We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay place but improvements required” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Copenhagen Backpackers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Copenhagen Backpackers to your Saves list
Copenhagen Backpackers
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Reventlowsgade 10A, Copenhagen 1651, Denmark (Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave)   |  
Hotel amenities
England
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Okay place but improvements required”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Stayed here for two nights in an eight-bed dorm. Really great hang-out/dining area with nice decor and great ambiance. The owners have this area spot on. If only the rest of the hostel was of similar quality. I think this is a fairly new place in a run down building, so I guess they are making it up as they go along. Please put shelves in the showers to put soap on, etc. And brighten the shower room with some light-coloured paint. Only four (or five) lockers for eight people? Make the lockers smaller so you can put more in. No kitchen! A big drawback for budget travellers. Eating out in Copengahen is budget-busting! Some air fresheners in the dorms? And, finally, if you do have to charge for bedsheets (which should really not occur), make it cheaper. Owners/staff are friendly and obliging. Good location, central and on the edge of the city's 'grittier' but (relatively) cheaper area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    47
    9
    7
    3
See reviews for
1
11
81
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Nice & cosy hostel, really close to the central station, so that is really convenient if you intend to travel / go to the airport (which is 15minutes from here)

Even if the dormitory is quite small, it still nice to sleep in there thanks to well thought interior design with little curtains to separate each bed from another. So that is a good point. The bad thing I will point out is (as on many reviews), the surprise of the compulsory "linen tax" on the second email reminder (not specified when booking the room, and I am not sure I saw it on booking.com before).

The staff is helpful and happy to share info concerning the city and restaurants around. The breakfast is really good for this price. You can have a lot of different things (salt / sugar), plus coffee, plus warm home-made bread!

The toilets... yeah there are only two for the whole hostel, so that is maybe not enough, we had to wait for some time before being able to use it sometimes...


So all in one,the night is a little bit expensive, but the dormitory is clean, cosy, the breakfast is super yummy, and it is just next the train station. So I am not sure we could have found a better deal in Copenhagen!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Disneyland Paris, France
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Location is absolutely perfect, few steps from the Central station. Two toilets were always occupied in the morning. That's really not much for a hostel this size. They cook some food, just don't be in a hurry, wasn't very expensive, and there was so much to eat I couldn't even finish everything.

Still looks like a new hostel, where everything isn't really finished, could end as a top class hostel in a few years.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torun, Poland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I went to this hostel becuase of great opinions on TripAdvisor, we get 6 people room which have space for 4, main room where people are eating are next to showers so you can fell quite ashemed when you are going out, breakfast quite poor as for this price, true is that in the night is really calm and beds are comfortable, hostel is quite clean isneatd of one situation in toilet when it was quite messy, but after 5 min staff clean it,

Extra paid sheets when nothning is said before is not ok.

When I saw great equiped kitchen I ask myself why they do not share with it,
It was not possible to make free tee when is normally included to room price, I must pay for each tee !

Even hostel is great located cosy and has somethign special, they just should make some changes.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopenhagenBackpackes, Ejer at Copenhagen Backpackers, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Piotr

I am not sure you have got my email, so therefore I repeat my answer for you here:

Thank you very much for your mail. We are aware that the room are tight, but that's one of the things about running a very small hostel like this one for a such a small price per bed as we do...

You are the first to complain about the breakfast, which we try to make realy nice. Frankly I really don't understand it, do you tell me that DKK45,- is expensive for jam/butter/ham/sausage/2 different cheese/home baked bread/coffee ad libitum/müsli/corn flakes and oat meal? sorry but I simply don't get it, you'll find it no cheaper anywhere in Copenhagen! But thanks again for your opinion.

The kitchen can not be open to our guest due to regulations from the health authorities, sorry about that, but we have only so much space to arrange. In a short time we will put a water boiler to the breakfast buffet for guests to use. That's the best we can do right now.

About the linen charge, it is not hidden on booking.com I know for sure it's there and the same for hostelworld.com. But also that concept we might change soon and make the linen included in the total price.

Thanks again for your mail and hope to see you another time at our hostel!


Best regards
Rune
Copenhagen Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chemnitz, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

It is a very cozy environment, quiet and calm. You can find all facilities to be comfortable. It is pretty well located, clean, organized, the security system is functional, I really liked. It also has good food and beverages if you want to have some, but unfortunatly is not included in the price.

Be sure that you have read everything: for linen is charged a fee of 50,00 DKK. I didnt.

I felt a bit cold inside the hostel. The range of 1 on the thermostat wasn't enough.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopenhagenBackpackes, Chef  at Copenhagen Backpackers, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
We are sorry that you could not find the information on the linen, I have checked and it is actually on to main description on Hostelworld: http://www.hostelworld.com/hosteldetails.php/Copenhagen-Backpackers/Copenhagen/80711 We will now try to put it more on top so it's not hidden in any way.

We do our best to make out guests happy, and too hot sleeping environment is not suiting the most, but sorry if you were cold, you can always borrow a blanket at the reception :-)

Hope to see you again some time.

All the best
Copenhagen Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Fab location pretty much next to Central Station. Easy to get to all of the main sights, lots of shops and eateries around.
Nice hostel, the staff are friendly, lovely and v knowledgable. Nice little social area.
Rooms are small and cramped but beds are comfy with screens for privacy.
There are two toilets, clean but could do with some air freshener! Three decent hot showers.
The hostel is fairly new and has the potential to be brilliant. A TV room would be great.
Also I think they should include the price of linen in the overall cost as it's a necessity.
A kitchen for guests would be brilliant as Copenhagen is somewhat expensive.
I'd stay here again and fed recommend this place.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CopenhagenBackpackes, Ejer at Copenhagen Backpackers, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Thank you for your fine review, let me try to answer your comments

Kitchen
We would love to offer a small kitchen for our guests, but right now we simply don't know where to put it. In the future we might get a bit more space and find a place for that.

TV is just not at all our style. We want to meet people and to let them meet each other too :-)

Linen
Yes we know it could seem odd that you pay linen separately, but think of it as a huge discount if you stay more than one day and you only pay linen once.

We have a technician on fixing some air vents in the toilets and showers .

Hope to see you again some time

Best regards
Rune, Copenhagen Backpackers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

The Copenhagen Backpackers is located very close to the main station which makes it easy to get there with out taking any bus or taxi. The staff is very friendly and helpful with any kind of problem. We could even leave our bags there for the whole day until we took the train in the evening. The Wi-Fi connection, which is free, was also excellent. The design of the hostel is very nice and pretty too.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Copenhagen Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copenhagen Backpackers

Address: Reventlowsgade 10A, Copenhagen 1651, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Copenhagen Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copenhagen Backpackers er et nyt og centralt beliggende hostel i København. Vi ligger lige ved siden af Hovedbanegården, midt imellem hippe Vesterbro og centrum. Lad os være din base for dit københavnereventyr, mød rejsende fra hele verden og træk dig tilbage efter en begivenhedsrig dag i København. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Copenhagen Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copenhagen Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.