We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not to be missed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Copenhagen Zoo

Copenhagen Zoo
Roskildevej 32 | Frederiksberg, Copenhagen 2000, Denmark
45 72 200 200
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Copenhagen Zoo like an insider
Top Rated
$55*
and up
Copenhagen Card
Ranked #24 of 310 things to do in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Copenhagen Zoo is home to African pygmy goats, elephants, tigers and animals of all shapes and sizes. You're invited to observe training sessions and feeding times. Open 365 days a year 10 a.m.-4 p.m. or later in summer.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

A great zoo, beautifully designed without being too big. The animals are well looked after and have lots of space ( with the exception of the leopard). A great place to visit with kids or feel a kid yourself.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    285
    66
    23
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great day at the zoo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Wonderful zoo, the animals looks happy and thats Always important in a zoo. A good way to spend an afternoon.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“5 stars for Polar Bear enclosure and welfare, 3 for range.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

You can access a tunnel through the swimming area of the bear which we did and were fortunate enough to have the bear swim right above our heads; truly magical. All the adults were entranced and my 10 year old was gasping in awe at this majestic creature.

Seals were lovely too and the sea-lions suitably cheeky and noisy.

Other than that, all very average in terms of what animals they have but first class welfare.

Bus from centre of town (it would be a long walk).

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Average zoo”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Zoo is average. Nice enclosures. Lots of variety. Nothing special though. We got in free with the Copenhagen Card which was very nice and easy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great experience compared to......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

the other zoo's Ive visited in Berlin, New York, Lissabon etc. Im proud that we have a zoo in Copenhagen that is high on animal welfare - most animals here have more space than Ive seen in all other zoo's Ive visited arond the world. Both the 'Arctic circle' where the polar bears enjoy themselves and the area for the elefants are really unique. This is a great place to be nomatter the age - been there more than 50 times in my life as a kid myself, with my own kids and with my wife (w/o kids) - great everytime we go!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Copenhagen Zoo also viewed

Kastrup, Taarnby Municipality
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Copenhagen Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copenhagen Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.