We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dissapointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kong Arthur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kong Arthur to your Saves list
Hotel Kong Arthur
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Norre Sogade 11, Copenhagen 1370, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 116 Hotels in Copenhagen
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
“Very dissapointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This was my request accompanying the reservation: "Second honeymoon" as first was a bit of a bust" - what we got, no view, handicapped room under staff quarters, who pounded around at all hours, asked if we could be moved, told they would get back to us the next day, never heard a word, back hurts, not anywhere near anything

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    264
    102
    24
    11
See reviews for
68
265
24
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 3 nights during April and were lucky enough to be here when the weather was nice and sunny. This hotel was in a good location and was easy to find after leaving Norreport station. We upgraded from the small double to standard double and would say this was more of the size you would expect. The room did get really hot and we had to leave the windows open and use the fan provided, which wasn't a problem being on the second floor overlooking quiet area. Bathroom floor did get soaked once you had a shower as its a wet room style and shower curtain does very little. Staff were friendly and helpful and the glass of red wine on an evening was a nice touch. Travelled to Malmo for a few hours stay which was nice, however couldn't find where to get the bus so ended up getting the train, which was easy, as was using the metro to and from the airport. Had a brilliant wi-fi connection throughout our stay.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel is about a 10 min walk from Norreport station from which you can get a direct train to/from the airport (allow 30 mins). If you are fairly fit you can cover almost all the central tourist sites on foot from the hotel.
We had a double room over looking the central courtyard and the breakfast room. Pretty cramped, but it was extremely quiet (even with the windows opened slightly) and we were rather perplexed to find two sets of earplugs on the bed before our third night with a note apologizing for the "noisiness of our neighbours".
Really the only downside is the one that applies to Denmark in general. It is EXPENSIVE, even with a strong dollar. $25 for a continental breakfast! A couple of little niggles. Is it really necessary to charge 3 krona a minute to use the internet computers (to access and print boarding passes), and while the free glass of wine at happy hour is a nice touch, a few chips etc would make it a little happier.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inner courtyard are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here 4 nights, while sightseeing Copenhagen. The hotel is near a subway station, pedestrian area ''Strædet'' with shops, bars and restaurants, , and not too far (15-20 minutes walking) from Nyhavn, another bar- and restaurant area.
The hotel's reception area is small and pleasant, with a small var and a fireplace. From 5-6 pm they had a ''free red wine'', which was a very nice gesture for anyone coming back to the hotel after a long day out. The room was a bit small, but fair enough. The bathroom perhaps a little too small, but manageable. The breakfast was excellent, in a light and easy atmosphere.
Adjacent to the hotel is an Italian restaurant, a Japanese sushi and a Spanish restaurant. We tried the Japanese for dinner, but this was a disappointment - tasteless salmon and tuna sashimis, and if there was any taste on the sushis we ordered is hard to tell, as the soya sauce was spiced up with garlic or something. No need for wasabi...
The Spanish restaurant was excellent, with delicious tapas and perfect steak.
The staff at the hotel is very knowledgeable and friendly. A good place to come to in Copenhagen.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Our stay was good NOT GREAT.
1. Prior to booking the room I spoke with the hotel as we were visiting our daughter in Copenhagen who intending on staying with us a few nights. She recommended the Jr suite to accommodate her. I had read on Trip Advisor the nicest rooms were the remodeled rooms and the hotel confirmed that the upper floors were newly remodeled and to add that in comments when we booked on line. When we checked in we went to our Jr Suite on a upper floor as requested however the room was so small that with a roll a way bed added there was no room for luggage and to walk, we went to the front desk and upgraded to a Suite which was twice as large and had additional sleeping accommodations. However the room was on the second floor and did not appear to be renovated and none of the upper rooms were available.
2. Traveling regularly all over the world I think there are a few design improvements that could be incorporate in the hotels design. I am not fond of the split bed (made separately) and 2 separate covers and haven't seen them in quite a while. Not what I would expect in a suite. I also found that there were no real closets (very small one upstairs) or drawers to put clothing in. I don't like living out of a suit case. I was unable to regulate the heat leaving us cold in the early evening and hot at night especially on the second floor. It rains a few nights and were unable to open the sky light to circulate air. I also appreciate the electric key to shut everything off when we are not in the room however modern travelers recharge many items and may need power at time when we are not in the room. Additionally the power at the desk was tied into a ceiling light so we couldn't recharge items at night with out the chandelier on. I would suggest an always on charging outlet with USB ports so we don't need international plugs like we had in other hotels.
3. My biggest complaint is the bathroom. It is very small in comparison to the rest of the room and when anyone showers the entire bathroom is soaked and steamy. the floor is not sloped to the drain so water pools all over. the toilet is soaked even with the curtain closed. The bathroom need to be larger with a separate shower area and separate toilet. Again not what I would expect in a suite.
4. The front of the Hotel on the Web Site look impressive and Grand and in reality it is tucked in an alley surrounded by construction in the front and other construction in the back which never gave us the opportunity to sit outdoors in what looked like a very nice space to enjoy a drink or some food.
5. Finally I was happy to be in the lobby for your Happy Hour and was interested in enjoying a glass of wine with my wife however only 1 red wine was available not white wine. When I expressed my disbelief with the bartender he did pour my wife a complimentary white wine but I felt uncomfortable asking for another or returning following nights. Additionally there was not food available that night and not sure about other nights.
6. The gym needs attention. The elliptical does not work smoothly and needs adjustments or replacement and the weight machine needs to be lubricated as it is useless and probably dangerous as the movements do not work smooth and require a lot of extra effort to initiate exercises.

