We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jorgensen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jorgensen to your Saves list
Hotel Jorgensen
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   RomersGade 11, Copenhagen 1362, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

my friend and i stayed at the dormitary which had 5 beds. it was fairly comfortable and we had a good night sleep. for the price that we paid, we cant complaint that we had to share washrooms. however, the washrooms were clean and equiped with toilet papers and hand towel (which was not the case in other hostels that we stayed at).

the breakfast was awesome, cereal, cold cuts, cheese, fresh bread yummo.... it was totally worth every penny we paid.

the staffs were nice as well. they all spoke good English and were very friendly.

I will definately recommend people who travel low budget.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    20
    35
    18
    16
See reviews for
2
13
27
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2008

Granted it is a budget/hostel place, but since we booked a double room with private bathroom we expected better quality service and stay.
The room was old, the pillows were old and not to mention the blood stains I found on my bedsheets.DISGUSTING !! Purposely I left the sheets turned towards the door so the stains could be noticed right away by the cleaning staff therefore they would be changed for clean and new ones. Upon returning to the hotel the bed was indeed made HOWEVER TO MY SURPRISE AND HORROR the SAME sheets were being used but now the stained side was turned towards the mattress. Can you believe that !!!????????
The bathroom was very small an had glass doors.... no privacy and the towels were old and rough as well. Awfull !!
At 750 DKK a night......this place is NOT worth it !!!!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW York, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

Stayed at this place during the end of July and beginning of August of 2008. The website appeared decent however upon arrival the hostel is dirty, bed linens were unclean, pillows were beaten down to nothing, blankets were full of hair, wall/ceiling paint were peeling off. The room was suffocating hot. Showers/toilets smelled of pee and the toilet room had water everywhere. The free breakfast that came with the room was unsatisfying- they served the cheapest bread, yogurt, cereal and orange juice. Security at this place was next to nothing. They allowed random local delinquents to frequent the toilet room and they lingered around the front desk chit chatting with the drunken men that manned the front desk. They gave us a code to get access to our room area however this is point less since local delinquents can just walk right on in from the front desk area and down the stairs will lead to the room area. In addition, the norreport station area is completely an unsafe area to stay due to the high level of drunks and delinquent teens who are high on some kind of drug.This is especially true for us females. I do not recommend this hostel to anyone. We were supposed to stay 4 nights however we left after the second night due to the corrupt atmosphere and and violence in the hostel. We were assaulted and the person who manned the front desk didnt do anything to help us and just let the delinquents linger as they please. SO all in all this is a horrible place to stay.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — i detest everything about this accommodation
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2008

I stayed with a group of 23 students in this hotel (although hostel seems more appropriate) for a week while on fieldtrip in Copenhagen. We occupied a few dorms in the basement of the building. On the other floors there are single and double rooms to be found. I shared my room with 4 of my mates. The room was very, very small, if not too small (it looked a bit like a prison, especially with the small window on street level). The bunk beds, quilts and pillows were old and a bit sloppy. There was only one socket which isn't very convenient. I liked the fact that the room itself was rather clean. The building looks like a labyrinth with even two levels in the basement (the 'hostel area'), lots of small corridors, corners, stairways etc. The toilets and showers were quite clean as well but you don't have much privacy in the shower as it looks a bit like a football cubicle, where only a curtain separates you from your neighbour. Breakfast is included which is great! As Denmark is quite expensive it's very nice to have your breakfast at the hostel before leaving. Breakfast was plain but certainly good enough (bread, yoghurt, orange juice, coffee, tea, cereals etc.). The staff seemed suited for the job although they were not very friendly or approachable. However: they weren't around often and we didn't experienced any trouble. There were to nice common rooms with machines to purchase coffee and soda, and there were some couches and a television. Just like the rooms, the furniture was rather smutty and old. Quite remarkable: there is no internet available in the hostel. Greatest advantage of this hostel is its perfect location on walking distance from the city centre, the metro and trainstation and Norreport. As a group we managed to get a nice discount, so if you go with a group too: it's always worth a try. All in all it was a rather nice hostel, mainly because of its location, the included breakfast and the discount we had. But certainly don't expect hotel standards!

