We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ansgar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ansgar to your Saves list
Hotel Ansgar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Colbjornsensgade 29, Copenhagen 1652, Denmark (Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Auckland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We'd heard how expensive Copenhagen was. Booked this hotel through easyJet and were more than happy with the result. The first stopover, prior to a Baltic cruise, we were given a large double room. The decor was modern, room very clean, shower great and the continental breakfast in the morning superb. Plenty of variety, continually being refreshed, and taxi service to the cruise terminal a breeze. Stayed there again on our return and this time found the hotel was actually very close to the downtown shops, plenty of eating places available close by and accommodation yet again very satisfactory. Loved the fact that we arrived well before check-in time, were invited to sit outside in the patio, (it was a beautiful day), provided with free coffee and then the receptionist came to tell us we could get into our room early. That is always appreciated by travellers. I don't think you will be disappointed with this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    210
    112
    44
    19
See reviews for
94
125
44
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed four nights at Hotel Ansgar and thought is was really good for a relatively cheap hotel. All of the staff we spoke to were very helpful and really friendly. The breakfasts were really very good with a wide choice, but no kettle/drinks in the room which was a bit of a disappointment, but hot drinks and beers from reception were fairly cheap. Aparently this is common in budget Danish hotels. The hotel is very close to the main train station which is in a fairly rough part of the city, but is very convenient for the main city attractions. There was a bit of noise during our stay from some major engineering works in the streets nearby, but this was no fault of the hotel. The bathrooms was small but room maintenance was excellent each day.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of the hotel overlook a quiet courtyard rather than the street where constructions wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed 2 nights here in september, one room for the three of us.

Location was good, close to Copenhagen Central and Tivoli;
Rooms were clean but very (I repeat very) small;
Breakfast was allright, when we were there the hotel was fully booked so the breakfast area was overcrowded, but there were enough choices.

Overall a good choice if you're looking for a central location to stay but certainly no luxury here.

Room Tip: Be aware that rooms on the top floor can be very hot in summer
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Wec stayed 2 nights. We have stayed in many Copenhagen hotels, but decided to try this one for a change.
Our room was tiny - couldn't move round the bed if someone sitting at the desk. The bathroom was so small it was impossible to use the loo without the shower doors hitting you. The whole bathroom was about 5 foot sqare. Luckily we are small, as the shower was a tight squeeze.
Our room was also adjacent to the lift, and the noise of the motor was a nuisance all night long.
I agree with the previous reviewer - the lift arrangement is odd, with guests having to carry luggage half a floor up or down.
Good points - breakfast (although crowded) and the friendly staff.
The location was good for the station, and when the road works were operational it was possible to walk the direct route. The area is a bit downmarket, but we have stayed at several different hotels nearby and have never had any problems at all.
Since returning I have checked the website photos, and most of the rooms seem twice as large as ours (Room 101) so perhaps we were unlucky, or perhaps the photos are very selective.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room to ensure it is not as tiny as ours
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We chose this hotel for three reasons: 1) it allowed us to stay as a group of 4 in on room 2) competitive prices and 3) very conveniently located near the main train station (direct link to airport). However, it turned out to be a really bad choice. The Friday night we arrived we were kept up until 4:30 am by extremely loud music (night club? party?), as well as the drunken shrieks of late night revelers. The second night, as we were falling asleep at about 23:30...fireworks (and more shrieking). This lasted for about an hour.

They advertise breakfast as 7-11, which was another key consideration for us as we were catching a morning plane out of Copenhagen. Alas, by 7:45am the breakfast still hadn't been laid out in full so we left hungry, disappointed and sleep-deprived.

We didn't expect 5-star luxury for the prices we paid but we did expect better. Try a different option is my advice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband, sister, and I spent three nights here. The staff was extremely nice and helped us out by recommending things to do and see. They told us our room fits three people and gave us our keys. The room was very clean. However, there was no way that room was designed for three people to stay in. We were on top of each other the entire time; we had to figure out how to fit three normal sized suitcases in the room on top of the three of us; We had two beds, which is fine, but there was only a foot of space between the bed my sister was in and the bed my husband and I were in. That was a little uncomfortable. Plus, the room was pretty expensive for the size room we had. But, I'm not going to complain about the price because everything in Copenhagen was very expensive, and Hotel Ansgar was definitely the best deal we found in the city. Just don't get one room for three people!

The location was fantastic! We were right next to the train station, which worked out real well for us because we flew there and the the trains run back and forth between the city and the airport every twenty minutes. Also, most of the major sights are within walking distance (that is, if you like to walk), especially the museums. The clubs and Nyhvn are kind of a long walk, though.

Finally, the breakfast. I enjoyed the breakfast, and found something to eat everyday that we were there. However, my sister had an extremely hard time because she cannot eat gluten. So, all she ever could eat there was the meat and cheese. So, heads-up to anyone that has issues with gluten.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, only put two people in a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

There are good things and not so great things about the hotel.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast very good and the courtyard lovely. We chose this hotel for location; close to the train station and Tivoli Garden.

The rooms are VERY small and the walls not so sound proof. If your room is in the front of the hotel you run the risk of noise from the college across the street at night.

Now the lifts are set up so strange we ended up laughing because they stop either four stairs up or down - like a mezzanine on each floor... Therefore you have to either carry your luggage up or down stairs to board the lift.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the street side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ansgar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ansgar

Address: Colbjornsensgade 29, Copenhagen 1652, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ansgar 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ansgar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ansgar Hotel Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ansgar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.