We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen to your Saves list
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vesterbrogade 107, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark (Formerly Bertrams Hotel Guldsmeden, Copenhagen) (Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
GreenLeadersBronze level
arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loved It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We stayed two nights before our cruise, and one night after. The rooms are beautifully decorated, calming, comfortable, and very roomy. The beds were quite comfortable.
We really enjoyed being able to sleep with the windows open-since we are from Arizona, the cool breezes were priceless.
We found the breakfast to be superb! It is an amazing offering, in the European style. Certainly one can find less expensive food within walking distance, but, the quality of everything at the hotel, the real comfort of the breakfast room, and the BEST freshly ground coffee I have had in years, make the price of the breakfast worth every krone.
The hotel is within walking distance of the city center, and, in fact, we walked to a number of the outlying parks and castles. The city is very easy to navigate, the taxis, when needed, are reasonably priced, and everyone we met was very pleasant and helpful.
We would go back in an instant!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a shower if you don't like tubs with hand-held showers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Dear wkdwtchdr

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay(s) with us.

We do have many pre & post cruise stays every summer, and it's always great to have returning visitors.

You highlight our breakfast - thanks - and it is a selection of handpicked quality products which makes it a healthy, high standard, and absolutely YUMMY breakfast.

As you point out, we are a little bit of the beaten path, but this also gives you an insight of the real Copenhagen, how Copenhagener's reside, shop & dine.

I hope that your journeys will sometime bring you back to Copenhagen, where we can have the pleasure of hosting you again.

Nikolas HALL - owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    199
    66
    24
    6
See reviews for
35
295
42
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Stayed at the Bertrams during a business trip with colleagues. The hotel is very small and quirky, situated on a busy thoroughfare but we had rooms at the back of the hotel that were very quiet and comfortable. Two outstanding features at this hotel: the super nice and helpful staff, especially Adam at the front desk, who went out of his way to make us feel at home and the beds, which are very comfortable and guarantee you a good night's sleep. The breakfast is not gargantuan but more than adequate (buffet style) and if the weather allows it, the little garden at the back is definitely the place to rest after a busy day or in the afternoon.
I recommend this hotel

Room Tip: Be sure to get a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Dear LisaK_511

Thank you fr taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

I am happy to see that your review is based on a business trip to Copenhagen.

We at the Bertrams Hotel Guldsmeden strive to provide good old fashioned hospitality, making you - our guests - feel in good hands.

As many other reviewers also point out - it's the homely feeling together with the personal service that makes the difference.

Adam, myself and the rest of my staff look forward to hosting you again.

Nikolas HALL - owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

I'm writing this review because the other reviews here helped me make my decision to stay at Bertrams. The place was perfect. Tiny hotel, extremely attentive team. It's a cross between a W Hotel and a Bed and Breakfast. It's quaint, traditional, comfortable, personal and located in a part of Copenhagen where you are sure to interact with the locals. That is the experience I wanted for our trip. I took my parents to Copenhagen to discover our roots (we're Danish but never visited our homeland). The entire process was easy, early check in, tips on places to eat, help with transportation, power converters, wi-fi. For once, I got a hotel that was exactly what I expected and even exceeded my expectations. I will certainly stay here again on my next trip to Copenhagen.

Room Tip: Pay the little extra to get the superior room with balcony and courtyard view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Dear Joe L

A cross between a W-Hotel and a Bed & Breakfast... I love it.

Here at the Bertrams Hotel Guldsmeden we are really focused on what customers want, and basically it boils down to hospitality in the true sense of the word, where attention to the little details make a difference.

Most importantly, you review reveals what we are about, where we are located and what to expect.

I have yet to thank you for posting this review, and will do so now, and would also like to take the opportunity to say that we look forward to hosting you, should your path cross Copenhagen again.

Nikolas HALL - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

I recently travelled to Copenhagen with my mother where we each had a room at Bertrams. This place is a gem. It's a relatively small boutique hotel where the staff know you by name. The owner, Nick, has created a very up market contemporary hotel with the personal touch of a bed and breakfast and professional service of the Ritz. There is no restaurant (only breakfast served) so it is a more simple operation than the larger hotels. The breakfast canteen is lovely including outdoor seating in the courtyard. Also a small bar available upon request in the canteen can be arranged anytime ;). The rooms are all manageable sizes with nice four poster beds. If you can manage the price of a suite it is worth it. "Thank you" to Nick and Andrea for making our stay in Copenhagen very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Dear irobbin2

What a compliment - Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us.

You review sums up what we are all about - good old fashioned hospitality.

My staff, Andrea included, and myself are always happy to receive confirmation of what we do is what our guests and guests at other properties seek when travelling.

Small gestures go a long way.

Once again thank you.

Nikolas HALL - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

Remembering Copenhagen means to me a warm hearted welcome and stay in the Bertrams Hotel Guldsmeden. Feeling at home there straight away. From the booking to the check out a very friendly, reliable atmosphere is granted. Charming rooms, excellent breakfast buffet. A professional managed hotel led by the heart. Congratulations.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this review, August 14, 2011
Dear radha60

Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us.

Your subject line "Coming home in a foreign city" sums up what we at the Bertrams Hotel Guldsmeden are all about - Good old fashioned hospitality.

Thank you once again, and I hope that you have the opportunity to try out some danish chocolate the next time you want to feel at home in Copenhagen.

Nikolas HALL - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

Stayed at Bertrams for a few nights as part of a work trip to Denmark and really enjoyed our stay. Service was very personal, friendly and informative - were made to feel so welome and felt at home from the first moment. The rooms aren't enormous but they are so calm and relaxing, they feel like rooms in someone's home. Baths are a bit small and lack a shower which was fine for me but other (taller) colleagues suffered a bit! Free wifi great bonus. Breakfast plentiful and delicious. Small garden also lovely for drinks in the sunshine. After a few days in Copenhagen we appreciated the service even more, as service in other restaurants and bars (unless you were paying a fortune) was often poor. Doesn't have the space or facilities of a big corporate hotel, but offers much more in individuality and charm.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Dear glg31

Thank you taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

One of your strongest points is that we are also able to serve the business traveller, despite having the ambience of a boutique property, with individuality. Our rooms are not the biggest, but do provide all the essential tools that a business traveller needs - a great bed for a good nights sleep, working desk & WiFi.

I am sorry to read that my restaurant & bar colleagues in Copenhagen were unable to provide amicable service. But that again solidifies our aim at the Bertrams to provide - Good old fashioned hospitality - which makes a difference.

Nikolas HALL - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011 via mobile

Wonderful homely feeling. best breakfast I have ever seen. And it is served in a farmhouse like kitchen. A must see.
Renting of bikes for nice sightseeing. Good location only one km from the railway station.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHGuld, Owner at Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Dear maunokki

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay with us.

Sometimes few words say allot, and you have managed to sum up what we stand for - Good old fashioned hospitality.

Thank you, and I am sure that others readers will appreciate you review.

Nikolas HALL - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen

Address: Vesterbrogade 107, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark (Formerly Bertrams Hotel Guldsmeden, Copenhagen)
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
#6 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#8 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#11 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This intimate boutique hotel is located in the hip Vesterbro district of Copenhagen. Bertrams Guldsmeden offers guests a sumptuous organic breakfast buffet.We do require of guests to be over 18 years of age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bertrams Hotel Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.