We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oriental atmosphere in the North” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kong Arthur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Kong Arthur to your Saves list
Hotel Kong Arthur
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Norre Sogade 11, Copenhagen 1370, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Paris, France
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Oriental atmosphere in the North”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We did have a nice experience in Hotel Kong Arthur. First, we enjoyed the oriental atmosphere of the lobby, the good taste of the decoration and the staff-professionalism. Before our arrival, we got a message with useful information (how to get there from the airport, etc.). We did appreciate.
We reserved a superior room (n° 420) which was confortable (iron, kettle, books) and big enough, well-decorated with modern art. Nothing to complain about the simple and well designed bath-room. We got everything we needed. Congratulations for the breakfast-buffet quality !
Of course, travelling is always an adventure. Of course, when you travel North, you don't check if the room is air-conditionned. May be I should have since we were lucky enough to enjoy heath in Copenhagen... No air-conditioning in this **** hotel (but a fan !) : you have to know. Well, we used natural conditioning and opened the windows to refresh the atmosphere. Fortunately, the patio was very quiet at night. So, we acted like good ecologists.
However, from the ecology point of view, may I suggest a little thing ? Shut down the dozens of lamps in the 4th floor lobby: they waste a lot for nothing and contribute to the high temperature ...




















However, may I suggest anything ? I agree with saving energy: but why does the 4th floor lobby waste so much energy with dozens of heavy lamps lightnened all the day long, increasing the temperature ?

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCopenhagen, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kong Arthur, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Marie-Christine

Thank you so much for your kind review. We think it's really nice that you find our decor is oriental-Nordic in style. We never thought of it that way :-)

You are quite right regarding not to expect A/C when travelling North. This summer we are very lucky - it is the best possible summer weather. A/C would actually be useful right now. We have fans at every room to compensate, and we have to say, 90% of the time in Copenhagen, you don’t need A/C.

Regarding the light in the 4th floor lobby our technical department says:
There is light at the 4th floor lobby due to a legal requirement (fire safety), which says there has to be light at 24/7 and 365 days a year. We cannot overrule that.

Thank you again. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

All the best
Marie Thyssen / Hotel Kong Arthur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    307
    120
    30
    14
See reviews for
87
310
32
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
270 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

by emailing to make sure the room would be available when we finally arrived at 6 am from the states. I had already paid for the room to ensure that we would be able to rest before meetings. When we arrived the desk clerk said that for some reason (which made no sense to me except to surmise that he had been able to rent it to someone else) our junior suite was not available. I reminded him that I had, on several occasions, contacted the hotel to remind them that although we wouldn't be there for normal check in we would arrive eventually. We were shunted off to a miserably hot, tiny room. Later in the day we were finally settled in the suite, but schlepping suitcases and being tired for the rest of the day was annoying.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCopenhagen, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kong Arthur, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Sally

We are awfully sorry that you got dissapointed. However, I must remind you that check-in time is 11am. If you arrive earlier, we can store your luggage and sometimes if possible, we can help you with a room, which has already been cleaned.

Our hotels experience a high demand, which is great, of course. But this means that the rooms are not vacant the day before you arrive. Our good house-keepers need time to do their job, and they can’t start before our guests have checked-out.

If I didn’t get you right, you are very welcome to write directly to me (mt@arthurhotels.dk), and we will investigate your complaint further.

Kind regards
Marie Thyssen / Hotel Kong Arthur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

We booked a double room rather than risk booking a 'small double' thank goodness we did. The room was in the roof and snug which wasn't great as it was also extremely hot on sunny days - sleeping in cool conditions is our preference so we didn't appreciate the lack if air conditioning.
The staff were helpful but the service was average & we expected more from a 4 star.
An ok stay but we wouldn't return & have already searched out alternatives

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
132 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I booked a Standard Double Room for my sister and I, 2 nights, not including breakfast on Booking.com. The room itself was big enough, clean, nice. Window faced the street, but it was no problem. Wi-fi was also free and worked fine in the rooms. The only problem was the bathroom. It was large and clean, but the shower portion seemed like it was for handicapped people. There was only a curtain to block off that corner, and the water that was supposed to go down the drain, would run and accumulate in the middle of the floor. The entire floor would be wet once we would be done with our shower. There was also a bathtub, but we didn't use it. Otherwise, it was in a good location and easy to find. Only 1 front desk staff had an attitude problem, she wasn't Danish, perhaps Eastern European. Asking her for direction advice was like pulling teeth.

