We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen to your Saves list
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vesterbrogade 107, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark (Formerly Bertrams Hotel Guldsmeden, Copenhagen) (Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 Night Stay - DISCOUNT
Ranked #9 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed 3 nights here at the end of March on our first trip to Copenhagen and it was fabulous. We received an upgraded room on arrival having booked the basic bikes and breakfast package. This meant we had a room overlooking the garden instead of the street (no balcony) that was small but well appointed and cosy. We had a lovely bath in the bathroom, but no shower as such, just a shower head attachment. We had a small issue with the bath drainage that was fixed promptly by the staff, so it really wasn't a problem at all. The towels are lovely and bizarrely my husband and i both especially loved the face cloth (it was huge and really thick, it felt very luxurious). The dragonfly motif was a lovely touch on the curtains tying in with the towels etc. We loved our Bertrams slippers too! Great attention to detail. Our bed was really comfortable with lovely soft pillows and we each had our own duvet as seems standard in Scandinavia. There was a small desk that my husband could work at easily. The windows opened wide to let in fresh air and the heating was all adjustable so we never felt too hot or too cold - perfect.
The staff are fabulous, really helpful and friendly. Room service deserve a mention too. We were late staters, sleeping in and leaving our room late and room service would leave us till last which was appreciated greatly as they did a lovely job turning down our room. The breakfast is superb, really healthy and tasty options.
We enjoyed drinks in the lounge area and loved riding around the city on Bertrams' bikes.
Its in a great little spot, easy walk into town, and around the corner from Granola which was delicious and beautiful in equal measure. We loved wandering around.
We had a wonderful stay, would highly recommend, in fact told a friend to stay here, who in turn enjoyed the hotel very much. You get great value for your money here. Hopefully we will be back soon!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the garden are quieter and the room with the bath was a good size too, althoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Dear phoebew13

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us earlier this year.

It is with great pleasure I read your review, as it reflects on what we do best - attention to detail & good old fashioned hospitality.

I am also pleased to note that the friends that you recommended to us found their stay equally enjoyable - thank you for this.

We look forward to having you stay with us again. Wishing you all the best for what's left of summer 2012.

Nikolas HALL - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    199
    66
    24
    6
See reviews for
35
295
42
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cirencester
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here 3 days at end of June in a superior garden facing room. Nicely done interiors, clean, attention to detail in the well thought out rooms. Well worth persevering through the unprepossessing exterior. Also note though :
1. there is a steep flight of 10 steps to reach the lift - I saw older ladies struggling with their luggage up and down these
2. the hotel is actually about 20 mins walk to the centre and the area isn't exactly picturesque. We compensated for this though with perfectly located halfway stops at the wonderful Mikkeller beer bar
3. the hotel has a very pleasant small courtyard garden, which because it is small and the hotel is several stories high, means there is only the narrowest of views down into the garden from upper floors. That means there is usually little by way of a garden view, but however garden facing does mean your room is at the back of the hotel, away from the busy road.
All in all a good place to stay on a modest budget.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Dear smudgecirencester

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

I am happy to read that your trip to Copenhagen was a pleasant one and that it was made even more pleasurable with a few stops at Mikkeller beer bar.

You highlight 3 issues in your review, one of which has been addressed above, and in replies to previous reviews - namely location.

Your first and third points reflect on the history of the building and it's layout. With older patrons we do enquire if they require assistance, and more than often the reply is no thank you. If we were a 5 stared property - there would be staff to assist, but this is not the case. Your conclusion that the garden side is quieter than the street side is much appreciated, and is also reflected in the pricing of our rooms.

Once again thank you for your overall positive review, and we wish you a pleasant summer.

Nikolas HALL - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I spent two nights with my partner at this lovely little hotel. It was quiet, well located and very clean. We were pleasantly surprised, to find that the linen and towels in the room, were proper white and in excellent condition.Toiletries (organic products) and an little emergency bag with extras, were provided in the small; but very clean shower room. I thought the standards of the hotel can compete with larger hotels.
The staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast (not complimentary) set the day for us; as it was a good variety and in buffet style.
The hotel had easy access to Copenhagen's main centre and is a stroll away from Frederiksbergs Have, which is a lovely park with a river passing through. There were a lot of restaurants, pubs and cafes within walking distance from the hotel. Outside the hotel is a Bus 6A and 83N which take you within the vacinity of the Central Train station, Town Hall and Kongens Nytorv. We will recommend this hotel to others as it provides most that you will need for a city break. We look forward to staying at the Bertram Hotel again on our next visit.

Room Tip: Due to the structure of the hotel there are a few steps on each floor to the lift. This may be a pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear MG_JRitzau

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us. Your review points to a number of positive aspects of staying with and highlights our "off center" location as being not so "off center" as many on this site have described.

