We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent low budget hotel in a good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Somandshjemmet Bethel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Somandshjemmet Bethel to your Saves list
Somandshjemmet Bethel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nyhavn 22, Copenhagen 1051, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Decent low budget hotel in a good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

Hotel is in a great location for seeing all the Copenhagen sites. That the major plus here. It over looks the harbor which provides a nice atmosphere. It is on a semi busy street, so there is a lot of traffic noise. Not too bad at night, but one definately notices the traffic.

I was in a single room which had the basics of what you need - think of a dorm room. Twin bed - mattress was a bit on the soft side. Nice fluffy white coverlet. Has an old quilt timey throw for the bed - not my idea for cleanliness. There is a rack with 2 shelves on top to hang and store your clothes and a wooden trunk with carpet on top that acts as a bench seat near the door.

It has indoor /outdoor carpet in the room. Mine had a big stain in the middle of the room.

Bathroom is about 5x5 feet. It has the basics, but not much else. Not very good for applying makeup or shaving. It as a very low powered hairdryer. There is a small desk which is nice. There is free wireless internet.

Good heating controls for the winter. Hotel has a lift. They have free coffee and tea around the clock - which is nice. The breakfast was well maintained. They kept the meat, cheese, tomoatos, grapes, etc in a samll clear refridg. Liked the care they put into food safety. They had fresh baked breads - several types and boiled eggs. It was a nice basic breakfast offereing.

NO!!! sound insulation - you can hear EVERYTHING!

The pros - low cost. Have single rooms. Great location.
The cons - extremely basic. Noisy.

Not sure if I would stay here again. I would look for a little more amenities, especially if staying in the winter, when you may be in the room a little bit more than the summer.

If this is all your budget will permit, it is a decent place.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, but be prepared - it will most likely be noisy here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    209
    58
    9
    3
See reviews for
110
239
47
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

This is right in the heart of Nyhaven, the prettiest bit of the harbourside in Copenhagen but, because it is the other side of a little canal cul-de-sac (200 feet long?) it's very quiet. The back rooms overlook a little enclosed courtyard, the front the canal. Eitherway the location is faultless. The metro to the airport is a five minute walk, the Baresso coffee shop (FANTASTIC coffee and equally good hot chocolate) is 3 minutes away as is the Storegat, the big, cobbled pedestrianised heart of the old town, leading up to the Town Hall (as in 'The Killing', actually called the ?RedHuis), the statue of HCAnderson and the Tivoli Gardens (shut in preparation for being set up for Christmas). The hotel provides breakfast, cona coffee, rolls, meat, cheese, cereal, fruit etc which sets you up nicely for the day. The room was clean, warm, good shower, basic towels, toiletries....beds weren't brilliantly comfortable and pillows were inadequate, flatscreen TV lots of English channels. We would go again for the location if not the comfort. We'd rather spend the money on other stuff!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

This is probably the best value for location in downtown Copenhagen, but do not expect too much else. It is pretty bare bones, but nice staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happy Valley, Oregon
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We had a wonderful view of Nyhavn canal. The location is great, with an easy walk to Kongens Nytorv Metro station, plus a bus stop right outside the hotel that takes you to the central train station. Enjoyed the ample breakfasts. But the thing that really won us over was how friendly and helpful the staff were, even helping us in our Scandinavian roots search.

Room Tip: Nice to have a canal view, though other rooms we stayed in were fine, also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlinda, Tennessee
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

On my first visit to Copenhagen we stayed at this wonderful hotel. It is an old seaman place, where seamen could have a cheap room. But not any more. Now it is a vey good hotel with a very friendly staff, of course they speak English, German, Spanish etc too. The rooms are simple but in the good way. Everything works perfect like in the typical Danish good way and it you have a question, they will do everything to help you. You just can`t find a better location than this hotel, right in the middle of Copenhagen. The breakfst is good and there is lot`s of it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, CA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

The location is great, walking distance to the M2 subway line from the airport and a few blocks from anything you'd want to see in Copenhagen. There are lots of restaurants and bars within 500 feet of the hotel (across the canal), though they are a bit touristy.

The rooms are perfectly clean, spartan, simple and without personality, but have everything you need. Breakfast is quite generous with pastries, meats, eggs, cereal, yogurt, etc. I can't complain about the room or the price, but nothing really wowed me as far as the service or charm of the hotel (there is none).

Two tips:
1) Grab a free city bike from one of the several "storage rack" locations around the hotel and ride around the city. It was a great way to see everything since Copenhagen is more spread out than somewhere like Amsterdam. We rode up a coast a little, so lovely!

2) Eat next door at Nyhaven 14, full of locals and sooooo good - if you are lucky enough to get a table. Call ahead for sure!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We traveled to Denmark for a friends wedding but came back to Copenhagen and stayed at Hotel Bethel from September 4th-6th. I made the reservations online & via email to confirm(had a very friendly person who I communicated with BTW). Our room overlooked the canal and restaurants/pubs across the street(i.e. very nice view). And we were able to open our windows as it was pretty humid due to all the rain Denmark had been having. Even though we didn't chat too much with the staff, they seemed very friendly and helpful
Our breakfast consisted of a variety of cold cuts, cheese, breads, pastries, cereal, juice, coffee and tea. We were able to fill up and started our day wandering around Copenhagen with our friends.
In addition to the location of the hotel to the sites, it is also maybe a 9 minute walk to the metro stop which in turn took us 15 minutes to reach the airport when we checked out.

When we visit Copenhagen again, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Somandshjemmet Bethel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somandshjemmet Bethel

Address: Nyhavn 22, Copenhagen 1051, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Copenhagen
#3 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#5 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
#24 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Somandshjemmet Bethel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel at the corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Somandshjemmet Bethel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somandshjemmet Bethel Copenhagen
Somandshjemmet Bethel Hotel Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somandshjemmet Bethel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.