We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sct. Thomas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sct. Thomas to your Saves list
Hotel Sct. Thomas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Frederiksberg Alle 7, Copenhagen 1621, Denmark   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We have just returned from a great long weekend in Copenhagen. The hotel is in a quiet, convenient location about 10 to 15 mins. walk from Central Station and Tivoli. Most things we did entailed walking beyond the Station so we did a LOT of walking! The hotel is very clean, friendly staff, a good breakfast and so very good value for money. It was very hot at the time of our visit and our only negative was that there was no air con in the room. The rooms and bathroom are small but the shower was good and we never spend a lot of time in our room so no complaint. We would definitely recommend and use this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Sct Thoma... H, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Sct. Thomas, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear SueU7250TJ,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to review the hotel.
We are happy you enjoyed your time with us.
Yes, we have had some very hot days in Copenhagen this summer, which has been lovely - we are not complaining ;) However; summers in Denmark are usually "manageable hot", so an air conditioning is generally not of use in our little country.

We hope to see you back at the hotel one day and enjoy the rest of your summer!

Warm regards
The Team at Hotel Sct Thomas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    105
    46
    9
    1
See reviews for
37
72
22
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Mesa, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This is a basic hotel, however, the rooms are clean, the staff is nice, and the breakfast is plentiful. Copenhagen is ridiculously expensive and this hotel has a great price for the area. We were in room 306 and it was a good size room with a nice courtyard view. There was road construction out front, however, we couldn't hear it in our room. Seven of our other family members stayed in the 3 bedroom suite, #1 and it was very nice.

The suite was very spacious and has one bedroom that was separate from the other ones. If you are traveling with a few people I highly recommend getting one of the two suites. They are huge by Copenhagen room standards.

The location is pretty good, the bus to the city center was quite short, however, it was $5 one way, I would recommend getting some kind of a bus pass or Copenhagen card if staying for very long.

We also walked the other direction to the Frederiksberg park and spent a relaxing day at the park. There are plenty of nearby restaurants and markets.

Overall, a great choice for the price.

Room Tip: Get a superior double facing the courtyard for a good nights sleep with some space, or one of the su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel Sct Thoma... H, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Sct. Thomas, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Hi.

Thanks for your kind review.

We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasent stay here at Hotel Sct. Thomas.

If you ever come back overseas to Copenhagen we hope to see you here again.

Kind regards
Hotel Sct. Thomas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

This is definitely a no frills, budget hotel - notwithstanding the price. Everything costs more in Denmark.

We booked a superior double. This was a decent size, except for the bathroom which was no more than 2 sq metres in total! This was like going to the bathroom in a cupboard. The next morning we awoke to horrendous road works (obviously not the hotel's fault). We asked to move and were offered a better room at the rear of the hotel, with a slightly larger bathroom. This was fine.

On the plus side, the breakfast was excellent, the staff were friendly and helpful, and there are two computers in the lobby for free use by guests (one was not working when we were there). The hotel is on an upmarket street close to restaurants and bars, and about a 10 minute walk to the Tivoli and surrounding attractions.

Room Tip: We had room 316 which was at the back, away from traffic and with plenty of light. Check the size o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed 3 nights in June 2014, in a double room.

Good location - easy access to city center with bus 26 (bus stop next to hotel).
Relatively quiet room, even with the windows facing the main street.
Loved the breakfast, great bread selection.
Clean.
Helpful staff.

Not too much storage space so don't expect to unpack your whole suitcase.
No minibar.
No shower cabin, just a shower curtain so expect most of the bathroom floor to get wet.

Overall, a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights. After reading the reviews about the size of the single rooms, I sprung for a double room. I arrived at the hotel late afternoon and as I was on my way the receptionist called before I arrived to alert me to the fact that the reception was not open in the evenings. That was nice of them.

I was told on arrival that my room was upgraded from a double to a double deluxe at no extra charge. Not sure what made the room double deluxe - perhaps it was the questionable extra bed-like furniture in the room (questionable because of the abundance of stains - see pic). The room size was ok - but the room was stifling hot (in May! in Copenhagen!). Without open windows it was impossible - even at night to be in the room. Aside from the constant sirens at night, I found it quiet.

The bathrooms are like all other bathrooms described here. The door breathes past the sink and you need to close the door again to get to the toilet. There was that awful sewage smell here too - I think coming from the shower drainpipe. The bathroom itself was not very clean - there were still remnants from the previous room occupants!!

Breakfast was ok. There are many reviews here ramping up how great breakfast was but I found it just average. There were no hot choices, so if you're used to a cooked breakfast go elsewhere. The trick I found was to hit breakfast before 8 am. After 8 it was too crowded.

The hotel is located about 25/30 minutes walking from Fredericksberg metro stop and about the same distance to Cph Central Station. I wouldn't necessarily consider either of these 'easy' walking distance but it's doable. There are many nice bars and cafes close by so this is great for meals/drinks etc.

All in all, not an unpleasant stay.

Room Tip: My room was facing an inside courtyard (and I use the term loosely here), so it was ok to have the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide SA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The hotel was clean and comfortable. Our room was larger than usual for a European hotel, with a good bed and pleasant decor. The bathroom was very small but with an efficient shower. The breakfast was excellent, lots of choice, cereal, yoghurt, fresh fruit, breads, cold meats, cheeses and boiled eggs. It is in good location being within 10 to 15 minutes walking distance from the main train station and with lots of restaurants, and cafés nearby and even a supermarket. Perfect if you are not bothered by a lack of toiletries or even water in the room

Room Tip: No 5 ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We enjoyed staying at this hotel and have no complaints about it at all. It was in a really convenient location, within easy walking distance of the central station, but also on a bus route. The room was spacious and clean, with a really comfortable bed. The shower room was fine (walk in shower). Both rooms were serviced daily. There is a lift to all floors for those who can't manage the stairs. Breakfasts, taken in a basement room, were good, with a wide choice of food: fresh fruit, cereals, yoghurt, cold meats, boiled eggs, cheeses, olives, tomatoes, various kinds of bread, jams, fruit juice, teas, coffee. The staff polite and helpful. We would definitely stay here again, and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Our room. on the third floor and at the front of the hotel, had big opening windows looking out on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sct. Thomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sct. Thomas

Address: Frederiksberg Alle 7, Copenhagen 1621, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sct. Thomas 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cozy Hotel Sct. Thomas is in the perfect location to see the best of Copenhagen, whether it's your first visit or your hundredth. Close to the city center, the hotel is located in the heart of the Theatre District, right on Frederiksberg Alle. This is one of the oldest and most idyllic parts of the city. From the hotel, it's quick and easy to get to the famous Tivoli Gardens, as well as many great Danish restaurants, shops and other landmarks. The central station is also nearby, so you can visit the rest of the city and points beyond. In the hotel you can enjoy both Danish and international channels on the TV or use the wireless Internet access. There's a small desk on which to do work, and the beds are comfy and new. Business travelers can book meeting rooms as well. The hotel is 100% non smoking. We look forward to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Venere, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sct. Thomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sct. Thomas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.