Myself & my staff focus on the small things - based on our philosophy of good old fashioned hospitality.

We look forward to hosting you again

Nikolas HALL - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights at Bertrams on my first trip to CPH. I was very satisfied with the hotel. I booked a double room with garden view and balcony, and it was small but very confortable. Very good wifi in the room and everywhere in the hotel.
Breakfast is charged extra, but it was not only tasty but a good variety as well.
The hotel is located at Vesterbro, which is approximately 1.4Km (1mile) from the train station and tivoli area, but there is a bus stop just ouside the hotel. There are few cafés, bakery and shops around this neighborhood. The hotel hás packages with bikes incuded if you desire.
Andrea and Adam from the front desk were absolutely perfect helping with reservations, directions and suggestions.
A few things to note: it is an old european building, with old charm as well. So don't expect elevators at every floor. There are elevators but in between floors as they were likely added later. Which for me it is not a issue at all, but it might be for some. My advice pack lite, or do some exercise....
Bottomline: charming boutique hotel, good location, all amenities and excellent staff.
if ever in CPH again, will stay at Bertrams.

Room Tip: Ask for garden view, usually is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Dear bcmitaly

Thank your for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to read that the efforts of my staff - namely Andrea & Adam - were to your liking.

Your description of our property as well as it's location is precise. I love your advice to other travelers.

Once again thank you, and we look forward to having the opportunity to wish you welcome again.

Wishing you the best for the rest of this summer

Nikolas HALL - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We where recently in Paris and stayed in a very nice small hotel in the center of Paris (with breakfast and complementary wine and snacks in the evening included) for two thirds of the price that we paid for room and breakfast for two in Betrams Hotel Guldsmeden. I acknowledge the fact that the owner Nikolas Hall points out commenting another review ("Copenhagen is an expensive city, and the rate you chose reflected a discount to the daily rates"). However, the difference in price between our Paris and Copenhagen hotels does not make sense. The Betrams Hotel Guldsmeden is definitely a rather nice hotel but nothing very much out of the ordinary. The room we got was on the first floor and was nicely decorated. The toiletries are the hotels own brand and excellent, but the breakfast is not included (it's nice but pricey). Despite Copenhagen being expensive, the room in Betrams Hotel Guldsmeden is definitely not worth the price we paid for it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Dear GothenburgProfessor

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

Your positive comments regarding our decór and breakfast are appreciated.

I pleased to read that you acknowledge the high pricing levels in Copenhagen. There are several reasons for this, among others mandatory 25% VAT on everything. I do not know the exact dates of your stay, but your stay could have collided with one of the many congresses that Copenhagen recently held, where the mechanisms of demand & supply play a vital role in pricing. These mechanisms are also applicable for similar situations in cities like Paris - think of the Paris Fashion week.

I hope that your trip to Copenhagen was otherwise pleasant, and that we can have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Nikolas HALL - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg, France
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

We were there for a business trip only for one night and everything went very good, the people at the reception very nice and helpful, the rooms are simple but nice (bathrooms are very small tough). The breakfast buffet was very complete and good, globally a very good experience, especially for the price level.

Stayed June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear jclinder

I am pleased to read that despite travelling on business you have taken time to write a review of your stay with us. Knowing the busy schedules business travelers have this is greatly appreciated.

You comments solidify what has also been mentioned by other reviewers, and strengthens our belief in continuing along the path of good old fashioned hospitality.

Once again - thank you - and my staff and I would like to take the opportunity to wish you a pleasant summer.

Nikolas HALL - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Review for Bertram's Guldmenden

This is a terrific little hotel.  My wife and I stayed for three nights and enjoyed it.  The facilities are great and the staff go out of their way to be helpful.  

The hotel is a 15 minute walk from the train station.  The neighborhood is diverse with many small ethnic restaurants and stores.  It is quite safe.

I try to avoid the "plastic palace" chains.  This is the type of hotel I enjoy most.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Dear DoctorPaul

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

I am pleased to read that we managed to meet your expectations, in terms of ambience, service, location & security.

In a very competitive market it is always useful to distinguish oneself, and have what many describe as a niché product.

Again thank you, and I hope that you are able share memories of Copenhagen - your wife took many photos - with family & friends.

Have a great summer

Nikolas HALL - Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen

Address: Vesterbrogade 107, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark (Formerly Bertrams Hotel Guldsmeden, Copenhagen)
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
#6 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#8 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#11 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate boutique hotel is located in the hip Vesterbro district of Copenhagen. Bertrams Guldsmeden offers guests a sumptuous organic breakfast buffet.We do require of guests to be over 18 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bertrams Hotel Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.