We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for Copenhagen” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kong Arthur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kong Arthur to your Saves list
Hotel Kong Arthur
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Norre Sogade 11, Copenhagen 1370, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Great base for Copenhagen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

When we got our bearings Hotel Kong Arthur was really easy to find. The nearest metro station; Norreport is a direct 15min ride from the airport (36kr each way). When you exit the station look for the street named; Vendersgade. Walk to the end, turn left and the sign for the hotel is right in front of you. Takes no more than 10 mins and that's if you're walking slowly.

The hotel is set back from a busy river road down a little cul-de-sac. The entrance is up four steps, so you may need some help if you're in a wheelchair. Check in was simple, and the man serving us was helpful, he gave us a map and explained where things were. He offered suggestions and advice but I noticed he didn't mention cosy hour (more of that in a minute) which was weird seeing as it nearly was cosy hour, so I mentioned it to him. All he said was "Ah yes, cosy hour". He then gave us the biggest key I've seen. It was so big I could've used the key ring attachment as a beer mat! At least it would be hard to lose. We handed it in when we went out but I must admit it was quite annoying having to queue behind people checking in to get it back. There were usually only two staff members on reception but they also had to work the bar so they were usually pretty busy.

Our superior room (406) was clean, a good size with plenty of storage for clothes. The floor boards were so unbelievably creaky it was comical. Traffic and party revellers could clearly be heard at night but didn't bother us coming from noisy London. We didn't hear anything from surrounding rooms though. Even so, our sleep quality wasn't the best but I can't explain why, we weren't disturbed and the bed was pretty comfy, just one of those things I guess. There was also a safe, an electronic mini bar (which we didn't use) and the heated floor in bathroom was a nice touch. A shelf would've been handy to put things on in the shower though and the slanting walls in the bedroom might be annoying if you're on the tall side.

But what a great idea Cosy hour is! Free wine or Christmas beer between 5&6pm every day, what's not to like? A lovely way to start off your evening. The short-haired blonde lady who attempted to make me wait a couple of minutes until 5pm - when their clock clearly said it was 5pm - seemed quite petty and looked silly when the other lady served me straight away. Other than this little "incident" all other staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly.

We didn't try the breakfast or any of the three restaurants here (preferring to explore outside) but If you're looking for a great place for breakfast, or an evening drink in a homely locals place, check out Kasalet just around the corner, it was definitely our favourite place.

Kong Arthur is essentially a very good three star hotel but because of our overall experience, location and comfort these things made our stay better than that. This is an ideal base when visiting fantastic Copenhagen, most sites are easily walkable and we didn't take public transport at all during our time here apart from and to the airport. As long as you're not expecting five star luxury you should love it as much as we did.

Iain, London

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    194
    90
    19
    10
See reviews for
54
202
21
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here with a company so can not comment on value for mobey but thought the hotel was quaint and clean.

My room was very small but quite adequate for sleeping. One of my colleagues had an issue with her room being next to lift shaft being extremely noisy but this was soon resolved.

I do think the directions to rooms and room numbers needs to be clearer as it is confusing. After being directed to the wrong lift I spent quite a while going up and down trying to find my room but that is nit picking.

Breakfast was lovely. I did not go for hot option as di not eat meat but the continental was really nice.

All in all nice hotel in central location.
Copenhagen itself? ...didn't blow me away I'm afraid

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

A clean comfortable ideally situation hotel, I booked a junior suite which had plenty of room and a bath tub and separate shower. Because the Kong Arthur prides its self on being a "green Hotel," the toiletries are in very short supply so remember to take your own (because so many people now travel hand luggage only this can be a problem) Also the mini Bar was very under stocked only beer, water and Cola. No wine, crisps, nuts or candy . A plus is there is coffee and tea in the room, from memory this is not available in standard rooms. (I might be wrong)
Breakfast is good but a little lacking in choice.
Copenhagen is a great city to walk around and this hotel lends it self to that.
One more thing if you are travelling alone and have heavy bags, this is not a great place for help there are stairs at the entrance and no one can see to offer help

