We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ansgar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ansgar to your Saves list
Hotel Ansgar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Colbjornsensgade 29, Copenhagen 1652, Denmark (Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Marietta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

I spent two nights at this hotel prior to a Princess Cruise. My room was small but clean and everything worked. The single bed was very comfortable considering it was only a single bed. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The elevator worked well and having free internet access was a bonus. I thought the location was great being a short walk from the train station. Forty years prior when I last visited Copenhagen, this area was the heart of the red light district. What is left of it is next to nothing so I felt this area is totally safe. I thought it had more color forty years ago, but then again I am a man. The most wonderful thing about this hotel is the breakfast. A very good selection of pastries, meats, cheeses, yogurt, cereals, coffee, etc. I thought this was one of the best breakfast spreads I have seen for a small, moderately priced hotel. Once you have seen what food prices in Copenhagen are like, eating a full breakfast such as the one served at the Ansgar can save you quite a bit of money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    172
    99
    44
    19
See reviews for
88
105
37
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

The hotel is close to Central Station (3 blocks) Clean rooms, good selection of food for breakfast. Our bed was not great, but okay. Good shower, helpful staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

I love the location of this hotel. Very close walk to downtown, easy to get to the rail station (and thus the airport.)
Our room was tiny but clean. The bed was only so-so, but not bad. After our long journey and the jet lag that ensued, we were happy just to have a place to sleep. The staff was helpful in helping us find good places around the city to visit and eat. Overall, it was a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Stayed here one night on business - we normally stay further out nearer the airport so it was nice to be downtown. Easy walk from the rail station, and the area not too dubious. Hotel is clean and backs onto a large courtyard shared by all the neighbour buildings so you can see people sitting on their balconies in the evenings, and it is very quiet (I understand the front rooms are not so quiet). Basic small room with everything you need and free internet access -always a major plus. Breakfast is fine, decent choice. Walking distance to downtown areas, but also some nice places just round the corner, try the Aperitivo bar and trattoria. Would stay here for a budget weekend away to make the most of Copenhagen, but not this year - seems to be all up in road works at present!

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back that opens onto the courtyard. And stay quiet, everyone can hear you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

I stayed at the Ansgar on a business trip. The hotel is well placed for the train station and the city centre. The rooms are a bit on the small side , but clean and modern.

Breakfast was good with plenty choice of cheese, cold meats, eggs and bread.

Staff on reception were generally very helpful with the exception of one male receptionist who was most unhelpful at check in...there is always one.

On balance a good hotel at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

This was the cheapest place I could find within walking distance of the centre of the city for a family of 5.
Hotels in Copenhagen seem very expensive but this was good value and included a delicious breakfast.....a selection of cereals, fruits, cold meats and cheeses,bread, coffee and teas etc
We did all share one room which was small and had a tiny bathroom with a shower curtain that wasn't much use. We arrived from the airport via train and were able to walk to the hotel from Kobenhavn H central station in only about 5 minutes.

Room Tip: Not near the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

I stayed in this hotel in December 2011 for a few nights and made a very pleasant experience!
Initially we were supposed to be 3 people to go there but one of us had to cancel last minute. The staff at the hotel was extremely friendly and helpful and arranged for us to get a two-bed room instead of the tree-bed room immediately.
The rooms were very clean, but very tiny, which I think does not matter for a short city trip where you only use your hotel room to sleep. The walls were extremely thin so you could hear everything your neighbours were discussing, but these few disadvantages did not bother us too much, as the location was simply perfect-> Right next to the central trainstation.
At first we were sceptical about that location because train stations are usually known as rather creepy and dangerous but we always felt safe in Copenhagen and even during the night there was nothing that bothered us!
The breakfest at the hotel was great and we also got a lot of information about different sights, tours etc.

So all in all it was a great stay and I would definitely stay there again any time!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ansgar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ansgar

Address: Colbjornsensgade 29, Copenhagen 1652, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ansgar 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Ansgar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ansgar Hotel Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ansgar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.