We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely friendly hotel in a good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Savoy Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Savoy Hotel to your Saves list
Savoy Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   VesterbroGade 34, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark (Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #23 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Heckmondwike, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely friendly hotel in a good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Overall we had a very good stay at the Savoy. It is in a good location for the central train station and also for walking into the centre to see the sights. There are plenty of restaurants to choose from around the hotel. The staff were generally very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were really good - a nice selection and yummy bread and pastries!

Our room was cosy and nice and warm. The only downside was that we overlooked the builders yard in the courtyard at the side of the hotel (there are building works being carried out at the moment). When we first arrived in our room I did go back to reception and inquired if there were any problems with noise from the builders. The gentleman who had checked us in said that there hadn't been any problems reported and assured us that the builders were not allowed to start work before 10 am. However, this turned out not to be the case and the builders started crashing about at around 7 am. Luckily I had packed some earplugs! If you don't want to be near the builders I suggest you ask for a room higher up (we were on the second floor) and not overlooking the builders yard towards the rear of the hotel.

We would still use this hotel if we ever visit Copenhagen in the future as overall it ticked all the right boxes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianOxlund, Owner at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear DaisyMay,

Thank you very much for taking time to write a review.

I am glad you enjoyed the stay, but not so happy that our neighbours made noise from 7.00 am.

Normally they start around 08.00 am, and do not make much noise until 10.00 am.
The construction is not part of the hotel, but they do listen to our concerns regarding noise. I apologize for the inconvenience.

Kind regards,

Christian Oxlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    220
    75
    14
    3
See reviews for
53
192
36
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed for five nights and were very comfortable. The staff were warm and helpful, the building is beautiful, the rooms were clean, the bed was very comfortable,and the breakfasts were excellent. Wifi was available in the rooms and was free.The location is also spot on: near the main train station and close to the sights.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianOxlund, Owner at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Otupaka,

Thank you for taking time write a review about Savoy Hotel.

I hope that we will be able to welcome you again in Savoy Hotel.

Kind regards,

Christian Oxlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Had a fantastic stay at the Savoy Hotel. Location was great for all the must-see sights and there were plenty of nice restaurants around the hotel. Breakfast was delicious with warm bread and fresh Danish pastries. We got the train from the airport and the hotel is only a short walk from the station. Really happy with our choice, would definitely recommend and would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor and it was nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianOxlund, Owner at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Nicola D,

Thank you for your positive review about Savoy Hotel.

We look forward to welcome you again in Copenhagen.

Kind regards,

Christian Oxlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed at the Savoy in Copenhagen on a visit in February. Everything about the hotel was wonderful. Rooms were nice, breakfast fantastic and staff were friendly. Would definitely recommend it and would come back if I visit Copenhagen again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianOxlund, Owner at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Keith P,

Thank you for your review about Savoy Hotel.

I look forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Christian Oxlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Great stay here. Very friendly helpful reception staff, nothing too much trouble. Allowed us an earlier check in and arranged packed up breakfast for our early departure. Breakfast offered good continental selection. Good location for exploring and local shops and restaurants. Would definitely recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianOxlund, Owner at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear KagsLincoln,

Thank you for taking time to write a review.

And especially thank you for your comments about the early checkin, and breakfast box upon departure.

I hope to be able to welcome you in Copenhagen again some day.

Kind regards,

Christian Oxlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were actually surprised that the hotel looks better than in the pictures...:) Centrally located, recently renovated, sweet rooms, small but very clean with tea and cofee facilities. Free wi-fi, staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was basic, but if you're staying for a few nights, it shouldn't be a problem.
Also very important, all the rooms are facing the inner courtyard, so you'll not be bothered by all the sirens and traffic that guests in other Vesterbrogade hotels are complaining about...
Overall, a really pleasant experience, would recommend it any time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianOxlund, Owner at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Ivce,

Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel.

I am glad that you mention that all rooms face an inner courtyard, and not the busy Vesterbrogade where you find not only shops, but also a lot of people.

We look forward to see you again in Copenhagen.

Kind regards,

Christian Oxlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Hotel is centrally located.
Staff is quite friendly and they have luggage lockers.
Wifi is good and free.
Rooms are compact but clean - does the job.
Breakfast is included - limited but good, however crowded so you might have to wait to get seats.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianOxlund, Owner at Savoy Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Katjelin,

Thank you for taking time to write a review.

I hope to see you again in near future in Copenhagen.

Kind regards,

Christian Oxlund
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Savoy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savoy Hotel

Address: VesterbroGade 34, Copenhagen 1620, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Savoy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six-story Hotel situated in central shopping district near Tivoli Gardens & train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Savoy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savoy Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.