We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for a city trip, but not comfortable!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Square Copenhagen

Save Saved
You added The Square Copenhagen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Square Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raadhuspladsen 14, Copenhagen 1550, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 116 hotels in Copenhagen
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location for a city trip, but not comfortable!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

The location of the hotel is great as it's in downtown city center. A good starting point for shopping and sightseeing. However, the room was very small and the bed as worse as it could be. We chose the Executive Double Room category but the size of the bed was only 1,20m and this for two persons! We asked for a room with a bigger bed or twin beds, but the answer was, that all beds are the same, also in a Suite!! (?!?) Furthermore the mattress was very soft and we couldn't sleep very well. We felt almost sea sick when the other made a little move... The bathroom was good, enough space for two ladies. However, there was no safety deposit box in the room what is very poor for a 4* hotel. The breakfast buffet was good, but service staff not friendly. No service staff member ever smiled. Also other staff members never smiled or were attentive. (e.g. keeping an elevator door open...) It seemed to us as these people are not happy to work there. To be fair, there were 2 exceptions at the reception on our check-out day: the tall danish looking guy with black glasses and the tall lady with black curly hair were very kind and helpful. Also when we picked up the luggage a friendly and helpful gentleman was there, maybe the manager? The decoration and the cleanliness of the hotel were very good. However, altogether I would rate this hotel as a 3* and I would not recommend it to people who used to stay in 4 or 5 star hotels.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSquare, General Manager at The Square Copenhagen, responded to this review, September 1, 2010
Dear Shoppinggirl77

Thank you for your review. It was actually me who helped with you luggage upon check out. I am glad you had some positiv experiences but off course sorry about the negative. The hotel is actually by danish rules classified as a 3 star hotel not as a 4 or 5 star. Sometimes guests makes the same assumsion as you when they see the hotel. This is off course nice if you expects a 3 star, but not if you expects a 5 star. Regarding our beds I am not quit sure of the size you mention. All executive rooms has either a european kingsize bed of 180cm or 2 x 90 singlebeds put together. Regarding the service we are using alot of time in order to provide a high service level in all departments. I will take this up with team.

Best regards
Jens Wittendorff
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    237
    525
    259
    100
    48
See reviews for
180
366
89
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clark, New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Stayed here for one night on 8/26/10. Checked in early, our room was not ready, but it was only 11 am, so we were not expecting it to be. My only complaint is that we had to leave our luggage in the lobby, attached to other bags by a steel cable. I would feel more comfortable if there was a more secure place to keep the luggage. Our room was ready when we returned. It was on the first floor, and we did not find it noisy at night. The TV was a large flat-screen, and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was well appointed. We went down to the front desk for an internet cable, and they gave it to us right away. Breakfast on the 6th floor in the morning was very good as well. Staff were friendly and professional. And the location cannot be beat! Would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2010

I was in The Square Hotel in august 2010 for three night and the room wasn't never clean. They change only the towels and clena the bathroom. Every day I told that to the reception and to the supervisor but nothing was resolve. It's not sure a four star hotel. It's good for the postion in the centre of the city and for the breackfast, expensive but good.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSquare, Manager at The Square Copenhagen, responded to this review, August 27, 2010
Dear Grosse01

Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry to hear about the lack of cleaning during your stay. I will discuss it with the housekeeping dept for find out why there were a lack in our standard.

I can assure you that this is not the normal standard.

If you have any questions or comments, please do not hesitate to contact me.
best regards
Jens Wittendorff
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

The Square Hotel is perfectly situated. You're walking distance to several great museums. The Central Station is 10 min. away. Go to Louisiana by train RT and admission pkg. Wonderful experence out side the city. Nimb bakery opposite the RR station has good pastries and desserts. The G Cafe off the water fountain on the Stroget has great food at reasonable prices..don't miss it. Taxis are about $50 from the airport and about $25 to the cruiseline pier.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSquare, General Manager at The Square Copenhagen, responded to this review, August 27, 2010
Dear Hanapepe

Thank you for your review. I am happy you had a pleasant stay here at the Hotel and in Copenhagen.

Best regards
Jens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

This was a great hotel. It's trendy and modern and in great condition. The rooms aren't huge, but they are a decent size. The bathrooms are up to date and very nice. The door to the bathroom is all glass with a white core. They offer free internet with the room, but it is not wireless. You need your cable or you can borrow one from the front desk. The location is good. It's a 5 min walk to the start of the Stroget or Tivoli. It's a couple minutes further to Central Station. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSquare, General Manager at The Square Copenhagen, responded to this review, August 27, 2010
Dear TravelguySF

Thank you very much for your review and the time you took to write it. I am glad you enjoyed your stay in Copenhagen and in the Square. Please fell free to contact me directly if I can be of any further assistance.

Best regards
Jens Wittendorff
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adventure Gal in Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

This hotel is widely used by many tour groups, etc. The hotel itself, which at one time has been a very nice boutique-type hotel is "well worn" and as a result is looking a little rough around the edges. The rooms for two travellers in a twin is about the size of closet so it is better to upgrade to the "suite", although in comparison to other hotels it is still on the small side. Although the hotel is convenient due to location, I would pick another hotel that didn't look so dingy. Rating it at 3 stars is generous but the staff were very professional and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSquare, General Manager at The Square Copenhagen, responded to this review, August 27, 2010
Dear KatAlyea

Thank you for your review. We are always happy to get feedback positiv as well as negativ. Regarding the room size, I general Copenhagen hotel are not known to have the biggest size of rooms. At The Square we operates with 4 different room sizes. Standard, superior, executive and Junior Suites from a double standard room of 18 m2 to 40 m2. Regarding the standard we are highly aware of the importence of maintanance. If you have any specific point I would love to hear about them as we are planing the budget for 2011.

Regarding the staff I am glad they acted in a professional way. I hope I can assist you in the future if you return to Copenhagen.

Best regards
Jens WIttendorff, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

We enjoyed our 3-night stay (Wednesday to Saturday) at this well located hotel which has a friendly staff and is on the Town Hall Square and is close to "Strøget", the Tivoli Garden and the Central Station.
The room, which has Danish modern decor, was comfortable, though on the small side. The bathroom was modern and well appointed. Though several other reviews mentioned noise problems, we did NOT experience any undue noise during our stay. Our room overlooked the side street (Jernbanegade), but was only one room from the Town Hall Square (Radhuspladsen). We would definitely stay here again.
Our rate did not include breakfast, which could have been added for 110 DKK per person per day (about 20 USD pp). We felt this was a bit pricey, and there were several less expensive options nearby (though not with the view from The Square's 6th floor breakfast restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Square Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Square Copenhagen

Address: Raadhuspladsen 14, Copenhagen 1550, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Square Copenhagen 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Square Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Square Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen
Square Hotel Copenhagen
The Square Hotel Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Square Copenhagen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.