We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alexandra

Save Saved
You added Hotel Alexandra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Alexandra
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   H.C. Andersens Boulevard 8, Copenhagen 1553, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #16 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
GreenLeadersGold level
Union, NJ
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights prior to a Baltic cruise. Great location, very friendly and helpful staff. Our room was small but well-appointed with Danish Modern accents. There were problems with the plumbing during our stay, so the manager gave us free breakfast for the inconvenience. (I appreciate management that find ways to compensate for the unexpected.) The staff also gave us many good recommendations for restaurants and sites. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The hotel is on the corner of 2 busy streets. We had a room in the back that faced a courtyard and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    351
    94
    32
    16
See reviews for
81
268
94
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cosby, Leicester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Great location and pleasant staff. Trendy boutique hotel let down by a Superior Danish room on upper floor which was unbearably hot on a summers day ( outside temperature 20degrees C so not exceptionally hot day). You have two choices open the windows and hear the traffic or stifle inside the room with small rotating fan. I was informed in the morning ( not very constructively) that I should have complained earlier and they would have put us in a better room. I emailed the hotel after my stay and received no reply. This is know issue for them which needs to be fixed. if they do it would be a 5 star review. Design is put ahead of comfort.

Room Tip: Make sure you check your room temperature and be prepared to demand a better one
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The hotel Alexandra is located very central near Tivoli, central station, town hall and the shopping mile Strøget. You can walk to a lot of place of interest or use the public transportation like we did.

Our room was very small and looked more old than retro but everything was clean and ok. That was ok for us, we used the room for sleeping only. We had luck that it wasn't too hot in Denmark because it's impossible to sleep with open windows due to the big street in front of the hotel and there is no air conditioning. Maybe you can get a room at the side facing Studiestræde and the Pumpehuset, a music venue with an open air stage.

We booked without breakfast (was not possible at expedia curiously) and bought vouchers for the breakfast buffet at the reception. It was ok for a three star hotel but expensive. Remember you are in Copenhagen. I think the most expensive small town in the world. Everything ist expensive in Copenhagen, you should not compare to the normal world. So don't think about the price of the breakfast.

The hotel is offering a voucher for the restaurant if you dispense with a cleaning of the room. But not for breakfast, of course. You should look at the towels first, it's hard to use them twice for showering. Curiously we only had 3 towels (2 big, 1 small) for 2 people.

The receptionists are very nice and except of the elevator and stairs we didn't use anything else in the hotel so there's nothing else to report.

It was a nice journey with a nice hotel. If we would return to copenhagen for a short trip, we would book again at hotel alexandra.

At the ende a note on Copenhagen: At the moment they are building a new metro line so you have a lot of building slots in the city, ruining a lot of lovely places. If you can wait some years it would be a much better experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

It might not be luxurious but it is stock full of design pieces, and actually has a small art shop and exhibit inside. Rooms are comfy (we stayed in a standard room) and the hotel is located right next to the Rådhuspladsen and the Tivoli. The hotel is big on green values and it shows. The hotel's restaurant is actually an asian cafe/restaurant semi-attached to it, with very nice food.

Green Features: Very commendable, more hotels should adopt similar practices.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I loved the personal look of the hotel, the decoration was nice and neat. Not one of those boring basic hotels you won't remember later on anymore. Room was quite basic but comfortable and bright. The location is very good and there's a lot of good restaurant within a walking distance, also the restaurant located at the hotel is very nice. Service was really good and also the eco friendly idea was put in action very well!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

One of the best things about the Alexandra is its location—just a few blocks from the central train station and Tivoli, and it’s a safe, pleasant walk in a busy area. Furthermore, the hotel has that elegant, classic feel to it.

I had the Small Danish Retro room, which had a single bed with a desk and chair. Both the bed and the room itself were small, but I’ve been in tiny hotel rooms in Europe before, and I didn’t feel squeezed in this one—in fact, the desk and bathroom were larger than I expected. When I returned in the evening and wanted to sit down and write or check the web for a few minutes, I had plenty of room. And there was a circular fan in the closet, a big plus if the room gets too warm or you need white noise to sleep.

The only negatives are really just minor grumbles. One, the bed was tiny. It was comfortable, but if you roll over more than once, you’ll be kissing floor (it might be different in other rooms, though). And at night the Internet was super slow, but I asked to be put on the end of a floor in case the hotel was too noisy (it wasn’t), so that may have affected the Wifi speed. When I tried it in the lobby, it was fine. But if Internet performance is important to you, ask for a room near the center of the building.

Oh, one more positive: the Alexandra has a great, friendly staff, who helped me with restaurant recommendations, directions, and easily set me up with renting one of the many bikes they have available right in front of the hotel. Renting a bike in Copenhagen is a must if you have any free time, you really feel like you’re a part of the city.

Bottom line: If I’m lucky enough to return to Copenhagen, I’d happily stay at the Alexandra again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Centrally located, very near to the train station, opp Tivoli Gdns, with a cafe downstairs that has an indie vibe (at least to us) and a breakfast offering that is quite a treat. The hotel seems to have thought through what guests would need so if you have arrived too early to check in, you have access to the storage room in the basement to leave your bags. They have tourist information prepared specially for the guests and if you need to go somewhere out of town, like we did to Elsinore, the receptionist is more than ready to help. The role of the hotel receptionist at this hotel is quite something. We saw a few receptionists at this hotel during our stay and I must say that the term does not do them justice. They handled everything, promptly and good sense.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alexandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexandra

Address: H.C. Andersens Boulevard 8, Copenhagen 1553, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
#13 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#14 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexandra 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2013 Was the year where we brought half of our rooms back to the 50's. We decorated the rooms with furniture, wallpapers, lamps and textiles like the design loving Danes did in the 50's. 2014 Is the time for moving ahead. In early March we ended the renovation of the last rooms and they will be decorated just as the design loving Danes did it in the 60's. Hotel Alexandra is perfectly situated right next to Europe's largest pedestrian street and the Tivoli Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Alexandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alexandra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.