We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most disappointing "5 star" in years” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Skt. Petri

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Skt. Petri to your Saves list
Skt. Petri
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Krystalgade 22, Copenhagen 1172, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The most disappointing "5 star" in years”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We travel the world, and I have to say this hotel barely merits three stars.
The place is tired. The rooms , walls, floors , furniture are filthy and tired. We paid for A "deluxe" double room with a single sink , a tub shower with hardly any water pressure nor shower curtain, linens that are probably as old as the hotel (2004 we are told).
To top it off please do not even attempt to look at the state of the mattress topper !
A/C noisy, filthy dust in shower extractor fan.... I could go on...
No tissues in the rooms, house keeping's answer we supply tissues in "some" rooms.

Was planning on stopping back here next weekend after a tour of the country, NOT A CHANCE at the price they charge versus the quality and cleanliness.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel in Copenhagen, you will find much better value?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    368
    202
    78
    63
See reviews for
94
351
44
277
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

A hotel that used to be one of the best in town a decade ago, has unfortunately somewhat lost its appearance, and perhaps needs some renovation and polish. Stayed for one night earlier in August: the room was tiny, the furnitures very worn out, the room generally needed good refurbishment. Nothing special really especially in terms of the value for the price.
The staff was great though: helpful, friendly, welcoming and professional

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This hotel is great as it is walking distance to everywhere we needed to go. The hotel,is surrounded by restaurants, so there is no need to walk far if you don't want to. The hotel room we had was a balcony suite, which had views over the roof tops to the cruise terminal. The room was spotlessly clean and noise free. The breakfast was awesome the best greek yoghurt I've ever had, service was quick and friendly. We stayed here four nights and we never had an issue with the quality of the breakfast and rooms. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had a balcony room so we where able to open the door and get fresh air into the room, we also sat...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

What a great experience. The hotel has a clean, modern design; a cool vibe; amazingly friendly and helpful staff; and is immaculately clean everywhere. It is in a great location for touring Copenhagen by foot, and is surrounded by everything from restaurants to historical attractions to grocery stores. The staff were uniformly friendly and helpful. Our room was small but perfectly comfortable and adequate. And the breakfast (not included) was delicious.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, Georgia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

For a tourist, the hotel is in walking distance to shops, restaurants, and the Tivoli Opera. The food was spotty. At our first breakfast the scrambled eggs were cooked perfectly. The next day, they were dry and rubbery. Seats were jammed close together The steak at a banquet meal was tough. Our room key stopped working and were were told that it was probably because we kept it too close to our cell phone. We later found out that an employee had accidently taken a block of rooms out of the system. The front desk was understaffed at times as evidenced by slow moving lines waiting to be served.The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. However there were no drawers in which to unpack folded clothing and overall storage was sparse. The shower-tub combo had no barrier to keep water from a shower from splashing on the floor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Staff was amazing. The first room I checked into had some electrical issues where the lights, air conditioning, etc would not stay on! Things kept turning on and off and the staff immediately moved me into another, larger room! The room had an awesome balcony overlooking beautiful Copehagen and was quite larger than my original room.

The shower/tub combo was a bit odd to use and I ended up splashing water everywhere but it's Europe, everything is small and condensed.

Pros:
- Beautiful balcony with view
- Modern sleek decor
- Very clean
- Great location

Cons:
- The electrical issues I experienced in my first room. But that was promptly resolved.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
415 reviews 415 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
223 helpful votes 223 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Was here for drink and dinner recently - good location in the middle of the city. Personnel were mostly foreigners (most did not talk a word Danish); friendly and helpful. But something appears not to work so well; in the bar they could not easily handle cash (return cash); they ran out of wine glasses and we had to wait quite long to be served.
Dinner we had was nice, but also here we had to wait. It took quite a long time to get food on the table and it took equally look between the dishes. What we got was quite tasty though. I am puzzled about the organisation here - friendly, but not really on top of things.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Skt. Petri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skt. Petri

Address: Krystalgade 22, Copenhagen 1172, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Skt. Petri 4.5*
Number of rooms: 268
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skt. Petri is your key to Copenhagen. The elegant hotel is situated in the middle of the vibrant Latin Quarter in central Copenhagen, close to shopping and with easy access to the airport. With 268 luxury rooms, some of which have a balcony or terrace, Skt. Petri truly puts the city towers at your feet. All rooms are equipped with air conditioning and free Wi-Fi, to cool down and stay connected. The unique hotel creates the perfect frame for a contemporary lifestyle, accompanied by the hotel's excellent service and gastronomy. In the panoramic grand room at the heart of Skt. Petri, the Central Kitchen restaurant is perfect for modern-day diners seeking high quality and an easy-going environment. The legendary Bar Rouge continues to light up the late hours in the Latin Quarter with its winning combination of perfectly-served cocktails and guests from around the world. Skt. Petri is a proud member of Design Hotels, and a truly inspirational hotel - the Danish mindset at the service of discerning global travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Splendia, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Skt. Petri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Skt Petri
Skt Petri Hotel
Skt Petri Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skt. Petri, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.