We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Square Copenhagen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Square Copenhagen to your Saves list
The Square Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raadhuspladsen 14, Copenhagen 1550, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Mixed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2009

I searched for a bargain and got a promotional rate at The Square -- Copenhagen is an expensive city for hotels! Check their Web site! The room was fine, the staff seemed very friendly... and there were issues. I asked upon check-in if I had a noisy room because it was only on the first floor. The front desk girl said no, no problem. She was flat-out lying. Next time I would not stay unless they put me way up high and away from traffic. It sounded like trucks in the room all night long. Oh well, sometimes that happens.

Waited quite some time to check in while four staff people milled about right in front of me at the front desk. Next morning, saw a member of the front desk staff actually yelling at someone while a lobby full of people watched. The main thing that turned me off was a stench coming from the kitchen.. something has been spilled and is rotting in there and to get your food from the buffet in the am, you had to hold your breath. Two of my colleagues were meeting me for a breakfast meeting. It was distracting.

I do still love a bargain and the location is fabulous! The Indian restaurant next door is great!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    611
    305
    110
    52
See reviews for
218
423
99
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
AU
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2009

I have stayed at this hotel twice now and had a great stay each time. Very modern, nice new LCD tv, clean and nice large sized bathrooms (rare in Copenhagen!). The rooms are a little small, but nothing smaller than usual for Europe. Staff are pleasant and helpful.

During my second stay, I arrived several hours before the stated check-in time but was still able to check in. Plus I was even given a room facing the Square, which was much appreciated.

A great choice in Copenhagen!

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2009

This hotel is conveniently positioned, within 500k or so of the main train station, on the Town Square, and at the head of the major walkway that wends through central Copenhagen. It is very clean and attractively appointed. The staff was universally helpful, the clientele hip, and the experience close to perfect. This is a very satisfying experience, especially considering the favorable price (we paid $170/night inclusive). Internet is free here, with an Ethernet connection in the rooms and free wi-fi in the lobby. We had moved from the nearby Palace/Le Meridien after a poor experience there.

The hotel lacks extras, like a full bar, restaurant, or gym. There are myriad restaurants and bars in easy walking distance though. This is a great pedestrian city and great for runners. (See running route below.)

We chose an executive room, which was only marginally more expensive than a regular room, but much more spacious. Depending on availability, you have the choice of rooms facing the busy town square (good views, but noisier), rooms on the side facing an office building (peek views, but less noisy) and facing inside (don’t know about those views). You have to choose which you prefer. We chose the room on the office building side and found it fine.

This room layout is quite spacious, as European hotel rooms go, with a couch. There is a plasma TV, pants press, ironing board, refrigerator (stocked with items), small desk, and so on. The bathroom is OK, nothing great, nothing bad. The beds in our room were rather soft and a bit uneven, but quite tolerable. There is no safe in the room.

There are heavy curtains on the windows, but not blackout curtains. As another reviewer mentioned, there is need for gauze curtains in the rooms facing the office building, for daytime privacy. It would also be nice if they had a low night light in the bathroom, as the door is glass and turning on the light at night lights up the entire hotel room.

Breakfast is in a very nice, airy room at the top of the hotel. It was free when we asked if it could be comped, otherwise around $15 or so.

We were very pleased with this hotel.

Tips:

As with all hotel rooms with Ethernet, we recommend bringing your own Apple Airport or similar portable wi-fi, thereby allowing more than one laptop to be used at the same time.

Beneath the hotel is a store called Tiger, which is basically a mini-warehouse store with a wide variety of things from toiletries to electronics to clothing, all at very low prices. If you forgot something, check here. It may be the only real discount store in Copenhagen.

For runners, go left from the hotel on Hans Christian Andersen Boulevard about 750k and you will find extensive running paths surrounding a series of rectangular lakes. Go to the right side of the street and start there and you will have about a 2 mile circumference to run. On the far side, there is an underpass for runners and walkers that avoids crossing the street.

  • Liked — Clean, well located, and reasonably priced
  • Disliked — Nothing majorb
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston area, MA
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

I stayed at The Square in December and then again last night. My second stay represents a vote of confidence.

The hotel is minimalist chic, perhaps Scandinavian in style. The rooms are nice, if a bit small. Nice water pressure in the shower, and the only complaint I have at all with the hotel is that if you take a long shower, the water can leak out of the shower to other parts of the bathroom. Well, I guess one more complaint: there are no washcloths in the bathroom, but this has been the case in the other Danish hotel I stayed at, so it may be cultural.

