We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GET A STICKER FROM SOMEONE LEAVING” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Designmuseum Danmark

Designmuseum Danmark
Bredgade 68, Copenhagen 1260, Denmark
33 18 56 56
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #84 of 310 things to do in Copenhagen
Attraction details
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“GET A STICKER FROM SOMEONE LEAVING”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Im a student so we got in for free but they have stickers instead of tickets. And youd do well to use someone elses sticker because you will feel seriously ripped off if you paid to go in there. I went on the first day of the Vinyl exhibiton. The exhibition celebrated the works of vinyl cover artwork. It was a deep and interesting look at music and cover works as a whole. A truly inspirational experience. The rest of the museum is wank though, dont bother

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    93
    39
    19
    18
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Just plain boring”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

TIP: this museum gives you a sticker instead of a ticket. People leave their old stickers on the front gates. So take their old stickers and breeze on though the foyer as if you had paid already! It worked (for one of our party, anyway).

Probably the best thing about this museum are the fruit trees and vines growing in the large, sunny courtyard. I picked some really delicious nectarines and you can too! Just don't let the staff see you.

The exhibits, however, are quite boring. There is a little bit of explanation in English, but most is in Danish. Chairs, tables, consumer products, industrial gear, and prints make up the majority of the displays. It will leave you thinking: "did I really pay 100 DKK just to see this junk?"

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Boring and poorly curated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We were really looking forward to this museum since we love Danish design. However, I thought it looked like the shows had been assembled by college students and didn't excite or capture the imagination. I would not recommend unless there is a specific special show that interests you.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect oldschool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

It is amazing how chair can be interpreted! How many shapes, lines, textures, colors, DESIGNS can be involved. It is not only about the chairs but one can see the development of the applied (almost fine) arts on this example. Atmosphere of the museum is calm, a bit oldschool style, far from the city rush and the courtyard behind is gorgeous. Perfect 1,5 - 2 hours spent there.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“inspirational”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

whether this is an interest/passion for you, or not, there are some incredible innovational designs and creations inside. Over three floors, initially you think you'll cover it in 10mins, but if you take time to read about the properties of some of the materials utilised and engineering techniques you could easily spend half the day here.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Designmuseum Danmark also viewed

 
Copenhagen, Zealand
 

Been to Designmuseum Danmark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Designmuseum Danmark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.