We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, boutique hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels to your Saves list
Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vesterbrogade 66, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark (Formerly Carlton Hotel Guldsmeden) (Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Moscow
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Charming, boutique hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Charming and tiny hotel with good location (it’s about 10-15 minutes walk to the heart of city-center). Staff was very friendly. Room itself has interesting design. The only thing negatively surprised was the shower cubicle, which has no curtain and all the water came out on the floor… it’s interesting why they didn’t put it ;)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    181
    81
    22
    10
See reviews for
56
181
28
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

The best thing about this hotel - is the location, being fairly close to the Central Station and Tivoli as well.
On the other hand, the room I got, a double-bedroom, was not that impressive: old and extensively used furniture, a very small window, no air conditioning. Also, the cleanliness was not impecable. Small bathroom also, but nice and comfortable.
I was a bit disappointed that the WiFi is charged a daily fee, and also... the breakfast was not included in the price (quite expensive breakfast there).
All in all, not a bad hotel - but a bit disappointing for those 3* (or even 4* on some websites).

Room Tip: the street side building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

the internet hardly works and hair conditioner was not provided by the hotel. also, breakfast was not included (and very expensive), despite the review in the rick steves book saying it was included.

I do like the location though.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuldsmedenHotel, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Dear Mr/Ms Scottsjackson,

we are sorry that you did not appreciate you stay with us. Our internet solution is normally very well-functioning and efficient, so this is surprising - we will look into it, and see if we can improve on it.
We don´t understand your comment about the hair conditioner - it is, of course, always included, along with the full range of organic signature Guldsmeden products in all bathrooms. If, for some reason, your room didn´t have conditioner, you could simply have mentioned it at reception.
Regarding the breakfast, we are not familiar with Rick Steves or his books - but breakfast has not been included for several years now, and there´s a good reason for this: we have made breakfast an extra, instead of raising the room rates and including the meal - in this manner our guests are free to choose to have breakfast at one of the many cafés in the neighborhood instead.
Our breakfast is not pricy compared to the cost of having brunch in a traditional café, and we differ in that the food available to our guests is 100% organic, and our suppliers are hand-picked for their excellent products. We put a lot of effort and care into making our signature brunch a healthy, delicious and different experience, which is highly appreciated by most of our guests.
We hope this helps you to understand our position on breakfast - best from all of us at the Carlton Hotel Guldsmeden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed two nights at Carlton Hotel Guldsmeden in June and really enjoyed our stay. Staff was friendly and helpful, breakfast was excellent, beds comfy and rooms reasonably clean. The hotel is only a 10 min walk from the central station and there are many nice restaurants nearby, for example Paté Paté in the nearby Meatpacking district.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavia, Italy
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

The Guldsmeden Hotel is a bit out of the way down Vesterbrogade. Nevertheless, one can walk to the train station in about 15 or 20 minutes with no rush. The rooms are small; yes, it's Copenhagen after all. The breakfasts are very good. Lots of healthy alternatives. You could miss the hotel entrance unless you know where it is. The staff were professional. All in all, I liked the hotel. It's clean, good value for the money and in a funky part of town.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
68 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I don't very often use hotels in Copenhagen but I came across the Carlton web site and wanted to try one of their hotels. I chose the cheapest one they have and was happy with it. I was fortunate enough to get an upgrade to one of the rooms in the back where it was very quiet and even had my own balcony. Breakfast wasn't included and was overpriced but even so I think getting a nice room for 120€ in a decent location in Copenhagen is a bargain. Don't count on having any business meetings in the hotel though.

Room Tip: Ask for one in the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

Breakfast is NOT included! 2.5% added to bill if you use credit card. Not value for money

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GuldsmedenHotel, Public Relations Manager at Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Dear PJMJLC,
The reason that we have made breakfast an extra, instead of raising the room rates and including the meal, is that our guests in this manner are free to choose to have breakfast at one of the many cafés in the neighborhood instead.
Our breakfast is not pricy compared to the cost of having brunch in a traditional café, and we differ in that the food available to our guests is 100% organic, and our suppliers are hand-picked for their excellent products. We put a lot of effort and care into making our signature brunch a healthy, delicious and different experience, which is highly appreciated by most of our guests.

Regarding the credit card fees, we do make it quite clear that credit card fees apply, and there is a good reason for this. Credit card fees vary quite a lot, depending on which card is used, and sometimes they can be as high as 5%. Of course, we only charge the exact percentage that we are charged from credit card companies.
One of the reasons that Denmark is an expensive country, is the VAT, which is 25% on all transactions. This means that a quarter of your room rate goes towards this. An additional 5% would seriously impact on our profits, which are not excessive to begin with. We prefer a full house, and therefore keep our room rates at a reasonable level, especially considering the value that you get for your money. We could choose to raise the rates in general, and forgo the credit card fee, but we don´t feel that this would be fair to those of our guests who do not choose to pay with the expensive cards.
We hope that our explanation helps you to understand our decisions regarding the breakfast and the credit card fees.
Best from all of us at the Carlton Hotel Guldsmeden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Copenhagen hotels
Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Bertrams Guldsmeden - Copenhagen
Indre By
Babette Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Indre By
Hotel Alexandra
Hotel Alexandra
#15 of 117 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 stars 821 reviews
Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Savoy Hotel
Savoy Hotel
#24 of 117 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 stars 471 reviews
Hotel Sct. Thomas
#37 of 117 in Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 stars 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Address: Vesterbrogade 66, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark (Formerly Carlton Hotel Guldsmeden)
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#24 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated and extended with a wonderful café and lounge area with lovely balconies, the Carlton Hotel Guldsmeden is an oasis of relaxed luxury in the midst of the bustling Vesterbro area, just minutes by foot from Tivoli, the central train station and a multitude of wonderful restaurants, cafés and sights.The individually designed rooms of Carlton Hotel Guldsmeden all have four-poster bed and original Persian carpets. All rooms have flatscreen TVs. Own-brand organic shampoo, soap and cream products are provided in the well-appointed bathrooms.The Carlton Cantina café serves a delicious organic breakfast buffet in cosy and warm surroundings. The hotel is certified by Green Globe as well as the Danish golden O-label for organic food and drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Copenhagen
Hotel Guldsmeden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carlton Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.