  • Liked — breakfast included, discount for groups, location
  • Disliked — size of the rooms, sloppy furniture
  • Stayed April 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2007

I read up on this place and several others before booking, so I wasn't expecting much. I ended up booking here because of the location and family room, which made it cheaper per person than any other available Copenhagen property (even the hostels). Upon entering the property I was surprised by the clean and modern reception/breakfast area. All the various staff members were very friendly and spoke fine English (although I chose to use Danish as much as possible!).

I was travelling with 3 other people so we booked a "family room". We ended up with a room that had 5 bunk beds, a generous mini-fridge, and a small sink. The bunk beds were deceptively comfortable, although on the 3-bed set you couldn't sit up all the way because of the low clearance. The little sink came in handy for brushing your teeth & washing hands. The toilets (also with sinks), and showers, were just down the hallway, and although they were shared with other guests in our wing, we never had to wait long to use them. The staff were constantly cleaning which was an added plus.

The layout of the hotel was a bit quirky. From reception we had to go up a few steps, down the hall, down a few steps, out a door into an enclosed breezeway (thought we were leaving the building at first!) and through another door before we reached our wing. Our room was painted an egg yolk yellow, which mimicked the exterior of the building as seen through our window. We didn't discover until the end of out trip that there were hallways and staircases nearby to bring us to the communal breakfast area - instead, we kept trekking back to the reception area and then down the other staircase! You'd understand if you saw the layout. Like I said, quirky!

Breakfast was nice. It was typical of Scandinavia: yogurt, rye and white breads, marmalades, slices of meats and cheeses, fresh fruits & veggies, juice, coffee, and tea. There are actually two breakfast areas. The first one - for single and double rooms - is right near reception. The second - for family rooms, hostel guests and travel groups - is just down the stairs in the room that doubles as the recreational area. After breakfast, that area offers a pool table, foosball table, and a separate area with a large screen TV. Plus there are some board games nearby that you can borrow.

The location could not be beat! Just a couple blocks from the Norreport train station and Rosenborg palace, and walking distance from EVERYTHING! The only time we didn't walk somewhere was to/from the airport. There is also a supermarket and laundromat around the corner, and a quickie mart/beer store right across the street. On weekdays, it was common to see school children playing soccer at the nearby park (Israelplads). We had no problems walking around at night - even very late - although you may encounter some drunk college students because of its proximity to the University and the lively night life. One night we were treated to some karaoke singing that echoed from a nearby apartment window!

I do not recommend this place for anybody who has difficulty going up/down stairs, as they are inevitable here (even the main entrance has stairs). But for the price, it's great. Don't expect much, and you won't be disappointed!

And by the way, when planning for a trip to Copenhagen or many other European cities, keep in mind that cobblestone sidewalks are very popular and unforgiving on high heels and luggage wheels!

  • Liked — Great staff, filling breakfasts, excellent location
  • Disliked — Lots of stairs, not much storage space for 4 adults' suitcases
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2006

Nice place. Good stuff on the tube. Surrounded by supermarkets and 7-11s. Near lively student quarter. Can walk to EVERYTHING. Convenient Norgate rail stop is nearby for trips out of town. Helpful front desk staff had fun bar/ disco scene going on at night. Visit Rosenborg's perverted palace nearby. Nice breakfast, good digestive crackers and coffee. Cute, quiet courtyard allows you to peep into windows.

  • Liked — Location!
  • Disliked — no light in room.
  • Tips/Secrets — all 3 supermarket chains are on your block!
  • Stayed October 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2006

We have just returned from the Hotel Jorgensen where we spent a Friday – Sunday w/end break.

The hotel is conveniently located a few minutes walk away from Norreport Train Station which is very easy to reach from the airport. We found the area entirely safe, as was the rest of Copenhagen.

We had a private room with a small en-suite bathroom.

Reception was 24 hours.

The room would have benefited from a spring-clean and a fresh coat of paint, but the beds were comfy and had cable TV. Bathroom was spotless.

Breakfast was buffet style with various cereals, fruits, breads, various cheeses and breads, certainly enough to keep you going till early afternoon.

This well positioned hotel could do with a little upgrading with its in-room furnishings, but price-wise, by Danish standards, its good value for the location.

All of the main sights for a first time visitor were well within walking distance.

All in all, not a bad spot.

Stayed December 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jorgensen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jorgensen

Address: RomersGade 11, Copenhagen 1362, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Jorgensen 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Jorgensen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jorgensen Hotel Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jorgensen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.