We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room and nice location, but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Square Copenhagen

Save Saved
You added The Square Copenhagen to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Square Copenhagen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Raadhuspladsen 14, Copenhagen 1550, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“Nice room and nice location, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

NO BACON AT THE BREAKFAST BUFFET, and they charge you for all types of coffee except for ordinary black coffee.

Apart from that, the hotel has a good location and the rooms are of good size and standard. A little noice from the streets, but nothing problematic.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    565
    277
    106
    49
See reviews for
204
393
93
224
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennesee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Had 2 stays there the past week. Rooms tended to be small but clean. 5" walk from Central Copenhagen train station and close to most bus lines. Hotel has been allowed to age with little attention to detail. On both stays we had to change rooms as the air conditioner was very noisy-imagine they haven't been well serviced; towels tended to be be old and thin and in one room the window was very dirty. The staff was gracious but only some of the staff members at the desk showed any interest or initiative in responding to our requests for information. These certainly aren't the qualities that one expects in a fairly expensive 4* hotel.

Room Tip: Check the air conditioning before you settle in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Arrived soon after 10:00 to leave luggage before starting our walking tour of the city and found that our room was ready and we had immediate access, just good luck but having the room available all day was a great bonus. Very central location, ample 'continental' breakfast and very friendly staff. Good lift service. Highly recommended.
Copenhagen streets are a little disrupted by on going Metro works - until 2019 - but they did not spoil our visit, just be careful crossing roads as the traffic direction changes according to the work being carried our and the even local folk are not always sure which way to go!

Room Tip: Junior suite spacious and relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We arrived early and had our luggage attended to efficiently. Went back at 3.00pm to check in and room was not available, we could have paid more for a different room though. When I declined this offer I was told Room 111 was available.

Could not get the room cooled to a comfortable temperature on what was quite a warm day. This room looked out onto what I could only describe as a dirty smoker's area and soon found out my assumption that the windows were one way was wrong when two women smoking and drinking out there waved to my husband who was standing near the window. This area seemed to be a short cut from somwhere because all night we heard the gate opening and the sensor light would come on. We then spent the next couple of days with the curtains shut!!

Location was perfect, wifi fast, staff seemed to be overworked but friendly. Wouldn't go back there nor would I recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Do not let them put you into Room 111
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Stayed there on a business trip. Shad a room on the 6th floor with a balcony. It is centrally located and walking distance to tivoli gardens and central station. The standard was very high. The wifi was excellent all around the hotel (a must when travelling on business).

The breakfast was standard continental. Lack of hot food was dissapointing. The snag is the htel does not have a restaurant on site so you'll have to eat out. It does have room service though. Me and the boss asked the reception staff if we could have our room service in the lobby and they did so kindley. Express checkout was quick too!

Would i stay again. Yes i would. And if you like your kebabs, there is a kebabish near by! Wohoo!

Room Tip: The 6th floor has a balcony that overlooks denmark! very nice site!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

If in town for shopping, night life, Tivoli or generally looking for a very central location, then this the Square is your choise! If however, you are looking for some character, out-of-the-box-desing or cosmopolitan athmosphere, then the Square is not your choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I started my trip for business and was later joined by my husband for a brief holiday. I arrived later than planned as part of my flight itinerary got cancelled due to snow. So I was very looking forward to get to the hotel. I have sweet memories of this hotel, particularly since we were there in December, with a -3 degree temperature and snowstorm for 2 of our 6 day stay and the hotel wa a cosy and warm refuge.
Copenhagen, like Denmark and Scandinavian countries is expensive. So finding a clean, decent and very central hotel in Copenhagen was no easy task. We ended up choosing The Square Hotel and the place ticked all requirements!
Just a corner from Tivoli, 5 minutes from the Central Station and Stroget and with rooms facing Town Square, you cannot get more central than that.
The hotel was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was fine, except that it gets to tends extremely busy on the weekend, probably more than other hotels do. Finding a table, clean cutlery and soon good food choices during the weekend was a task. Make sure you check your breakfast is included in your room price upon booking. We read reviews where this was not the case and people got overcharged at the end of their stay. This did not happen in our case.
Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Check your room booking includes breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Square Copenhagen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Square Copenhagen

Address: Raadhuspladsen 14, Copenhagen 1550, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Square Copenhagen 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Square Copenhagen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Square Copenhagen Hotel Copenhagen
Square Hotel Copenhagen
The Square Hotel Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Square Copenhagen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;