We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food in the Latin Quarter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mon Amour

Mon Amour
Skindergade 22, Copenhagen 1159 , Denmark
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #165 of 1,538 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great food in the Latin Quarter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

This quaint restaurant seems to specialize in mussels or steak with frites, which we enjoyed. The sauce for the steak was excellent, but could have used more. The portion of mussels was large and the broth was very tasty. Only problem: They could have used some additional wait staff, as there appeared to be only 2 waitresses in the entire place. They were even hesitant to seat us at first without a reservation even though the restaurant was never much more than half full.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    53
    7
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“Excellent - French Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We passed this restaurant ,noticed how busy they were and decided to have a meal there the following evening. Again, we found the restaurant very busy, so if you are planning to visit it may be advisable to book.
We chose the Duck and the Cod, both were excellent. My wife felt the Duck was the best she had ever tasted. The deserts were also delicious.
The service was vey friendly and prompt - strongly recommend giving them a try.
H & I Western Australia.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The ultimate French Bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We had been walking around and around looking for a good spot for lunch and came across Mon Amour. We read the menu outside and immediately said, this is our lunch spot. Inside the restaurant was bright from natural light, french music playing, and cute little tables waiting for patrons. The hostess greeted my French ami en francais and knew right away this was going to be an experience.

I had ordered Steak Frites and my friend had ordered Foie Gras since back in San Francisco, Fois Gras is no longer available. We had some awesome wine to go with our lunch but it was the steak itself that was so wonderful. In the states, you spend zillions of dollars to eat good meat at Ruth Chris or Morton's but you visit a small bistro in the middle of Copenhagen for a tasty juicy steak that a week later my mouth is still watering for. Mon Amour has beaten out all other French bistros I have been to in my lifetime in a matter for minutes. Mon Amour makes their own de la glace and we were fortunate enough to share french vanilla and hazelnut. Once again, the best ice cream and I know ice cream :)

We only saw the menu for breakfast and lunch and thought dinner was not available. It wasn't until we found their website when we returned to the states that we realized that dinner was also available. Next time, Mon Amour will be our lunch/dinner spot as often as we can make it.

Completely recommend this restaurant, we had a late lunch so the restaurant was not crowded but definitely book a reservation for dinner. Bon Appetitie

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Supreme Moules Frites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is one of our favorite restaurants so being locals to the city we have dinner here at least once a month. The Moules Frites and Steak frites are some of the ebst we've had and not matter how full you are - do not....I repeat; DO NOT leave without having tried the profiteroles with vanille ice cream and warm chocolate sauce.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very french”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

3 steps up and you feel the different culture right away. From the decor to the lively atmosphere. Waiters don't speak danish which for me and my wife adds to the feel of France. Food is the same - very french - simple and tasty. Great service and they shamed the usual perception of french arrogance. They were polite and helpful even though we were there on a sweetdeal offer.
Definitely an encore!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mon Amour also viewed

 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Mon Amour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mon Amour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.