We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value close to city center” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Sydhavnen

Save Saved
You added Scandic Sydhavnen to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scandic Sydhavnen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sydhavns Plads 15, Copenhagen DK-2450, Denmark (Formerly Scandic Hotel Sydhavnen) (Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 116 hotels in Copenhagen
Aalborg, Denmark
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great value close to city center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

This was the second time staying here, this time in the new section that was recently added. Room was clean and it had a nice bath tub (although when taking a shower the water would spill out on the floor leaving it wet and slippery). The best thing about this hotel is that it is relatively close to the city center, but the surroundings are very quiet at night - no street noise or wandering loud people to disturb your sleep. Breakfast is also great with a very large selection to suit any taste.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    107
    79
    21
    16
See reviews for
48
52
12
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Odder, Denmark
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We have been at this hotel several times. It is value for money, friendly staff and there is parking included (rare i Copenhagen). Breakfast is also included, the buffet isn't sensationel but OK. The rooms are normally clean, but be aware of the aircondition, they have problems with it sometimes. If your room is hot, just contact the reception, and they will do all they ca to fix a better ancoller room for you.

Room Tip: We aware of noise from the street - choose a room high up and/or away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

The hotel was nice, and the staff was very friendly. The rooms were comfy, but a minus was the shower on the same level as the bathroom floor. However, breakfast was free, and very delicious. We were a little disturbed by the construction works though. Overall the hotel was nice but the price didn't match the service.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Though we had sent our credit cards details via email, the desk clerk could not find them and, on behalf of our late arrival, had cancelled our 4-night booking.
Amazingly, we explained we had spent over 10 hours driving in our car, it was 11 PM and our 6 years old son was exhausted, but the desk clerk did not even offered as much as a glass of water!!!!!
He booked a room for us at another Scandic hotel, where we had to pay over twice as much for a room too small for our needs, in a neighbourhood undergoing heavy restoration work, which prevented us to park nearby (had to carry luggage for several minutes, with a sleepy child, and it was midnight when we reached the hotel). Back at the Scandic Sydhavnen the day after, we received a very cold welcome, it was extremely noisy (enormous building work), crowded (had to wait, every morning, to have a table at breakfast). We had to complain about missing towels and our beds where not made, twice during our 3-day stay!!! Though we left the room around 10 each morning to visit town, hence plenty of time to tidy things up. Another bad surprise when checking out: we had been promised a non-cancellation price for the room but had to pay full fee. OUTRAGEOUS and deeply unpleasant from day 1 to day 4. Very bad experience, no excuse, no smile, staff seemed under pressure all the time and were hardly nice to us (this being, of course, an understatement). We were baffled (our previous stays at different Scandic hotels had been nice enough, except for a not very polite desk manager in Stockholm, otherwise pretty satisfying).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

Plus points, staff are friendly and helpful, rooms are adequate size and internet connection is good. However, location is some way from the city and there doesn't seem to be a whole lot nearby this hotel. There is building work ongoing all the time, like staying at a construction site not a hotel. Consequently quite dusty a colleague was disturbed early on a weekend morning by drilling going on.

Restaurant has a very, very limited menu OK if you stay one night but if you're staying several or are vegetarian then it's far to limited.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

Spent just 1 night at this hotel for its proximity to airport. Well its not so close as well.
This hotel is currently under re-construction and hence had quite a few issues like cleanliness etc
Still, there was a constant and quite loud whistling noise coming from the toilet, maybe fittings were not done properly.
Hopefully by 1st September when it's over I expect it can come up to Scandic standards.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Great staff and good restaurant. Very quiet and clean rooms, with basic but comfortable furniture and decor. Only real disappointment is the shower which shares the same floor of the bathroom, such that it gets all pretty wet after a shower, and location (though relatively close to city trains). Mattress on the soft side, but still comfortable. No minibar, but refreshments available for purchase in the lobby 24h/day. I've been here on business 3-4 times already for 2-3 nights at a time and have always been comfortable and well received, but wouldn't come here for a romantic or pleasure stay as too minimalist for my taste and the bathroom is just always wet.

Room Tip: Avoid side of construction work!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Sydhavnen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Sydhavnen

Address: Sydhavns Plads 15, Copenhagen DK-2450, Denmark (Formerly Scandic Hotel Sydhavnen)
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Sydhavnen 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Scandic Sydhavnen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Sydhavnen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.