We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just as described here...read carefully and if it's right for you you'll know it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Somandshjemmet Bethel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Somandshjemmet Bethel to your Saves list
Somandshjemmet Bethel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nyhavn 22, Copenhagen 1051, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
kr.695 (DKK)
Ranked #5 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
New York area
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Just as described here...read carefully and if it's right for you you'll know it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

I was lucky enough to get a room at pretty late notice here and luckier still to make it to Copenhagen just after the ash crisis and before the next round of cancelled flights happened.

I discovered this hotel through a lot of research on Trip Advisor and had a very good idea of what to expect, and it was exactly that. Location, location, location - picture perfect and extremely handy to all public transporation, most importantly the Metro, which delivers you from the airport to the Kongens Nytorv station - about a seven minute walk - in truly about fifteen minutes - I've never had a smoother arrival into a major city, and it meant that I essentially got an extra half day on the last morning of what was only a 4.5 day trip from NY, so that last morning was very much appreciated. When I walked the city and saw the areas where some of my back up choices were located, I was very happy that I chose the Bethel.

The hotel itself is basic, clean and staffed by young, friendly and helpful people. I was (again) lucky to get a single on the second floor on a side street from which I could peer out the window and get "the view." Nice way to start and end the day, pulling a chair over and mulling over guidebooks or whatever looking at the view and the passing parade of people.

I found the room to be quiet - it was April and slightly chilly until the last day so I did have the windows closed - it would probably be a lot noisier with them open.

Same as everyone has reported - basic, quite small, fairly utilitarian room, with the shower unenclosed and flooding the floor in the bathroom, but I got used to this quickly. No closet, one desk, a tv which worked perfectly. My only complaint about the room was that due to the configuration of the single, there was no reading lamp over the bed, and one had to get out of the bed to turn out the lamp at night if you wanted to read, as I love to do when traveling.

Also as described by many, the breakfasts were excellent: lots of delicious bread and rolls, with jam, butter, etc. plus fresh fruit, several varieties of cheese and cold cuts. Plus cereal, and hard-boiled eggs. I ate a great deal at breakfast, then had a late lunch every day, and skipped dinner and saved a lot of money that way in expensive Copenhagen.

As have others, I especially loved the fact that the breakfast room stayed open all day and into the evening, and you could stagger in there after having spent hours walking on those medieval cobblestoned streets, and sit down and have a nice cup of tea or coffee. That was really appreciated. Like others, I was also welcomed to use the room and have breakfast upon my early a.m. arrival - very courteous and set a nice tone for the stay.

Later on in the stay my request to get flight confirmation print outs, and a question on train schedules were met with cheery politeness and assistance.

Lots of people would find the facilities too plain. If you think you might be one of them, read these posts thoroughly - they are accurate. For someone like me who needed to watch how much I spent and needed a simple, safe and comfortable place, it was perfect.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    199
    58
    9
    3
See reviews for
107
230
46
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

Location in Copenhagen couldn't have been better. Right on the Nyhavn Canal, across the canal from endless restaurants - all with outdoor seating. Walking distance to everything. Service Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Simple included breakfast with coffee, juice, meats, cheeses, fruit, breads was perfect to start the day. Would absolutely stay here again if I ever return to Copenhagen. We (family of four) comfortably stayed in a corner room on the third floor - good size and great views.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

This hotel scores of course firstly with its very nice location in the heart of Nyhavn, one of the major touristic sites in Copenhagen. There were no single rooms available so I got a double-room for the price of a single. Good start. On arrival I found my room was very basic but spacious, clean, and the bed was good. Breakfast was rather basic, too, but everything was fresh. What was amazing though, was how friendly and helpful the staff were. I was lacking some cash for the bus journey to the station on my last day and rather than letting me walk to the next Metrostation, the concierge would give me the money!
Very nice experience overall.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

I stayed at the Bethel Hotel for 2 nights.

Firstly, the good point: the best thing about the hotel must be its location. It is incredibly easy to get from/to airport (30 min door to door), get home after a late night out or walk back after a couple of beers at the numerous bars and pubs by the canal or a meal nearby. The view from the rooms (the canal side) are beautiful. The canal itself was almost frozen and it added a certain Northern charm to the view.

Then, onto the average stuff: the room was basic but clean. There was a funny smell coming out of the bathroom (from the drains) but if you keep the door closed, it shouldn't bother you (the smell was not intrusive). The bed was not particularly comfortable and the microfibre-filled pillow was dreadful: thin and tiny. The flat screen TV had at least a 100 channels though and watching it, although at a strange angle (it wouldn't move much), was definitely fun.

Breakfast was good and if you turn up early enough, the selection of breads, meats and cheeses was perfectly appropriate. The food that is not eaten at breakfast is then transformed into open sandwiches which can be purchased during the day for 12 krn. If you are hungry, it's a good option. If you are hungry and fussy about food, you may be somewhat disappointed.

And now to the worst bit: the coffee was dreadful. There is no other word to describe it and I do not use strong words like that often. I would suggest having breakfast at the hotel, then walking 1min down the canal to get a much better coffee at one of the local cafes. This coffee really has to change... it was a-w-f-u-l. And I also didn't like the amount of noise people were making outside the room in the corridor. I guess this is beyond the control of the hotel but a polite notice put on the walls and requesting the patrons to keep the noise to a minimum in the communal areas would be highly appreciated by many future guests. I can only imagine how noisy it can get in the summer when people are rushing about to get to the breakfast room at 7 a.m. :-(

Other than that, I found the food and beer extremely expensive in Copenhagen, however, the cost of transport and the price of designer clothes very affordable in comparison to London. For the ladies: there are so many department shops and fabulous small boutiques within 2-5 minutes walk from the hotel, it would absolutely love it!

Overall: good basic hotel in a fantastic location, somewhat overpriced (I would gladly pay £85-90 per night per room, not £105). And, please, get a better coffee!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

Stayed for two nights in October and found staff very helpful - particularly in getting around Copenhagen and to and from the airport on the rapid transit system.

A short walk from the closest station over three blocks of cobble stone streets was a small price to pay for the excellent location with picture postcard views of the harbour.

Denmark is VERY expensive, but relative to what else was around, this was a great choice. There is also all day sweet and savoury Scandanavian snacks and tea and coffee which means you don't have to spend so much on meals.

Staff really freindly too. Would really recommend this place ... and Hans Christian Anderson lived at no less than three houses in the street if you want to be part of history!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2009

The location could not have been better. We requested one of the 2nd floor rooms overlooking the Nyhavn harbor. The staff was very accomodating and helpful, the breakfast was excellent, the rooms clean and well decorated and the price was very reasonable. Best of all, the view and the ambiance was unparalleled.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

Constant Noise(Doors Banging, People Shouting, Traffic Outside, Teens playing football in corridors, children running around) between 7am - 11pm.

Dated rooms, musty smell and a twin room.

Breakfast Limited and not fresh.

Location ok but Copenhagen's compact and very easy to get around on foot so anywhere in city centre is a good location really!

At £105 a night it was certainly not value for money. Europe's most expensive Youth Hostel?

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Somandshjemmet Bethel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somandshjemmet Bethel

Address: Nyhavn 22, Copenhagen 1051, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#3 Best Value Hotel in Copenhagen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#26 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Somandshjemmet Bethel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel at the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Somandshjemmet Bethel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somandshjemmet Bethel Copenhagen
Somandshjemmet Bethel Hotel Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somandshjemmet Bethel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.