We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boring and poorly curated” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Designmuseum Danmark

Designmuseum Danmark
Bredgade 68, Copenhagen 1260, Denmark
33 18 56 56
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 190 Attractions in Copenhagen
Type: Art Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Seattle
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Boring and poorly curated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We were really looking forward to this museum since we love Danish design. However, I thought it looked like the shows had been assembled by college students and didn't excite or capture the imagination. I would not recommend unless there is a specific special show that interests you.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    79
    33
    15
    16
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect oldschool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

It is amazing how chair can be interpreted! How many shapes, lines, textures, colors, DESIGNS can be involved. It is not only about the chairs but one can see the development of the applied (almost fine) arts on this example. Atmosphere of the museum is calm, a bit oldschool style, far from the city rush and the courtyard behind is gorgeous. Perfect 1,5 - 2 hours spent there.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“inspirational”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

whether this is an interest/passion for you, or not, there are some incredible innovational designs and creations inside. Over three floors, initially you think you'll cover it in 10mins, but if you take time to read about the properties of some of the materials utilised and engineering techniques you could easily spend half the day here.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“If you're into that thing!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Not really much to see unless you're into art and appreciate design and possibly antiques. I was looking at obviously uncomfortable furniture wondering what's so special about them (very little was explained and most of it was in danish), but my interior designer friend seemed quite pleased to be in there. The entrance is free for a small part of the museum, but at some point we realised we had seen the whole thing (no signs indicating you've left the free-of-charge area) without someone asking us to pay for a ticket.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Worth a visit if it's raining!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

You have to pay for special exhibitions but the rest is free. We didn't realise that until attacked by a guard as we hadn't paid to see the furniture exhibition. The staff were as we found so often in Copenhagen, abrupt and unfriendly. There are some interesting exhibits here but having paid I would't want to visit again or recommend it to a friend.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Designmuseum Danmark also viewed

 

Been to Designmuseum Danmark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Designmuseum Danmark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.