We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for the price you pay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cabinn City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Cabinn City Hotel to your Saves list
Cabinn City Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mitchellsgade 14, Copenhagen 1568, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Landskrona
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
176 helpful votes 176 helpful votes
“Very good for the price you pay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Located in the centre of Copenhagen, only a stone's throw from the Tivoli Garden and the City Hall Square this hotel offers budget accomodation for anyone travelling with a limited purse.

As with all Cabinn hotels it is shaped as a cabin on a ship. Practical and clean, bunk beds on top of each other. The rooms is small, however with the spare bed used you can, in theory, stay three persons in this "cabin".

The main feature of this hotel is the combination of price, location and cleanliness! It is also rather quiet, so even if you occasionally will hear your neighbours in the corridor, you will not have any problems sleeping.

With the hotel at this location, going out for a night on the town and getting back to the room will not be an issue.

Breakfast is served in the basement. All in all a good selection to choose from, but no frills like caffee latte etc. Basic stuff only, but very good Danish bread and dairy products.

All in all, chosing a budget hotel in Copenhagen, this is likely to come out as one of my favourites!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    314
    262
    71
    48
See reviews for
100
217
133
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

The quality of services and the location is quite good, but the rooms are too small and more than 2 people with big travel bags get cramped, you can hit the surroundings or trip on the floor. Ventilation is bad and rooms get too hot.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asbach, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I didn't want to spend a great deal of money so I checked out this hotel and it didn't let me down. The beds are like really, really small (like a cabin, as the name suggests) but it was ok for a few nights.

You only have a really small table and a really poor bath, but it's all very functional and if you are not going to stay more than 30 min during the day in the hotel, then it's alright I guess, but I must give it a "poor" rating because strictly speaking it's not very hotel-like. Again, as the name suggests it's a cabin (smallest room possible for the best price!)

One of the biggest advantages of the hotel is the location, you can reach all major attractions from this hotel in a few minutes. Most awesome restaurants and city parks are close by

It's certainly not the most comfy hotel, but it's cheap and the staff was ok too, so I didn't need more for 3 nights

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEA
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

I really liked this place. I chose it after a lot of research. I wanted something closet o the Hop On Hop Off bus and Tivoli Gardens. I didn't want to spend a lot of money and I wanted someplace clean and safe. I got all of that in this hotel. The price was great, certainly compared to the rest of Copenhagen. The room was small but not unexpected and I had fun with it. I am planning a Norway cruise next year and plan on staying here pre-cruise as it still looks like the best bet after current research. I highly recommend it if you can live with a smaller room for a fair price. I do plan on adding breakfast this time as it was expensive to obtain food in Copenhaen. It cost me $5 for a donut at 7-11 to give you an idea. Anyway, I'm looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: I see a lot of people saying choose an courtyard room for quiet but I faced the street and slept wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

The Cabinn has an excellent first class location within central Copenhagen. The hotel is very basic indeed, however adequate for a couple of nights stay. Rooms (although very small - especially the bathroom) were clean and modern, and free wi-fi is fast and usage throughout the hotel. Breakfast was somewhat of a disappointment, being very very basic with a limited choice - no hot food, no pastries (even though this is Denmark!!) etc.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Very good accommodation with good access to buffet breakfast. We enjoyed our trip and found the hotel centrally based for everything we wanted.
The staff were friendly and we had no real noise.
Great value. We would go again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Rooms are indeed very small, and very basic. But it's well located (next to Tivoli and Meakpacking District) and offers good value for Copenhagen.

What stood out here was the really warm welcome and service from the Reception. Basically we were a bit shocked/surprised by the size of the room we had booked, and the girl at reception (Tina perhaps? Monika?) was very very understanding, and offered to show us another room in case we wanted to upgrade (which we did in the end). I know it doesn't sound like much, but the way she (and everyone at front desk) acted really makes this hotel nice. Without them, this could indeed be a bit of a sad and underwhelming hotel (in fact we got better service here than at some 4*/5* hotels in other cities).

I would stay here again, but only if I knew that the the Receptionists were still friendly and helpful

Room Tip: If you're in a corner room make sure you ask for an extra heating unit (bit cold otherwise).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cabinn City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabinn City Hotel

Address: Mitchellsgade 14, Copenhagen 1568, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By , Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cabinn City Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 352
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Cabinn City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabinn City Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cabinn City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.