We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building - give the climb a miss!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Church of Our Saviour

Church of Our Saviour
Skt Annae Gade 29, Copenhagen 1416, Denmark (Christianshavn)
+45 3254 6883
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 310 things to do in Copenhagen
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful building - give the climb a miss!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Fantastic looking building but the climb to the top is terrifying. I am reasonably young and fit but the steps to the top in many cases are little more than an old rickety ladder- they should be condemned for safety reasons. Also people pushing past as you try to go up and down , no sharp them or marshalling in place and no common decency.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    701
    411
    66
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A must see in Copenhagen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Located in Cristianshavn, right next to the metro station, the Church of Our Savior is a must see attraction in Copenhagen. Reasonable prices to visit the observation tower, and great view from the top. They say that the statue on the top was so ugly, that they decided to put it at the top of the tower, so no one can see it.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Brilliant views, a good climb, with some narrow steep bits!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Ok I am pretty unhappy at heights, probably suffering from mild vertigo, but this is a worthwhile experience. The climb is longer than you might imagine to start with, with half of it taking place inside the tower, with warning lights if the bells are about to ring! It is not for those with accessibility issues as it twists and turns, is steep, and gets quite narrow.
Once you arrive outside the climb up the spiral staircase is if anything easier, though obviously more scary!
With reasonable number of people ascending and descending you have to be patient, but that is no bad thing as you get your breath back!
The church itself is impressive, with a massive organ dominating one side, according to my wife who did not make it to the top, but rather enjoyed listening to a local organist playing.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

I'm not a fan of heights but this was worth the climb. It has normal wooden stairs at the beginning which change to steep wooden stairs and then to steep spiral stairs. Once you get on the landing the outside the steps feel safe - they are wide and deep and have a high railing. I made it up to the top!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sycamore, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Worth the climb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

I do not like heights, but this was something I had to do. Only a couple blocks from the metro I had a 4 hour layover and stopped here on my way back to the airport. It cost 35 dkk and there seems to be endless sets of narrow wooden stairs as you ascend through the bell tower. Eventually you come out a little door into the sunlight (weather permitting, of course) and you're greeted by a birds eye view of Copenhagen. As you follow the spiral stairs up to the very top they narrow until only one person can fit at a time. There's a reason they only allow a certain number of people up at the same time so there may be a line when you arrive. But if you have the time stick it out because it's worth the trouble.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Church of Our Saviour also viewed

 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Church of Our Saviour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Church of Our Saviour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.