The location is about 3-5 minutes walk from the train station so it is easy to take a train from the airport to the hotel (two stops, I think). The hotel is right downtown in Town Hall Square near Tivoli Garden. I haven't had time to be a tourist, but it seems like a very nice, accessible, relatively small city and being downtown means it is easy to get to nice restaurants.

Breakfast and wifi come with the room -- both of these make me happy as I am tired of paying 15 dollars or pounds for internet access. The breakfast buffet is on the 6th floor in a bright room (sunny when Copenhagen is not gloomily gray) with views both of the city and of the office building next door. It seems typical of the area -- breads and pastries, cheese, cereal, some fruit, but no scrambled eggs/bacon/sausages etc. that one might find at a Marriott. The staff is young and was uniformly helpful.

Finally, I believe that the price we paid for an advanced purchase was relatively low.

I give it 4 stars rather than 5 because it is very nice but not luxurious. I'll stay here again on my next visit.

  • Liked — location, nice style, breakfast, free internet
  • Disliked — water on bathroom floor from long shower
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

This hotel is located in the heart of the city in the main city hall square. It is a perfect location for getting to Tivoli, the train station, the bus tours, and the shopping streets. It´s not necessary to get a car as there are loads of great restaurants and activities close by, including a large cinema showing lots of English language films in their original format. The hotel has a lovely lobby with nice seating and a small bar. The rooms are all very modern and clean. Breakfast is served in the restaurant on the top floor so has nice views of parts of the city. The food is typically continental breakfast but plenty and good quality. The staff were all very nice and helpful. We would definitely stay there again! if possible, get a room with a view of the city square.

  • Liked — Modern and inviting
  • Disliked — No dinner restaurant
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2008

My boyfriend & I stayed for 4 nights at The Square, Copenhagen in mid-December 2008.

Recent reviews of this hotel on Tripadvisor are pretty accurate and we did use these when choosing the hotel. Overall we were not disappointed with our choice of hotel, but there were both good and bad points which I have outlined below. The bad points were bearable for us and would in no way put us off staying here again or recommending it to others.

Good:

Excellent location - a short walk to/from the railway station and easy to find on arrival. Also a short walk to virtually anywhere else you might want to go in central Copenhagen and right next door to Christmassy Tivoli, one of the main reasons for our visit.

Rooms are very clean, modern and serviced well every day.

Comfortable bed.

Staff helpful and (mostly) friendly and welcoming

We had breakfast on one day (room service) and it was excellent

Need room key to access the lift which is an excellent security measure


Bad:

The hotel is situated in a busy, noisy area. Take earplugs as I did if you know this will bother you. It is noisy with traffic and revellers most of the night and into the early morning.

The basic rooms are small - not so small that you are falling over each other but be prepared for not a lot of space to put anything.

Many of the rooms face right into an office building opposite - no nets at the window meant keeping the curtains shut all the time for privacy.

There are no tea & coffee making facilities in the room and no room service is provided apart from breakfast.

Breakfast is expensive but there are cafes nearby which we used instead on most days

There is no safe or ironing board in the room - although you can ask for an iron and pay for a safety deposit box at reception

Not much decent TV - but then you are not really there to watch the TV

All in all, the hotel is perfectly adequate for a short break. Perhaps it was just a bit too minimalist for us and trying just a bit too hard to be trendy.

  • Liked — Great Location
  • Disliked — Noisy area at times
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2008

Just returned home from my annual Christmas trip with my mum and friends to Copenhagen and can say that I have now found a hotel that I will definitely use again next year.

First of all the location is perfect, just opposite the main square it is a within few minutes walk from Tivoli gardens and with in good walking distance to the Stroget main pedestrian street with shops bars and restaurants, Nyhavn harbour ( worth a visit), the seafront, train station etc.. There are also a variety of restaurants and bars very close by.

We took a taxi from the airport that cost about 250 Kroner each way ( about £28), but I think there is a bus into town if you prefer.

Mum had an executive twin room which faced the square, my friend and I had a superior twin room which had a corner view of the square. Both rooms were very modern and clean and were very comfortable. The rooms ( although not the biggest I have stayed in ) had good size bathrooms with both shower and bath, hairdryer, flat screen TV, plenty of wardrobe space, and trouser press ( no iron).
The reception has a bar area and both our rooms had a mini bar ( extra charge ofcourse).
The breakfast restaurant is on the top floor with a limited view of the city.. the buffet breakfast was really good with food to accomodate all tastes.

The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Liked — Arriving
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Square Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Square Copenhagen

Address: Raadhuspladsen 14, Copenhagen 1550, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Square Copenhagen 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Square Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Square Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen
Square Hotel Copenhagen
The Square Hotel Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Square Copenhagen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.