Room Tip: Standard Double Room was perfect for 2 people, but beware of shower set-up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here, brilliant staff, brilliant value for money! The hotel is close proximity to all you need, we loved the market just round the corner. If we visit Copenhagen again, we will definitely return. Great stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Two nights here at around €80 per night for the single room up on the fourth floor. the room was very small, the comfortable bed taking up around 80 percent of the space, but I was there to explore and so the comfort was the only real important thing. The only problem I found was that the en-suite smelled very bad, as if successive guests had been smoking in it. It didn't bother me enough to complain though.

My visit in June experienced some sunny and wet weather, but the temperatures in the room were never a problem. The window provided adequate ventilation. The complimentary facilities were good, I was happy with the tea/coffee etc. and the breakfast was excellent. The staff were also excellent on the whole, and I liked the layout of adjoining courtyards where you could take your drink and chat to other friendly guests.

Biking around is what I really came to do, and there are bikes for hire at the hotel. I found one or two of them in need of maintenance but requesting a change was fine. It is quite expensive though, almost double what you paid in Berlin for the same old iron-clads! I didn't shop around for this and got busy cycling and snapping.

Overall the hotel is recommended due to the quality of the breakfast, the friendly and helpful staff and general pleasing ambience. Copenhagen is pricey to visit, but this hotel delivers without hitting your travel budget too hard.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCopenhagen, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Kong Arthur, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Steve

We are so glad that you enjoyed it here. It means everything to us.

At the moment, the temperature most days here is really wonderful – nice and summery, and the sea is ready for a swim (you can go for a swim right in the middle of Copenhagen). Almost no Danes’ homes are equipped with A/C, because we are so happy, when the temperature is above 20 degrees. Anyway, we can just open a window if we need air. Exactly like you did.

We are sorry about the smell, and even if you didn’t mind that much, you should have told reception. We would probably had been able to do something, or to offer you another room. If it's not too much trouble, do not hesitate to write to me (mt@arthurhotels.dk) and tell what room number you stayed at.

All the best
Marie Thyssen / Hotel Kong Arthur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

First thing you should know --- like many hotels in Copenhagen --- there is no air conditioning. So during the summer you are totally at the mercy of cooler weather and warm breezes. Out of our five night stay recently, two days when the temperature was in the low 60s (F) were extremely pleasant, but on the other days when the temperature started reaching up into the low 70s when the humidity was high and there is no breeze, sleeping was a bit uncomfortable. That for us, however, was the only real negative. If we were going to be back in Copenhagen at any time other than the middle of summer, we would undoubtedly stay at the Kong Arthur again. We found the staff to be helpful and friendly, the room (we had a Junior suite) to be pleasant and clean, and the “happy hour” each afternoon was a nice touch. As far as location --- we thought it was ideal. It was near “The Lakes” with its peaceful setting, and was one block away from the major bus routes, two and a half blocks from the fabulous Torvehallerne Market as well as an entrance to the Norreport metro station which has direct links to the airport, Malmo, and points north to include the Louisiana museum. The walk to the main shopping streets was less than 10 minutes, and we found the environment around the hotel much more relaxing (and quiet!) than the hordes of individuals around the Tivoli Gardens or the Nyhavan area. By pre-booking and pre-paying, we were able to save about 30% on our room --- and we found the prices to be quite competitive with comparable properties we saw.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Kong Arthur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kong Arthur

Address: Norre Sogade 11, Copenhagen 1370, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#12 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
#17 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#18 Family Hotel in Copenhagen
#23 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kong Arthur 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kong Arthur is situated right between the beautiful inner lakes of Copenhagen and the buzzing downtown, only 15 min. from the airport by metro. The style is exclusive and modern with a hint of medieval - we call it a mix of rustic and chic. The atmosphere is cozy and informal: A lit fireplace, comfy sofas, pillows in the window sill, a stack of books on the shelves, beautiful courtyards adorned with green plants, cobbles and a unique peacefulness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Kong Arthur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kong Arthur Copenhagen
Kong Arthur Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kong Arthur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.