We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super location and service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Square Copenhagen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Square Copenhagen to your Saves list
The Square Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raadhuspladsen 14, Copenhagen 1550, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Super location and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I had a reservation here and for any reason got upgraded to suite, which is already potentially influencing this review. The hotel was nice at start, even though it was a bit crowded at registrations. The location is perfect, right in front of the City Hall. The suite has gorgeous, great double bed with great cleaning standards and nice design furtniture. Nothing to add: hands down the best hotel I experience in Copenhagen (and surprisingly not one of the most expensive).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    611
    304
    110
    52
See reviews for
217
423
99
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Square is in easy walking distance of all sights. Our room was at the back of the building and although there was some building work , we didn't hear a thing. I would descibe the room as average size , certainly not small , with a good sized wardrobe and spotlessly clean and modern bathroom.
The reception staff were kind and efficient and only too happy to help. Of course they spoke perfect English.
Parts of Copenhagen are in the throes of having new metro stations built and one is in the Town Hall Square opposite. It will take until 2018 according to the posters. The inhabitants are fed up already but don't be put off by this. The hotel is worth staying at. A modern , Danish design but user friendly.
The buffet breakfast was plentiful and there was a good choice. Don't expect a cooked breakfast and as in Italian hotels , the different coffees are extra. However the ordinary coffee is good and served to use by one of the waitresses. I think that it was because it was a relatively quiet weekday as on the Saturday it is much busier and they don't have time to serve.
Should I return to Copenhagen , and I would like to , then I would stay here again

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Good location, nice rooms, serviceminded staff, but far to expensive breakfast and not the cleanest room. Ordinary room with bed and sofa, nice bathroom with hairdryer och utility stoff. Close to Tivol, shops and the central trainstation.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I picked this hotel because it was centrally located & stylish. Whilst that is true, overall I have been disappointed with a few things: the beds at The Square are terrible, some sort of sponge contraption that lacks support. If I was paying $40 a night in a backpacker hostel I might let it go, but I think a proper mattress is not too much to ask for for the money I am paying. House-keeping is slap-dash and more than a little sloppy. My single cup & a single wine glass was removed and not replaced; I had to call and ask for a replacement. The next day the dirty cup was left and not replaced. The black tea-bag that I used was not replaced, the other was a fruit based tea. It seems a little mean to only have one black tea-bag. The bathroom has a large mirror directly behind the hand basin & naturally it gets splashed. It hasn't been wiped by anyone except me since I've been here...I deliberately left it, just to see if it would be cleaned today. The towels are small, I am petite Aussie size 8 / USA size 4. If you are a bigger build ask for more. They are also not very soft, or very white & I find that a bit sloppy; it's time to change your towels or laundry service Management. The airconditioning is very noisy, I have to switch it off to be able to sleep. The hand basin drains slowly & gurgles - so there are plumbing issues too.
My single room faces Radhuspladsen, it is on the 5th floor and it can be noisy, but the double glazing does help with the noise & the hotel cannot prevent noise from emergency vehicles. I do like the underfloor heating in the bathroom, to me that is the single concession to the 4 stars this hotel has. The lobby is impressive and trendy, that seems to be where the attention to detail seems to end, you will notice that once you open the lift door!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper avoid rooms looking out onto Radhuspladsen - or go to the highest floor p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel's biggest benefit is its great location. It is just a few steps away from the central station, from the Tivoli, from the Stroget and there are lot of bars and restaurants around. Usually the prices are quite compare to other Copenhagen hotels in the area, but some of the rooms are quite small. It is OK for 1-2 nights stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A good tourist class hotel in the center of Copenhagen, which would like to portray itself as more than tourist class. They jury's still out on that...

Pros
- amazing views from the top floors. Copenhagen central square, balcony
- modern Danish design style - decently expressed, but not as stylish as the Radisson Royal a block away

Cons
- the room class I had booked, I could essentially get only a lowly, inwards-facing, low floor room - and so felt almost coerced into taking an upgrade (which then worked out well, see above)
- lacking atmosphere
- expensive parking in central Copenhagen

Room Tip: Room 610 has a very nice view and balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is located in the centre of the city, which makes it very convenient for shopping and sightseeing, but also a easy target for pickpockets. When I was there, I could see no guards at the doors, which made it easy for anyone to access. Of course one has to be careful in a big city, but you don't really expect to be subjects for pickpockets in the hotel elevator! There were no cameras inside the elevators, only outside, and the staff seemed very disinterested when I reported it. I had to ask for the map to the police station to report the case.

The room was fine, but the breakfast was very boring, hardly any warm food, and the nothing special that one might expect from a design hotel. My colleague who had a room towards the street thought it very noisy.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Square Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Square Copenhagen

Address: Raadhuspladsen 14, Copenhagen 1550, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Square Copenhagen 4*
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Square Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Square Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen
Square Hotel Copenhagen
The Square Hotel Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Square Copenhagen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.