We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“False advertising” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Windsor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Windsor to your Saves list
Hotel Windsor
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Frederiksborggade 30, Copenhagen 1360, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Copenhagen
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“False advertising”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Recently stayed here and was not impressed. Chose this "hotel" based on the wifi and location.

Checked in after 1500 so had to go to the sister hotel down the street, which is fine. The next morning I asked the owner for the wifi password and was told "I can tell you but it probably wont work. It only works for some iphones. We're getting new fibre lines in 2016, then it will work fine." Seriously, he said this.

I require internet access for my job, so spent £70 on my phone over the weekend.

I requested a double bed, and was given two single beds pushed together with two single duvets. This is not a double bed.

It was clean and nicely decorated. But is little more than an expensive boarding house.

Dont advertise wifi if you know it doesnt work. Dont advertise double beds, if you dont have any.

Room Tip: I wouldnt do it again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    46
    23
    11
    4
See reviews for
6
39
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is outside Norreport station and was hard to find as there is no name on the building. I went to the sister hotel Jeurgensen to check in and they told me which bldg it is. The room is nice and has a great street view. Sink and flat screen tv. Only one toilet per floor in a small cupboard. If they can run sinks to every room surely they can update the bathroom. wifi signal kept dying but if you go near the staircase you can pick up the alternate signal. the further from the stairs the weaker the signal. breakfast starts from 8am with fresh rolls unless you goto the sister hotel jeurgensen where breakfast starts 7am and they have 24 hour reception there. they came and made the beds when I was out. If you have the Denmark Rail pass you can use it from Norreport station to get to the airport, Malmo, Hillerod (Frederiksborg Castle), or Helsinger (Kronborg Castle) so you don't have to goto central station everyday as all the trains stop at Norreport as well. that was the best part about staying here. All the Copenhagen sights walking distance too.

Room Tip: wifi strongest closest to stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2014

This is a very old fashioned hotel. Tiny room with shared toilet, and shared shower (2 in one stall - zero privacy), paper-thin walls, shabby old carpet, no elevator. The sheets were clean. I elected to leave, forfeiting my first night's payment. The receptionist was able to provide me with a refund for my second night thankfully.
The only advantage to this hotel is its location.
Not recommended.

Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

Spotlessly clean rooms, and friendly and useful staff. Stairs not for the faint hearted.
Absolutely wonderful location. Near to Rosenberg castle, beautiful parks, lovely river walks, and a cheerful nightlife.
I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
281 reviews 281 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Was actually booked in the hotel Jorgensen with my friend but that hotel was over sold for 2 single beds. Thus my friend stayed at Jorgensen and I went here. Pleasant stay here. Great location. Close to supermarket and food shops and metro. 25 mins to airport on metro direct access. Can walk to all attractions. Breakfast was at 8. Did not try it as I had an early flight. Just be warned a lot of stairs and no elevator.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

The hotel itself is not great. The facilities are poor; we had to share one shower and two toilets with about 10 different rooms, which made me feel like a student again. The tv reception and wifi were bad. Breakfast, however, was quite simple but good. Also the owner was friendly, but be aware that he is only at the reception around noon. All and all, we found the hotel way too expensive considering the small rooms with poor facilities.

I would only recommend this hotel for the location, which is really great. It is right across from the food market Torvehallerne and next to the metro and Nørreport train station.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Second stay- great location good value and everything works. Everyone knows about the stairs, showers are safe ( this is CPH and nicer bodies to look at outside!) and it doesn't pretend to be anything else. Minuses - breakfast variety better a year ago, and please bring back the wonderful coffee machine!!
Would def stay again on future visits to this lovely city!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Windsor

Address: Frederiksborggade 30, Copenhagen 1360, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Windsor 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Windsor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.