We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Savoy Hotel

Save Saved
You added Savoy Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Savoy Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   VesterbroGade 34, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark (Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 117 hotels in Copenhagen
Netherlands
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great staff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The Savoy Hotel is an easy 10 minutes walk from the Central Station and you can easily reach the City Centre with the city hall and the palaces by foot. The staff at the front desk is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are rather small, so are the beds and the bathroom is tiny with a sink so small that you will be splashing water all over the place except in the sink itself. That actually is the only drawback. The breakfast was included in our rate and it's all right with different kind of breads, Danish of course, cooked eggs, cheese and ham, jam and yoghurt. Hotels in Copenhagen are expensive, it's Scandinavia after all and we found a reasonable price after a long search for Copenhagen standards (DKK 1200, $207, € 160). We really liked the possibility to rent bicycles for DKK 120 ($20, €16) for a whole day. It's a great city for cycling and you just get to see so much more. The bicycles are in good shape and it's just handy to pick them up right at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianOxlund, Owner at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Bas_8,

Thank you for your review.

I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed our new bicycles, which is a great way to get around in the city.

We hope to see you again in Copenhagen.

Christian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    176
    57
    12
    3
See reviews for
43
149
24
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at the Savoy Hotel for about 5 days in mid-May. I am doing my best to rate the hotel itself and not our overall experience in Copenhagen...the hotel was quite good...we just didn't feel Copenhagen ranked very well in comparison to our other stops on our trip (Amsterdam, Utrecht, Bruges). The hotel is a short walk from Central Station and in an area of town that doesn't feel very shady...so we never really had any concerns about safety...even when we checked out and had to walk down to Central Station at 4am on a Saturday morning! Our room was well appointed but we did have some concerns that I will spell out below. Service was, however, fantastic. One of the gentlemen in particular was very helpful with directions, suggestions for restaurants, etc. The breakfast was just "ok" with the selection being a bit underwhelming. It is a cold, continental breakfast so don't go expecting any eggs, bacon, or a toaster. We found the hotel, being in Vesterbro, was a bit of a distance from the sights we wanted to take in. There isn't really much to see in Vesterbro itself (think any major city...a mish mash of shops, a few decent restaurants, wide avenues) so when we would walk towards the centre of Copenhagen and then to the sights we wanted to take in, it was a good 15-20 minute walk either way. We could have taken transit I suppose, but it felt silly to do so since everyone in Copenhagen seems to walk or bike everywhere!

Pros:
- Close to Central Station and reasonably close to the city centre and main tourist sights.
- Room was well appointed and clean.
- Wi-fi and TV were in working order.
- Very helpful service at the reception desk with lots of info pamphlets, maps, etc.

Cons:
- Not really the hotel's fault, but our room looked out onto a narrow alley and the building across from us was completely gutted and under construction. The banging and construction workers blaring their radio started every morning at 7am sharp.
- Breakfast selection was just "ok".
- The bathroom is really awkward. The shower is part of the bathroom itself, so no matter how we moved the shower curtain up or down, the floor of the entire bathroom would be soaked each time we used it. The hotel would be wise to purchase some longer shower curtains to make the use of the bathroom after a shower more practical.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianOxlund, Owner at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear KWTraveller1980,

Thank you for taking time to write a review.

We are proud for that you enjoyed the well appointed rooms, as we renovated them just last year.
The bathrooms is small, but since this is an old building, it is not possible for us to make them bigger.

We hope to be able to welcome you again in Copenhagen i near future.

Christian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Visited for 2 nights in April, Room was fairly compact but as a base just for showering and sleeping it was fine. Good TV and a lovely bottle of complimentary red wine. Bathroom quite small but fine for a good shower, Breakfast was basic but a good choice of staples. Reception staff are the real asset of this hotel - couldn't have been more helpfull Nice and central for all the sights and the station.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianOxlund, Owner at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear TGG1,

Thank you very much for your response.

We are very happy about our staff, and we work hard to keep them "inhouse" for as long as possible.

Hope to be able to welcome you again in Copenhagen.

