We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alexandra

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alexandra to your Saves list
Hotel Alexandra
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   H.C. Andersens Boulevard 8, Copenhagen 1553, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #16 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay. I wish I could offer 6 stars on location. The hotel was clean, the service was good. Having free wifi was certainly a bonus, but I'm not entirely sure the room was soundproof. I would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeppemuhlhausen, General Manager at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you very much for your excellent review and for sharing.

We are glad that you enjoyed our free Wi-Fi and that the rooms and service were to your liking.

I am sorry to hear, that the soundproofing was not to your satisfaction. All of our rooms have double glazed windows and as such offer a substantial amount of noise reduction, but as we are city hotel and are located very centrally, it is of course difficult to reduce all of the sound from the bustling city life.

We do have rooms towards the courtyard as well, and you are more than welcome to request such a room with us, if you decide to return in the future, and we will do our very best to accommodate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    382
    104
    32
    16
See reviews for
85
294
101
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We have a fantastic days in hotel Alexandra. The placement of the hotel is perfect to enjoy the 31th night. one step to Tivoli and Radhuspladsen and in the line of Kodbyen and Indre by. The staff was really friendly and the hotel offers a cup of cava to celebrate with all the new year's eve.
Also have a kettel in the room (i love it!) Just I did'nt like the two quilts instead one (maybe I could demmand one on the reception) but besides that I definitely recommend this hotel....and I wish to stay again but this time in summer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeppemuhlhausen, General Manager at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for the review and for sharing your experience.

We are very happy that you had a fantastic stay with us - and on New Years on top of that. It is always a special time on New Years at the hotel and the surrounding area, with festivities and fireworks at the City Hall square.

We are glad that we could contribute to making your night enjoyable and we would of course love to be able to welcome you to the hotel again in the summer.

I am sorry to hear that you didn't like the bedding - please do let us know next time, if there is anything that you need or if there is anything that could be improved during your stay with us and we will do our best to solve the problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlskrona, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We always stay at this cosy hotel, close to everything. One reason is that we love Danish design and the hotel has the right atmosphere if you do! The vietnamese restaurant is a perfect contrast and the whole family love to have dinner and breakfast there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeppemuhlhausen, General Manager at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for your excellent review - we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write it.

We are glad to hear that we have been your choice several times, when you are staying in Copenhagen and that you enjoy our Danish design furniture, as well as the atmosphere.

We look forward to being able to welcome you again, the next time you are visiting Copenhagen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Great location - reception staff were all excellent and friendly. Complimentary glass of wine one evening; green policy meaningful as fit money vouchers in return to eat next door. Welcoming free croissants and coffee in the morning. Lovely retro room and some very nice personal touches.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeppemuhlhausen, General Manager at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you for the kind words and for taking the time to write them.

We are always striving to put our personal touch on everything in the hotel, be that the rooms, the lobby or the service. It is important to us, that you feel at home, when you stay with us.

Hope to see you at the Hotel Alexandra again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Very chic. Room was classically simple in Danish design and nice and clean to boot. The staff were super friendly (love the little dog behind the counter) and very knowledgeable. The beds were honestly the most comfortable hotel beds I have ever slept in. We actually took the sheets off the see if we could find the brand of underlay, so we could buy one for home!
Definitely recommend this one to stay in - close to station and very reasonably priced. I think their three star rating is probably too modest. I would go four star.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeppemuhlhausen, General Manager at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us and other travelers - we appreciate it.

How wonderful that you enjoyed our beds so much - it is always nice to hear, that our guests have had a good nights sleep, especially since it is not as easy for some, when it comes to sleeping in a different bed than what you are used to.

If you are still interested in knowing the brand of the underlay, you are of course welcome to contact the reception and we would do our best to find it for you.

Also, many thanks for your kind words about our staff (and the dog). We always try to be as helpful as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Very welcoming place. Complimentary glass of wine, coffee and fruit in reception (in a city where a decent cup of coffee sets you back £5) is a very nice touch

Staff are exceptionally efficient, friendly and knowledgeable.

They have a cool policy where if you don't have room cleaning everyday they give you a voucher for 100k each day to spend in the restaurant next door. I don't know about you but I doth clean my towels and bed sheets every single day at home so I was more than happy to take the restaurant vouchers, it's about £12.50 a day so worth doing

Nice to stay in a place with furniture from their country's golden era of design, makes you feel like you are somewhere very different

Highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeppemuhlhausen, General Manager at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank you very much for your review.

We are always happy to be able to make an impact - especially when it comes to our service and our passion for Danish furniture design. We do try to inspire a different atmosphere through our concept, and if you felt that you were taken to somewhere very different, we are glad to have been able to give you that experience.

We have been a green hotel for many years and are equally happy that you found our green policy to be of use to you.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you again at the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Glasgow, Scotland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stayed here for one night before joining a cruise. Staff were friendly at check in. The rooms with traditional furniture were a bit like staying with your Granny but were clean and comfortable. The hotel is ideally situated for the station and Tivoli. Don't miss the great Scottish bar a few doors down!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeppemuhlhausen, General Manager at Hotel Alexandra, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Thank you for your excellent review and for taking the time to write it.


I am glad to hear that you had a good stay and that you received a friendly welcome from our staff.

We are currently renovating the last few rooms in the hotel to give the rooms a lift. We are a hotel with a strong design influence from mid-century Danish furniture design and as such have traditional Danish furniture placed throughout all areas of the hotel.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future and would be happy to show you the new rooms and their design.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alexandra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alexandra

Address: H.C. Andersens Boulevard 8, Copenhagen 1553, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Copenhagen
#15 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#16 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alexandra 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2013 Was the year where we brought half of our rooms back to the 50's. We decorated the rooms with furniture, wallpapers, lamps and textiles like the design loving Danes did in the 50's. 2014 Is the time for moving ahead. In early March we ended the renovation of the last rooms and they will be decorated just as the design loving Danes did it in the 60's. Hotel Alexandra is perfectly situated right next to Europe's largest pedestrian street and the Tivoli Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Alexandra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alexandra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.