We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels to your Saves list
Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vesterbrogade 66, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark (Formerly Carlton Hotel Guldsmeden) (Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights. The check in process took seconds rather than minutes. We arrived early I had emailed ahead to see if we could leave our bags before we could check in. I was told that is fine however it was a pleasant surprise to find there was a room already ready for us. The room was cosy and clean. The bed was very comfortable. The room was on the 4th floor the lift was sometimes erratic. On the whole the staff were extremely accommodating. The location was great. The 26 bus from virtually outside passes most of the main visitor attractions. The main station is a 10 minute walk away.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    165
    79
    21
    10
See reviews for
54
170
23
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

we stayed here for four nights, arriving at Copenhagen Hovedbanegard station from Hamburg. It is not actually that far from the station, but for first time visitors, seemed to take forever. We loved our small room, friendly service from staff at reception. Wifi worked fine in our room, but wished they had a workstation to print (they did have a laptop on loan for printing).
Loved the neighbourhood too, and had some lovely modern Vietnamese food at LêLê Nhà Hàng nearby. Will certainly stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here one night while sightseeing Copenhagen. If we ever return to Copenhagen we will certainly choose this hotel again. Nice, cosy rooms with personal touches so that you don't feel like a herring in a standard room. The hotel is >90% organic with a fabulous breakfast buffet (yummy cheeses, real Spanish hams, tasty yoghurt, mmm). And last but not least, very helpful and kind staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife and I spent the weekend here and loved it, we will certainly stay again when in Copenhagen, but there are some weaknesses the hotel really should address.
It's a quirky hotel and the location suits it; interesting shops, rstaurants and cafes around the corner yet only a few minutes to central attractions. We had a standard "double" on the second floor of the next extension which was not large but cosy, enhanced by the four poster. As noted elsewhere, the heated floor in the shower room was a joy - it was very, very cold this weekend in Copenhagen. The shower-rooms are small but perfectly adequate with a brilliant shower.
We didn't take breakfast (it was extra and expnsive) but there are bakers and cafes immediately around - we went to a bakery on the first corner (right out of the hotel).
Weaknesses? The main one was the failure to keep light out; the mornings are already starting early in Copenhagen (March '13) and we were both woken both mornings (despite late nights) by the light. That might not bother some people but be aware of the problem - the curtains provide privacy but nothing more. My wife likes a cup of tea now and again - tea and coffee are only available in the bar/reception. The organisation around car parking was poor - just a lack of information and explanation really.
Finally, a quick tip for the hotel: a shelf in the shower-room to hold toiletries would be useful, as would a small one in the shower cubicle so soap and shampoo don't hve to go on the floor!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Wonderful boutique hotel about 5-6 blocks from train station and old city center. I had a standard double on the 5th (top) floor. The heated bathroom floor was the best! The room was cozy and clean and a delight to come home to after long days of sightseeing. While the cold weather made the walk into town a little painful some days, I rented a bike and after that traveling was a snap. The hotel rents bikes and donates some of the fee to charity OR you can walk towards the fishmarket mall and there is an inexpensive bike rental place on the left just before you cross the bridge. The "meat packing" district is close by and there are some great restaurants there. Also the surrounding Vesterbro neighborhood is cool and worth exploring. Free internet and also a computer for guest use in the lobby. Sometimes felt like I was the only guest because it was so quiet. Eco-friendly with hallway lights that were motion sensitive. I did not have breakfast at the hotel but it looked wonderful. There are also great pastry shops just around the corner.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

A very nice and cosy hotel in the middle of everything. Everything worth mentioning is pretty much within a walking distance.The rooms are absolutely fabulous with the four-poster beds which are not only cute but also very comfortable. The bathroom is filled with organic products and towels made of organic materials. A nice idea is to have a few irons in baskets in the corridors so anyone can just go and borrow one. The service is very friendly and all in all I have no complaints at all. The price was also very reasonable. I did not try the breakfast but reading the other reviews I maybe should have. Would definitely stay there again. Not for people with mobility issues though as you will have to climb some stairs to get there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This hotel is perfectly located, super clean, and the staff is very friendly. The heated floors in the bathroom are a plus! It's a real boutique style hotel with some nice amenities. The beds are quite comfortable and I will happily stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Address: Vesterbrogade 66, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark (Formerly Carlton Hotel Guldsmeden)
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and extended with a wonderful café and lounge area with lovely balconies, the Carlton Hotel Guldsmeden is an oasis of relaxed luxury in the midst of the bustling Vesterbro area, just minutes by foot from Tivoli, the central train station and a multitude of wonderful restaurants, cafés and sights.The individually designed rooms of Carlton Hotel Guldsmeden all have four-poster bed and original Persian carpets. All rooms have flatscreen TVs. Own-brand organic shampoo, soap and cream products are provided in the well-appointed bathrooms.The Carlton Cantina café serves a delicious organic breakfast buffet in cosy and warm surroundings. The hotel is certified by Green Globe as well as the Danish golden O-label for organic food and drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Copenhagen
Hotel Guldsmeden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.