Christian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

A warm welcome to this hotel would have made up for the small, but nicely appointed, rooms. Unfortunately, this was not our experience. The receptionist was miserable and largely unhelpful. She made no effort to provide a city map or make any suggestions on things to see. No big drama as I had done my research and had visited CPH before, but would still have added a nice touch. The luggage room is clearly far too small for the size of the hotel/ number of guests wishing to use the facility. This meant that the two times we had to use the luggage room (our hotel room was not available on check-in) there was a lot of heffing and shifting of other people's bags as well as our own. The building site next door meant a stay in bed beyond 8.00am was difficult. Breakfast is only served until 10am and was nothing to write home about. In my view, the hotel is over priced but, as other reviews highlight, CPH is an expensive city and for a place to sleep for one night the hotel is just about adequate, although I would not return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianOxlund, Owner at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Mr Deacon,

Thank you for taking time to write a review about Savoy Hotel.

I do not think that you are being fair to the hotel, nor to the receptionist, who has been with us for 7 years now. It is correct that we did not have city maps available at the reception desk, because we ran out for a couple of days. We received a lot of maps just yesterday, so they will be ready for your next stay.
However we have a large stand, 1 mtr from the reception, where you can find all the information you need, including maps of Copenhagen. Not all our guests are interested in a "sales talk" from the receptionist but like to find a way of their own. If you had asked Vilma at the reception desk, she would happily have told you a lot about Copenhagen, including the spots that tourists have trouble finding!

My apologies for the noise from our neighbour, but we do not have much to say in that case. However they are not starting to work as early as they are allowed to, in respect of us.

Breakfast is served between 7 am and 10 am, and we have done that for many years now. All bread are freshly baked every morning, and the cold meat and vegetables are freshly sliced during the morning service.

The luggage room is available for our guests to use free of charge, and some times it is full I will agree with you on that. We guarantee that your room is ready at 14.00, but we try our best to have it ready as soon as possible, for your convienence.

Even though you do not wish to return, I do hope that I will be able to welcome you again in Copenhagen. And hopefully be able to change your mind about Savoy Hotel.

Kind regards,

Christian Oxlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Had a great stay at this hotel, good location, rooms are a bit on the smallish side but very nice and very clean, beds comfortable. Breakfast was excellent plenty to choose from. Lots of shops and restaurants in walking distance. Must say the man on the front desk is most helpful, welcoming and friendly as is all the reception staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianOxlund, Owner at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Joey,

Thank you for your review.

I am glad that you enjoyed the stay, and for your comments on the man in the reception.

Even though you are from the other side of the world, I hope to be able to welcome you again in Copenhagen.

Kind regards,

Christian Oxlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Had a great weekend in Copenhagen and this hotel was fantastic. About a 5 minute walk from Central Station so we could get the train direct from the airport then walk to the hotel, which saved on taxi costs. All rooms overlook the inner courtyard so there was no noise from the street, the hotel was spotlessly clean and I think had been refurbished fairly recently so everything was clean and fresh. Continental breakfast was included and served in a lovely downstairs room, there was plenty of choice including soft boiled eggs, salami, ham, cheese, cereal and plenty of bread, which was all being topped up constantly. The hotel also has free wifi which worked well and was easy to access. What really made this an outstanding place to stay were the reception staff, all were friendly, extremely helpful, assisted us with bus travel and with booking a restaurant for us on the Saturday evening, we really could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianOxlund, Owner at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Tunsttravel,

Thank you very much for your positive review and for your comments on the helpfull receptionstaff.

I hope we will be able to welcome you again in near future.

Kind regards,

Christian Oxlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed here for a city break last October. Hotel is well situated and within easy walking distance of a number of sites (e.g. Tivoli Gardens, Nuhaven). The room was a bit on the the smallish side compared with others that we've stayed in and there was an unfortunate whiff from the bathroom which the staff told us was due to some blocked drains - didn't seem to be dealt with during our stay but keeping the bathroom door shut stopped the whiff. Room itself was tidy enough and the staff were pleasant, if perfunctory. A bit overpriced at over £100 per night for something a bit basic, but Copenhagen is a pricey place. Would probably upgrade next time but a perfectly serviceable hotel

Room Tip: It's going to be a bit expensive wherever you go in Copenhagen, but look at room dimensions when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianOxlund, Owner at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear TheGrumpys,

Thank you for taking time to write a review.

I am glad you enjoyed the stay, but not so happy that nothing was being done with the whiff.

I hope you will accept my apologies for that?

Kind regards,

Christian Oxlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel

Address: VesterbroGade 34, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 117 hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Savoy Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-story Hotel situated in central shopping district near Tivoli Gardens & train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savoy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;