garden.

Hope to host you again.

Have a great summer.

Nikolas HALL - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landskrona, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I stayed at Bertrams with my girlfriend for one night. We had a nice time and we liked the hotel. The breakfast was also great. We asked the staff for sushi restaurants and was very satisfied with the tips that she gave us. I would absolutely stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Mariatheresak10

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. I am sure that other users of this site will appreciate your input.

Vesterbro does offer a multitude of choices when it comes to dining, and I am pleased that the suggestion made by my staff fulfilled your criteria.

Have a great summer.

Nikolas HALL - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljungby, Sweden
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This a rare scene in urban Copenhagen. Guldsmeden has the flavor of any beach resort but is placed in the middle part of wonderful vesterbro. We enjoyed the stay and specifically the food and the service. There was a slight problem with the shower drainage giving the impression that the bathroom would flood. But we are not the picky types.
Great location. Great breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear alexstubbe

Thank you for contributing a review of your recent stay with us.

You rightly describe Vesterbro, and we are really happy to be a part of this dynamic borough in Copenhagen. Not everyone's cup of tea... but Vesterbro contributes to Copenhagen's hip status.

I am please to conclude that you enjoyed your stay with - I apologize for the trouble with the shower.

Have a great summer.

Nikolas HALL - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I took the hotel room for one night due to conference. It is on a busy street and the bus stop is just by the hotel entrance. The door is for this reason is always locked.
My room was facing street and you could hear the traffic. It was not disturbing me but might be disturbing if trouble with sleeping. Walls to the next room were very thin and you could follow the discussion. This woke me up.
Might consider asking for a room facing the garden (and pay more). The room was very small and somewhat worn out but clean. Bathroom small, but OK. Had to carry the luggage down, no elevator.
The lounge area and breakfast with a small garden is nice. The staff is helpful and friendly.
The room was quite expensive so I expected more. Maybe this hotel, being part of the Guldsmeden brand, has a good image. I found it too highly priced. A lot a restaurants nearby and easy walk to main tourist areas of Copenhagen, but the hotel is a bit off of the main sights. There are better deals in Copenhagen.

Room Tip: Ask rooms from garden side. No elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Satu L

I much appreciate the feedback that you have provided in your review of your recent stay with us.

Your main concern as I read your review was with regarding the rate applied. As you mentioned, you were in Copenhagen for a conference, which placed high demand on the cities limited capacity, which in turn pushed rates up - the mechanisms of demand and supply. We do have periods where very attractive rates are applicable.

I hope that the conference you attended proved successful, and wish you a pleasant summer.

Nikolas HALL - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen

Address: Vesterbrogade 107, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark (Formerly Bertrams Hotel Guldsmeden, Copenhagen)
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
#6 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#8 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#11 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate boutique hotel is located in the hip Vesterbro district of Copenhagen. Bertrams Guldsmeden offers guests a sumptuous organic breakfast buffet.We do require of guests to be over 18 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bertrams Hotel Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.