We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, clean room, small size ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade to your Saves list
Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borgergade 9, Copenhagen 1300, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Location, clean room, small size ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

It's a new hotel and everything was nice. Clean room but very small size.Maybe for one the size is good but for two you need more space.The photos of the room show exactly the whole room, no hidden space anywhere . Also the toilet-shower with glass in the room isn't a good idea for someone that needs more privacy.The breakfast very basic but tasty.The best was the location. Metro station is 5min walk or you can explore Copenhagen by foot because is a small town and the hotel is perfectly located.Is not a cheap hotel but 110€ for a double with breakfast it was a good price in a very expensive city with very expensive hotels. Recommended for the clean room and the location.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    384
    113
    27
    14
See reviews for
68
362
80
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

The location is great -- not too far from Kongens Nytorv metro station (direct line to the main train station or the airport), Nyhavn and all the pedestrian streets -- and the lobby is very spacious and was a nice respite from sight seeing with lots of different places to sit and relax. 4 computers with Internet access are located here as well as a TV. The lockers downstairs were handy for storing luggage before and after we checked in/out (20DKK per locker. We tried to check in early but they really stuck firm to the 3pm timing!) My friend and I had a double bed (as opposed to two singles) and space was tight for 2 people with luggage -- with our luggage, the bed, a small desk, 2 chairs and a luggage rack there wasn't much room to move about. And the bathroom/shower is tiny! But clean and functional. Thankfully we were on different schedules and weren't really trying to move about the room at the same time. I would consider staying here again but would try for a 2 single bed layout to see if there is a little extra room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Rooms in Europe, in general, are quite small. Wakeup's rooms are not tiny, you have space to put your suitcases and all, and the bed is quite comfortable! Very basic in its services (shampoo was provided in small packages, like in the backpack hotels in Vietnam) but the place is quite functional. For those asking for a nice cup of coffee, just walk down the street and you can find from a 7/11 to a "M/J" coffee shop that is great.
Internet service is very steady (and no hassle to connect) and the common areas below are quite comfortable (I had the chance to take a nap in one of the green chairs and it was great).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

It is a modern hotel with small rooms, all have the same size but the price changes depending on the floor where the rooms is. It doesn't have free services, you have to pay extra if you want to leave your luggage after check out (20 dkk), rent a bike or have breakfast.
The breakfast is not that good, it doesn't have many things, just different types of bread, jelly, butter, ham, cheese and of course coffee! Don't expect more than that.
All in all, if you plan to visit Copenhagen for a few days it is a cheap and nice place to stay. Good for young people or people traveling alone but I believe I wouldn't recommend it to my parents!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I spent 4 nights here and cannot find any faults with this Hotel. Quick check in (and out), friendly staff, clean, all basics provided, No extras (like mini bar or toiletries) but, for the price, it really isn't an issue. Free wi-fi throughout the Hotel was an added surprise bonus, most more expensive Hotels will charge for the pleasure. Room was clean and quiet. I did not try the breakfast bar so cannot comment on that but food and drinks (hot and cold) are easily bought at the reception counter (and there are a few local supermarkets very close too). Østerport station is a 10 minutes walk (on the main trainline) and a very pleasant walk too. Kongens Nytorv (on the metro line) is about 5 minutes away.
I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

The location of the hotel is very central, near by most popular area ''Nyhavn''. The hotel is brand new, rooms are very clean, staff is very helpfull and nice. There is nothing extra in the room, very minimal design, but very comfortable. Breakfast is a bit poor but its okay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is a brand new hotel that opened in May 2014 and follows the same concept as the original Wakeup Copenahgen: very modern, very cheap and very clean. It's perfect for when you just need a room for a night. Location wise it is excellent with walking distance to just about anything in the center.

It's not a romantic hotel and don't expect any room service or even a mini bar but for what it is and at its price level, it's really excellent.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pallisgaard, Direktør at Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear LouCF,
I am very pleased to read your review, thank you. We opened Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade on May 1st 2014 and we are very happy for the location and for the reaction from our guests. Still, we are a budget hotel that offers convienient accommodation for a good price. We would love to welcome you back in Copenhagen. Kind regards, Lars Pallisgaard, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Absalon Hotel
Absalon Hotel
#3 of 117 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
AC Hotel Bella Sky Copenhagen
#17 of 117 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 stars 2,161 reviews
Indre By
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#18 of 117 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 stars 825 reviews
Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Andersen Boutique Hotel
Andersen Boutique Hotel
#6 of 117 in Copenhagen
4.5 of 5 stars 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade

Address: Borgergade 9, Copenhagen 1300, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Budget Places, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere, Agoda, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wakeup Copenhagen, Borgergade, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.