We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible beds, never again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gentofte Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gentofte Hotel to your Saves list
Gentofte Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gentoftegade 29, Copenhagen 2820, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Viborg, Denmark
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Horrible beds, never again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We spent just one night at the hotel and Thank God for that. The beds were horrible and not very big. The upper matress slid during the Night to reveal black strands of hair on the matress, so gross!!!!
The bathroom shower is constructed so that the water was everywhere after taking a shower.
When we left there was NO one at the reception desk, so we had to leave the Key with a waiter. Paid 990 DKK , that is almost 120 euros. So not worth the money!!!!!!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swedan2900, Direktør at Gentofte Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Bareosto,

Let me start to appology that we where not able to provide a valuble stay and to thank you for telling us so that we have a chance to improve.

I am very sad to learn that you found black hair on the matress, this is not in order and I have take this up with our houskeeping to make sure that this wont happen again.

The problem with the shower is new to me and I have sent our technician up to take a look at drains to see if something is wrong.

To top it all up our receptionist was running a short arrend as you where leaving and I can certainly see how we let you go with a less than good impression of us.

I have noted all isuues and will adress them all to avoid similar happenings in the future, and if you have the intention of returning at a point, please write to us and we will give a special deal and a free upgrade so that we can show the real us. mail: gentoftehotel@arp-hansen.dk

Kind regards
Johan Åséll
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    55
    34
    18
    1
See reviews for
24
40
8
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Very cozy and nice Hotel in the Gentofte area of Copenhagen! Staff is very helpful and supportive. breakfast also decent and good quality! everyday a basket full of fresh fruits for breakfast was a eye soothing and mouth watering feast! Cozy and practical rooms with free WiFi made our four nights stay comfortable. Excellent connectivity with Bus and train makes it easy to stay in this hotel even if it is slightly far from the city center. Another good service offered by the Hotel is the Cab to the airport at Fixed Rate! it makes life easy to catch early morning flights after checking out from the hotel. Although unrelated to the hotel review I would like to mention the cab experience here: one day prior; we had asked the receptionist to book the cab for 4 am on the day of checkout. The rate card given to us by the hotel mentioned the rate as DKK 335. the cab driver of Dann Cab company (Licence Number 025080) looked notorious when we boarded the cab. He seemed to be Pakistani (or Middle eastern Origin?). He was over-speeding all throughout the journey. We completed the 45 minutes journey to the airport within 25 minutes. After reaching the airport he claimed that we started 3 minutes late from the Hotel !!! so would charge us DKK 745 (as per the meter) and not Fixed rate of DKK 335!! this was rude and ridiculous. We immediately called the the hotel receptionist and informed. He too confirmed that we have to pay the fixed rate only. We told the cab driver to call the police. When Police arrived they immediately understood our situation and made him take the Fixed rate. He tried arguing with them as well and used foul language with us! But since we had a flight to catch we paid him as per fixed rate and rushed to catch the flight.
The overall experience in Copenhagen was very good! the local people in general are very helpful; but the only exception was this horrible cab driver. I urge the Hotel to take up this issue seriously with the cab company and local police so that money wouldn't be extracted like this from the tourists by such nonsensical cab drivers.

Room Tip: Rooms on 4th floor ODD numbers are with a little better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birgitte S, Chef  at Gentofte Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and we are very happy to hear that enjoyed your stay in the hotel.
However I am outraged to hear about your experience with the the taxi company.
I have today spoken with the manager of the company in order to investigate it. We would however need some more details from you in order to pursue this. Could you either ring or email the hotel with the following details: The date you booked the taxi for and also your name. The manager could not find any information from the number given.
We take issues like this very serious because we have a set rate agrement with this company for going to the airport and this is the rate that our guest should receive when booked through us everytime!
Please accept my sincere apology for this awful experience and if possible forward the details I need in order to get to the bottom of this.
Kind regards
Birgitte Surtees
Bookingchef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Really nice ground floor room with lots of light. Lovely clean, fresh comfortable bed and heated bathroom floor. It was so cold outside, that we were very grateful for the floor to get our feet warm! Very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Gentofte Hotel is an old Inn turned modern hotel - in the sixties. Situated a 15 minutes trainride outside Copenhagen City in a nice an well off 'kommune' the hotel is a good place to stay when you want to do Copenhagen and outskirts, but don't want the Citys noise. Here you are close to Dyrehaven, deer garden, the beach, the amusement park Bakken and so on.
The hotel has a typical old main building that is several hundred years old and this is where the restaurant and conference rooms are situated. The hotelrooms are of course in a modern building without a soul - it is hidden away so you can't see it from the street. This is where you stay.
My room was ok, not that big, but with a comfortable bed, a flat screen with a lot of satellite chanels and with a very cold bathroom. Something must have gone wrong with the floor heating - or so the said.
The breakfast is like the rest of the hotel - ok, but nothing more.Boiled eggs, Danish, white bread: continentel. But then again, it is not a very expensive place to stay. So why not...