Room Tip: In the summer a room at the front of the hotel, it's cooler. The hotel has no Aircon (green poli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights for the weekend. We arrived late and had no problems checking in. We booked a standard double room was a bit small but we planned on being out not in. We didn't book breakfast as we'd read there was an indoor marke 2 mins walk away, it has cafe/stands in there. It was perfect and good value. The Hotel is a 5 min walk to town and 10 mins and you are right in the centre close to everything.
Our room was warm the only 2 small things to note was the curtains didn't quite meet so couldn't fully close them and our room over looked the courtyard where people were outside among so difficult to get changed without people getting a view. The toilet seat in the bathroom needed oiling every time one of us lifted the seat I thought everyone in the hotel must have heard!
Other than that perfect for us, it's warm and welcoming lots of bars and places to eat close by (streets round the corner) we would definitely stay again. We didn't have time to use spa facilities or the gym but they looked fab

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a wonderful weekend in Copenhagen! Kong Arthur is a very nice hotel with helpful, nice and professional staff. Great breakfast and breakfast service. A somewhat small room but fully OK in the spa section. Very quiet! Slept like children. We found the hotel located in a very nice area of Copenhagen, with good restaurants (La Rocca!!) and bars nearby, and within walking distance to everything we were planning to do. We used the spa the first night which was a great start - also very nice with great service.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed just three nights at the Kong Arthur. The hotel is in a perfect location, close to the Norreport Train Station, and convenient to a food market. I walked everywhere from the hotel- Rosenborg Castle, Rundetaarn, etc. My room was quite nice, cosy, and quiet. (it was not facing the street). I didn't take advantage of the spa services in the hotel, but hope to on my return!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCopenhagen, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Kong Arthur, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Kate b

Thank you for your nice review. We are looking forward to welcoming you again, and next time you must visit the spa. The Spa is such a wonderful place to relax after a busy day. Remember you will get free access. Please look for further information about this at our website.

All the best
Marie Thyssen /Arthur Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a large room - 420 - so it was perfect size, very comfy bed and it was very quiet. Nice artwork.

The location is great - on the side of the town centre that feels less touristy... 5 min walk to the food market, 15 min walk to restaurant Radio. 5 min taxi from main station.

The on-site spa is fabulous - a great facility and add-on to the holiday as it was a very cold day.

Walking across the town centre is 20 mins or so to tivoli - straight down the pedestrianised high street.

The feel of the hotel is boutique and the welcome was warm and friendly.

'Cozy hour' is a nice feature - the lounge / bar area is open and friendly.

Would recommend this hotel as it has an essence of visiting friends... Rather than choosing a bland corporate hotel, this helps make your stay in Copenhagen.

Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCopenhagen, Gæsteansvarlig at Hotel Kong Arthur, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Mademoiselle M

We are pleased to read your review of Hotel Kong Arthur, and very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay here, and in Copenhagen. Hotel Kong Arthur is for sure situated at a very fine location in Copenhagen, and we are grateful for this location – in the center and still quite tranquil. Something which is not so common in a big city.

We hope to be able to welcoming you back again here with us!

Kind regards
Marie Thyssen /Arthur Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kong Arthur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kong Arthur

Address: Norre Sogade 11, Copenhagen 1370, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#11 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#20 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#24 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kong Arthur 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kong Arthur is situated right between the beautiful inner lakes of Copenhagen and the buzzing downtown, only 15 min. from the airport by metro. The style is exclusive and modern with a hint of medieval - we call it a mix of rustic and chic. The atmosphere is cozy and informal: A lit fireplace, comfy sofas, pillows in the window sill, a stack of books on the shelves, beautiful courtyards adorned with green plants, cobbles and a unique peacefulness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Kong Arthur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kong Arthur Copenhagen
Kong Arthur Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kong Arthur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.