We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Savoy Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Savoy Hotel to your Saves list
Savoy Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   VesterbroGade 34, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark (Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Wales, Uk
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Friendly and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The rooms are comfortable and the staff friendly and full of excellent local information. The beds are a bit hard but the rooms are fine - at least the one we stayed in was. It was a hot week and we stayed on the ground floor so it was quite warm most nights as they don't have air con - I can't imagine this is a problem most of the year! But they provided a separate sheet in addition to the quilts when we asked and this solved the problem. The breakfast buffet was really good with generous hours. My only gripe was the building work going on next door which started up very early one morning (6.30) and woke me up - it was very loud and sounded like someone hammering on the adjoining wall. This didn't happen every day but those sensitive to noise should beware especially while it stays hot so all the windows are open. Our room backed right onto the alley through which the builders trundled their kit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianOxlund, Ejer at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear LJ1,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Savoy Hotel.

I am sorry for the noise coming from our neighbour, but am very happy to say that they have finished the construction work.

I hope I am able to welcome you back again in the future,

Kind regards,

Christian Oxlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    202
    69
    13
    3
See reviews for
50
171
33
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This was the perfect hotel for a city break. Walking distance from the station so easy for transfer from the airport and easy to get everywhere. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, as it was the Copenhagen jazz festival, we had a live jazz band playing on 2 mornings at breakfast, perfect! We hired bikes from the hotel as Copenhagen is made for cycling. The room was quite small, but for a break when you aren't in your room much, only to sleep this didn't matter, it was clean and comfortable which is what matters. We weren't leaving until 2pm and were able to keep our room til then on our day of departures. The meat packing district close to the hotel is fantastic for drinks and food.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianOxlund, Ejer at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear jbb24,

Thank you very much for your review about Savoy Hotel.

I hope that we will be able to welcome you in Copenhagen in near future.

Kind regards,

Christian Oxlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed three nights in early June 2014.

The hotel is conveniently located within a 5-7 minute walk from the train station. We are keen walkers, so for us, most major tourist attractions are within walking distance from the hotel.

Staff were particularly friendly and helpful. Check-in/out was quick and easy.

Our "medium" room was basic and clean with a bath/shower and was a reasonable size for Europe. There was a small flat screen TV, an in-room safe and free WiFi. The rooms do not have air con which might be an issue on warm summer days.

Breakfast was a typical European style continental breakfast and was very good.

The building next door is being renovated and work commences by 7am every day (including weekends and holidays when we visited).

Room rates are reasonable compared with other Copenhagen hotels.

Overall, a good stay and would certainly consider staying here again. Recommended based upon competitive room rates and convenient location.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianOxlund, Ejer at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear PycTravellingMan,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about Savoy Hotel.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay, and I do look forward to welcome you back again in Copenhagen.

The renovation project next door has finished by now, so we are back to normal with a very quiet hotel courtyard.

Kind regards,

Christian Oxlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I stayed here with a friend and could not have had a better experience. The rooms were clean and comfortable, along with the rest of the hotel. The front desk staff helped us with everything we needed -- including great tips on where to eat in Copenhagen and going above and beyond by helping me track down a phone I left in a taxi. I highly recommend staying here, and plan to return the next time I come through Copenhagen.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianOxlund, Ejer at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Luke W,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

I am glad you enjoyed the stay, and that we were able to track down your cell phone!

I hope to see you again, should your travel plans go by Copenhagen again.

Kind regards,

Christian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyomissing, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Fantastic location for restaurants and bars. We ate at Fiskebaren, Madklubben, Tivoli, and Dyrehaven. Cocktails at Lidkoeb. Soccer games at the Social. Beers at Mikkeller. All are within 5 minutes walk! Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms are tiny so just be ready for that.

Room Tip: Courtyard side can be a little on the noisy side with construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianOxlund, Ejer at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear KrowTrack,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Savoy Hotel, and also for mentioning the central location close to the bars, Mikkeller etc.

I am glad you had a good stay, even though the bathrooms are on the small side.

We look forward to welcome you in the future.

Kind regards,

Christian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed here in mid June with my husband for 2 days before a baltic cruise. The location is great as it is near to the Central station, also many restaurants & shopping in the vicinity. We arrived late in the evening after a long flight, the manager was helpful & the checkinn procedure was quick & smooth. The rooms are a bit small but for the price you pay worth it. The bathrooms are clean with all accessories.The front office staff is very helpful & courteous. The breakfast is a real delight with freshly baked breads & delicious danish pastries, varieties of cheese, coldcuts, fresh fruits etc. Overall a lovely experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianOxlund, Ejer at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Anuradha18,

Thank you for taking the timne to write a review about Savoy Hotel.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and the location close to the train station, shopping etc.

I look forward to welcome you back to Copenhagen again in the future.

Kind regards,

Christian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We selected this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews, and we were VERY happy with the choice. The hotel is an older building which is in excellent condition, meaning you have elegant modern decor with the warmth that only older buildings seem to give, with timber floorboards in the lobby area and a lovely internal staircase. One side of the building looks out over what is technically an alley but looks more like a narrow courtyard. The rooms are small (as you'd expect), but clean, comfortable, and nicely decorated. The bed was the most comfortable that we experienced through our Denmark trip! The breakfast was wonderful, with a great selection of fresh food including organic dairy products and some wonderful fresh leaf tea. The location is simply excellent - the hotel is easy walking distance to everything you'd need, and many of the sites to see in Copenhagen.

I must also give a huge thanks to the wonderful staff - as soon as we walked into the lobby we felt welcome! We arrived at 7am after over 24 hours of travelling, and they took fantastic care of us. Once we'd recovered enough to start exploring, they gave us some wonderful recommendations of what to see nearby - one place we visited were surprised that we'd found them on our first day, and that was all down to the recommendations from the front desk.

Simply an excellent hotel, and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms have an angled roof, but look out across the rooftops - very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianOxlund, Ejer at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear LellenAndCrew,

Thank you for your review.

And thank you for the comments about the staff, they are a great asset to the hotel and our guests.

I hope to see you in Copenhagen again,

Kind regards,

Christian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel

Address: VesterbroGade 34, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Savoy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-story Hotel situated in central shopping district near Tivoli Gardens & train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savoy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.