We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Danish Meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bror Restaurant

Bror Restaurant
Skt. Peders Straede 24A, Copenhagen 1453, Denmark
3217 5999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #264 of 1,657 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Cuisines: Danish
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Danish Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Bror is surprisingly simply decorated, and does not appear to be anything special from the outside. We came in with high expectations and they were for the most part met. The cuisine was very interesting and different, but it was delicious. You do not have much of a choice, they basically just have a set menu. I especially liked the dessert which very simple, but delicious fresh berries with ice cream.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    49
    23
    16
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
201 helpful votes 201 helpful votes
“Great food and excellent value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

As first time visitors we were a bit surprised by the very simplistic decoration of the restaurant. However, we quickly forgot about that due to the warm and personalised service by our waiter and the chefs. The place has a very warm 'local neighborhood' restaurant atmosphere.

At our own request the dishes were served rapidly and the quality of the food exceeded our expectations.

All the dishes were delicious and full of flavours. We got the impression that only the best produce had been used.

We truly enjoyed the dinner and will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Overrated and disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We had high expectations for the evening but we were extremely disappointed with the food and the arrogant service. The food was tasteless and gave no "wow" factor. The main course of pork neck from the menu tasted like christmas pork in a boring beer stube! A 2 year old could also have presented it better on the plate.. The dessert of buck wheat ice cream could have been more boring, tasted like normal vanilla ice cream from the supermarket served with some blueberries. We did not see anything special in this restaurant besides the interesting selection of organic beer and wine. The food presentation needs an improvement and also the food needs more flavour/salt i.e

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“An unmissable experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had booked a table at Bror for the last night of our short break to Copenhagen. This was just as well, given the steady stream of hopeful diners being turned away for lack of space, despite three sittings. The reason for the queues was soon obvious.

We had the chef's menu with some additional starters and were treated to unique but delicious foods, flavours and textures. Every course was served with an explanation of ingredients and preparation while the organic wine pairing was a perfect accompaniment.

The menu changes according to the availability of ingredients but for us the outstanding dishes included pea and verbena, wolffish cheeks and wolffish fillet and a unique take on 'Peking Duck' involving sheep cheek and tongue. The dessert was a perfect end with an elderberry meringue to die for.

Service was great despite the restaurant being so busy, the staff always had time for us.

It was one of the best eating experiences we have had and would absolutely recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, New York, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent meal, met my expectations, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I went to BROR after learning that Noma was closed for the month, and since this restaurant was started by two former Noma sous chefs, I figured I was in for an excellent meal. There is a standard 4 course price fix menu, as well as an a la carte menu, but I asked for an expanded tasting menu, to which the chefs happily obliged. Although the meal challenged my culinary limits (lamb brains, baked lamb's head, whole fish with huge teeth staring at me), the food was all perfectly prepared and very tasty. I am always impressed when restaurants take basic ingredients and make them delicious, and BROR did this with many courses: bone marrow butter, light fresh baked bread, perfectly seasoned peas Verbena, crispy salty leeks, etc. The restaurant is not cheap, but if you are looking for cheap, do not visit Copenhagen (or any Scandinavian city). I paired a glass of white wine and a glass of red wine from the wine menu, both recommendations from my waitress, and they complimented my meal perfectly. Great meal, excellent service, but definitely expensive.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bror Restaurant also viewed

Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Bror Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bror Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.