I do want to strongly compliment the staff as always will do do whatever we requested. i.e. making reservations, coordinating taxi's ect...

Room Tip: upper floors that have been renovated
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCopenhagen, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Kong Arthur, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear guest

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you didn’t feel that your stay was great. We want our guests to feel great and to have a really wonderful stay. Here are my comments to you:

First, all rooms are remodeled within the last 6 years.

The suites have king size beds and not single beds. That’s why your description is a bit confusing to me. Could it have been a junior suite that you switched to(?)
The bathrooms in suites and junior suites all have a bathtub with a shower. Some have an additional shower area.

The front of the hotel is facing the Copenhagen lakes, but yet somewhat withdrawn by the end of a small alley. Behind the front building are several courtyards. Actually the breakfast restaurant is situated by a courtyard. Our guests often prefer to enjoy their breakfast outside.. and we don’t have any construction work going on there. There is construction work at the building by the front of hotel, at the moment.
PS: There is no sitting area in front of the hotel.

We have got accustomed to a daily event, Cozy Hour. An afternoon hour when our guests socialize in the lobby and we offer a drink for the sake of the conviviality. Sometimes it may be a glass of red wine, but it could be eg. a new organic beer also or perhaps a cup of tea. I am glad to learn that the bartender offered your wife a glass of white wine, even if it may not have been the drink of the day.

And at last. Our gym has just been renovated and is now holding a treadmill, a cross trainer, a fitness bicycle, a vibration trainer, dumbbells and a multi station machine.

Thanks again and come back and enjoy the courtyards during summer. I promise it's really nice.

All the best
Marie Thyssen /Hotel Kong Arthur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The location and service were very good, the hotel having good transport links and on site car parking. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. There was a daily wine tasting in the reception area, and you could take your drink outside and sit in the central courtyard area. The room was quite small but fully equiped with a hot powerful shower.
The only issue we had was when we were there (May 2014) the hotel was having new lifts installed, so we had a lot of stairs to climb in order to get to our room. This was only a problem when we were checking in and out.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCopenhagen, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Kong Arthur, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear guest

Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad you liked it here. Regarding the lifts, yes we remember last year. After a heavy rain, we had to repair 2 lifts and secure the elevator shafts.

Now we have some well-functioning elevators, and they are prepared for any possible future flooding.

We hope to see you back some time, and this time with no elevator trouble..

All the best
Marie Thyssen /Hotel Kong Arthur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We visited as a couple in March 2015 and having read reviews about the small size of rooms: £ ration, decided to pay for the king-room upgrade. When we arrived, the hotel was very nice and the room was large, comfortable and clean. The bathroom was a good size and shower hot and with good power. We were on the ground floor facing the courtyard which wasn't ideal but we we could live with it.

However, having booked for a king room and expressly requested a king bed on the reservation, what we got was two single beds and from this point onward, the experience just got bad and worse. Several complaints to reception lead to a head-spin of hollow promises, lies and contradictions that culminated in a very insulting and dismissive check-out experience in front of other guests. It was unreal...
Having been promised to speak to the manager face to face at check out, this was never their intention and with retrospect, their plan was to let me leave, then allow me to attempt to deal with my problem from distance via e-mail. The result of which was equally unsatisfactory. I was told by the manager via e-mail that in Denmark, king size beds only means a king size mattress but with two single douvets and king-sized douvets are not common there.

If you are considering staying here, you will get a well located hotel that is nice. If single beds is what you want, then you will be very happy here but if you have any problems, don't expect them to consider it their problem to resolve......it will be your problem and you will probably just have to deal with it.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCopenhagen, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Kong Arthur, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear guest

Thank you for your review! Great that you in many ways appreciated our hotel! Our apologize for the inconveniences you experienced.

We did offer you a free stay to compensate for your dissatisfaction, even if we at this point still don’t quite understand what you were missing except from a double duvet, which is not available as a standard. We will be able to provide it when pre-ordered though.

Our king size beds are 180 cm and may be consisting of 2 single beds, but it will always have one 180 cm mattress.

You checked out on a Sunday and the General Manager wasn’t available, but our Duty Manager was present, and you had the dialogue with him, when checking out.

Kind regards
Marie Thyssen /Hotel Kong Arthur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kong Arthur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kong Arthur

Address: Norre Sogade 11, Copenhagen 1370, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#11 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#19 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#19 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#23 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kong Arthur 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kong Arthur is situated right between the beautiful inner lakes of Copenhagen and the buzzing downtown, only 15 min. from the airport by metro. The style is exclusive and modern with a hint of medieval - we call it a mix of rustic and chic. The atmosphere is cozy and informal: A lit fireplace, comfy sofas, pillows in the window sill, a stack of books on the shelves, beautiful courtyards adorned with green plants, cobbles and a unique peacefulness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Kong Arthur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kong Arthur Copenhagen
Kong Arthur Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kong Arthur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.