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

The hotel is approximately 30 minutes from Copenhagen airport depending on traffic. Located on the main street in Gentofte close to shops, banks and the train station is 5 minutes walk, with a 20 minute journey into central Copenhagen. The train station is very close to the Tivoli Gardens / market. There are very few places to eat nearby.

The reception is small but the staff friendly, helpful and speak very good English
Rooms are on 4 floors via 1 small lift, 2-3 persons max in lift. Each room has a traditional key & heavy fob which you need to hand in. Room 404, was small but functional, storage available was a wardrobe & shelves. there was a desk & free Wi-Fi, small satellite TV with some English channels. The room was OK for 1 person, but would be cramped for 2. Bathroom with walk in shower, complimentary toiletries, daily room clean service, which you can opt out of.

The restaurant serves food and drinks, there is no separate bar area and it gets busy so it is worth booking a dinner reservation. There are also meeting / training facilities available. Limited food menu with daily meal choice but the food is good quality and served well. Reasonable wine list and prices.

Efficient check out and offer of taxi to airport through hotel with fixed price.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

After staying in the hotel recently I found it very expensive for the quality of service I received. I paid 140 euro a night with no breakfast included!! (It was 14 euro)
I had a single duvet on a double bed, the iron available from reception was leaking and didn't heat properly (important when you are on a business trip)
No minibar in the room, which is appreciable especially as there is no bar in the hotel.
This hotel is supposedly a 3 star hotel but I found it really lacking in the bare necessities

On a positive note the staff were very friendly and helpful.

I would not recommend this hotel however

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I arrived 9pm for 2 nights. It is a basic set up. Clean and comfortable. No bar or minibar or anything at 9pm....
but all ok..

however ! I left my wristwatch in my room after checking out. I called and they kindly offered to send it to the UK for me. They asked for credit card details and then sent it via fedex without checking with me.

I was billed £105 or Nok 920. OMG it weighed 100g and I asked a colleague in Denmark what an insured package should cost and they said max Nok 100....

we learn !

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birgitte S, Chef  at Gentofte Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review.
We do have a restaurant in the hotel where it is possible to buy drinks and beverages up until 22.30. Food is also served until 21.45. If you arrive after this time it is possible to buy cold drinks through the reception.
When we refurbished the hotel in late 2008 we decided not to put minibars in the rooms because they were seldom used and by not putting them in the rooms we would help towards protecting our environment.
In regard to your watch I understand that it was a very expensive watch and I believe the reception therefore decided to send it through a currier service in order to make sure that your package would be insured and protected on the way to the UK. I am sorry if they dident discuss this with you first.
However please believe that we did not intend to overcharge you but that wepicked the option we believed was the best with such an expensive item.
Thank you again for your feedback to the hotel and we hope that you would consider coming back to the hotel again.
Kind regards
Birgitte Surtees
Bookingchef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gentofte Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gentofte Hotel

Address: Gentoftegade 29, Copenhagen 2820, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gentofte Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the summer of 2008 all 98 rooms, meeting and banquet facilities, restaurant and public areas of the hotel has been given a fresh and modern design - without touching the unique charm, the popular kitchen or the friendly staff of the hotel. The hotel offers 12 unique conference and meeting rooms with room for up to 100 people. Free wireless internet access is available throughout the hotel and private parking at no additional cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Gentofte Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gentofte Hotel Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gentofte Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.