We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a good experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Radio

Restaurant Radio
Julius Thomsens Gade 12, Copenhagen, Denmark
45 25 10 27 33
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 1,542 Restaurants in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Scandinavian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Menai Bridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“What a good experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Had a superb meal to celebrate an anniversary. The food was imaginative, well presented and delicious. We would not hesitate in recommending Radio, and would happily go back again. The service was friendly and attentive. Very busy and so booking is a must.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    79
    18
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“If you can't get into Noma...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Radio, along with Pony and Relæ, is one of the restaurants that will approximate the Noma experience on a lower level and at a much lower price. New Nordic Cuisine-focused menu, small portions but three or four dishes should suffice, and decent wines at not unreasonable prices. Service can be a bit aloof, depending. Cool Scandinavian interior design with interesting lighting and wood-panelled walls. Regarding acoustics, the place could use a few more sound-absorbing ceiling tiles but you won't have to shout. About 1500 DKK for two, and located right across the street from Forum metro.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Scandinavian style fine dining at its...well, finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Had a divine 5 dish tasting menu here on Friday, March 8th. From scallops via lump fish and beets to super slow cooked beef, the starters and mains were unbelievably tasty and with that rustic look that Scandinavian cuisine has become so famous for.

We opted for the wine pairing, and were treated to an oenophilic trip through relatively undiscovered European wine regions. Although not inexpensive, the wine servings were large, and we were left with several glasses at the end of the meal. Had there been an option of a smaller wine serving, I would have chosen it.

Service was attentive, polite and friendly enough to be comfortable, yet not intrusive. As we were there on a Friday night, the restaurant was fully booked and busy. This did not in any way detract from the service, though it did mean that the noise level was rather high.

The restaurant itself is 'hyggelig' ('cosy') and informal, with small tables and chairs relatively close together. The food really takes centre stage, in a relaxed and laid-back attitude.

Compared to fine dining restaurants around the world, Restaurant Radio provides very good value for money. I would recommend it very highly, and hope to go back again soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Faultless from beginning to end”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had Saturday lunch here, arriving at noon to be sure of a table, though it surprisingly didn't get more than a third full right through to when we left at 2pm - I'm sure its a lot busier most evenings. They do what seems to be the Copenhagen 'thing' of a number of small dishes all at exactly the same price, and you choose as many as you want. At lunchtime it is even easier - there are just five dishes in total, all of which you can have for 400kr, or if you want less they're 100kr each. We took the lot; my recollection of the menu descriptions being - turbot with charred spring onions and roe sauce; squid with rehydrated potatoes and cheese foam; chicken with a prune and smoked marrow sauce and beetroot shavings, a cows' milk cheese with pureed quince; and finally caramelised white chocolate crumble ice cream with caramel cracknel, syrup and wafers. The brown sourdough bread with caramelised onion butter was sensational too; plus you get a couple of amuse-bouches to start off. They will happily recommend a wine for each course and this commendably also works on a fixed price whatever wine they suggest (though at 85kr a glass they aren't giving it away). Our waitress was really friendly, knowledgeable and attentive throughout, and we couldn't believe that there were so few people in here. Made up for not getting that 'cancellation booking' call from Noma !

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“What an experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Eating at Restaurant Radio was the first thing we did after arriving in Copenhagen. And we didn't want to go back. The staff is super friendly, with a perfectly timed service. The food is really creative and incredibly delicious. And all this happens in a cosy and casual atmosphere. I simply loved it, and would go again without hesitation!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Radio also viewed

 
Copenhagen, Zealand
Frederiksberg, Copenhagen
 

Been to Restaurant Radio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Radio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.