We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location,lovely staff, great value hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Somandshjemmet Bethel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Copenhagen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Somandshjemmet Bethel
Save Saved
You added Somandshjemmet Bethel to your Saves list
Nyhavn 22, Copenhagen 1051, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
kr.695 (DKK)
Ranked #5 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Sydney
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“excellent location,lovely staff, great value hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. Like other recent reviewers we can only agree this hotel is a great find in Copenhagen no matter what aspect you consider. The hotel is located very central to many of the city's most popular attractions including the Royal Palace, both Royal and Botanical Gardens, excellent vehicle free shopping boulevards and of course, sitting along side the highly popular and historic Nyhavn with its many restaurants, cafes and beautiful old buildings. If arriving by air, the modern metro train is a short trip into the central city followed by a comfortable 500 metre flat walk to the hotel. A very good part of this walk is a lovely stroll along the famous canal-a great introduction to the city, canal and hotel location.
Our room was quite big compared to many hotel rooms in Europe.Simple in presentation, very clean and with a lovely comfortable bed ensuring a good night's sleep,.Being on the higher floor, its also nice to stay in a small family style hotel that has lifts particularly so,with the suitcases n carry bags etc.
The breakfast is very good and a great starting point for the day's adventure. Also one of the very few hotels with all day coffee/tea facilities available in the breakfast room and you can also eat there if you decide to return to the hotel during the day. The hotel is just so accommodating in making your stay a happy memory with the Reception staff always welcoming and wanting to assist you in whatever way they could no mater what the enquiry.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    183
    53
    9
    3
See reviews for
101
214
44
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for one night pre-cruise. Incredible location for seeing the sites and for using public transportation. We took the metro in from the airport and the #26 bus to the cruise port. Dragging a wheeled suitcase, we made the walk to/from the bus/metro in about 10 - 15 minutes. The hotel is within walking distance of all major sites.

Our room was #221 and was facing Nyhavn canal with 2 large windows in the bedroom and one in the bathroom. We loved the view! Note the attached pictures from my room have not been edited or altered at all. The view is that stunning! Breakfast was good and enjoyed eating danish in Denmark. We will stay here next time we're in Copenhagen. Also, the free wifi was very fast.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the canal view rooms as it is nice to enjoy the view in the morning and evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, TN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Bethel for one night before a cruise. It was a great location to get anywhere in Copenhagen. Our room was the corner room with the balcony. The room was spotless and the views were great. We did hear some noise along the canal but that was all part of the ambiance. The staff was more than friendly and helpful. We were given excellent recommendations on places for dinner. We had a long wait for a cab to our ship and the front desk staff stayed on the phone continuously to be sure that the cab got there. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Stayed here a couple of nights pre-cruise and cannot praise the staff highly enough. A friend in another room had issues with her luggage going adrift between the US and CPH and the people on reception made many calls on her behalf to try and resolve this for her.

The hotel itself is right on Nyhavn with a lively restaurant area right across the street. There was little noise from there over night. My room was a single on the canal front. It was small and spotless. For the couple of nights I was there it was absolutely fine. There are stairs up to reception but they have access via a side door and lift.

Room Tip: No A/C so you'll need to keep your window open
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My family and I went to Copenhagen from the US for our daughter's wedding. Unfortunately, we couldn't stay at the Bethel the whole time we were in Copenhagen, as we had wished, since they were booked (book early). We had to stay at an airbnb for the 1st few nights. We loved our stay at the Bethel. The rooms were nice (just as the pictures show), the breakfast was delicious (so many choices) and the staff was very, very warm, friendly and helpful. When we arrived in Copenhagen we had trouble getting into our airbnb. The Bethel staff helped us make calls to the airbnb owner, offered us coffee and tea from their breakfast room, let us leave our luggage at the hotel so our 1st day wasn't wasted, and bent over backwards to help us all through our stay in Copenhagen. I give this hotel 10 stars out of 5. Wonderful, wonderful hotel !!! Thank you so much Bethel Hotel Staff for your kind hospitality and the wedding present for our daughter.
Sincerely,
Mother of the Bride

Room Tip: Don't worry about getting a room with a view. You will be so busy during the day seeing the sigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights with my daughter mid June. Easy to get to from the metro straight from the airport. Our room was ready early, which after a long flight was a welcome surprise. Hotel desk staff were friendly and helpful with directions and recommendations. Room was clean and we had a view of the Nyhavn canal. No air conditioning but we didn't need it. Breakfast was included in the rate and had pastries, fruit, cereals, cheeses and meats and breads. Hotel offered tea and coffee all day. Wifi worked great in our room and was free. Bus 66 is right outside the door and takes you to most of the tourist areas. Metro is a 5 minute walk away. The canal is a great place to people watch. We were there during the week, it might be really loud and wild on the weekends though. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms would be quieter but the canal view rooms were fun.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The rooms here are simple but comfortable, and although there are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room, they are available 24/7 in the restaurant. Breakfast is included and is very good with a large selection of cold meats cheeses, cereals, pastries etc. The location is ideal, right in the middle of Nyhavn, with a bus stop outside the door, and only a short walk to Kongens Nytorv. Considering the high prices in Copenhagen this is also very good value.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Somandshjemmet Bethel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somandshjemmet Bethel

Address: Nyhavn 22, Copenhagen 1051, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Copenhagen
#2 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel at the corner. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Somandshjemmet Bethel Copenhagen
Somandshjemmet Bethel Hotel Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somandshjemmet Bethel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.