We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goat Pen and Polar Bears” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Copenhagen Zoo

Copenhagen Zoo
Roskildevej 32 | Frederiksberg, Copenhagen 2000, Denmark
45 72 200 200
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Copenhagen Zoo like an insider
Top Rated
$55*
and up
Copenhagen Card
Ranked #24 of 310 things to do in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Copenhagen Zoo is home to African pygmy goats, elephants, tigers and animals of all shapes and sizes. You're invited to observe training sessions and feeding times. Open 365 days a year 10 a.m.-4 p.m. or later in summer.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Goat Pen and Polar Bears”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This would be average, as it was a little run down, but two things ensured it's promotion to "very good".

There's a stroke the goat pen. You can climb in and actually stroke all the goats! Amazing. The little critters surround you in loving adoration. I felt like a goat king.

Massive polar bears too. Human eating stuff. A whole human for breakfast probably, with ease. That big. This may not be such an excitement to those from Polar Bear Zoo harbouring nations. But I'm English. And there are no polar bears in our zoos. They are HUGE. All other bears are far inferior. Especially the skinny ones that live in trees with silly ears.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    285
    66
    23
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Iceland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Monkey business”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I dont quite know what to say about the Copenhagen Zoo. Some of it I liked and some of it I did not like. I felt like some of the animals ware being kept in a far to small facilities, I kind of was expecting the tigers to just jump out of there cage, it did not look like it would be hard for them to do. When I was there it was freezing cold and I felt sorry for the elephants, they ware out side and looked so cold and miserable (but I am no elephant expert). What I liked the most ware the monkeys, specially the baboons and there almost new born little babies so cute :)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“a modern zoo with animal care at its heart”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I went to see the new elephant house designed by Normal Foster which is pretty imporessive but there is so much else too. I watch as the lions were fed a (dead) Zebra. This sort of thing is done after hours in most zoos so as not to frighten the vegetarians, but its was interesting to see the Lions' immaculate table manners and etiquette as they savoured their dish. You could easily spend a day here. Wathing the sea lions being fed is predictably popular, and worth a look.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very depressing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I am not a big fan of zoos. I really didn't like this one. It's small and seems like a torture for the animals and the people. They need to make the living spaces bigger or just close the place for large animals.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Awesome zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

The Copenhagen zoo is really well set out and the enclosures are great, allowing you to get really close to the animals. Polar bears were a favourite, and make sure you ask about the carnivore that is being fed that day. We were there in early Jan (winter) and the African savannah was empty but it was still well worth the visit, hippos are a must see too, their enclosure is great.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Copenhagen Zoo also viewed

Kastrup, Taarnby Municipality
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Copenhagen Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Copenhagen Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.