We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, comfortable hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels to your Saves list
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Helgolandsgade 11, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Lovely, comfortable hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

A lovely room, clean, very comfortable bed, space to sit and put luggage. The towels are the Italian style "tea-towel" type and its a bit strange if you've never used them before. They make a big thing about being organic. We did a third-party internet booking so got what seemed to be a reasonable deal but breakfast was not included, and was very expensive, so value for money reduced significantly! It is at the edge of a red-light district but the actual road is full of chain hotels and several restaurants so its really not obvious apart from the secure entry. 10 minute easy walk to train station, easy access to the rest of Copenhagen if you can walk. Our room was directly on the front street and the two large windows opened wide, so we heard street noise. This is normal in a city street, I can't see that other reviewers are being reasonable about this. If the hotel is in a city, you hear city noises! If you want peace, stay in the middle of the countryside! Bad points were a cheeky 20DKK extra for wifi in room, although its free in the lobby, a too-expensive breakfast and the usual Scandinavian flood whenever you use the shower.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    351
    129
    47
    9
See reviews for
77
395
65
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

Liked the building -- restored older hotel with Indonesian decorative flair. Excellent room with small separate sitting room, wooden floors and good size.

However, the reviews on here about "excessive street noise" in this red light district were way understated. During our stay, it was quite hot necessitating wide open windows due to no air conditioning. Wow! We could not sleep between midnight and 4am due to: crack usage on the stoop across the street; constant drug deals going down or going badly (loud yelling in English "I trusted you but you didn't trust me."); pushing and shoving; broken glass. The streetwalkers were quiet but constant in this dangerous atmosphere.

So, liked the facility but couldn't take the noise. Won't go back.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

Stayed at the axel for two nights in july. The room was fantastic, and we really liked the indonesian inspired style of it. The hotel has an all ecological philosophy, so there is nothing there that isnt ecological...everything from the the stuff in the minbar to the toilet paper.....the towels looked and felt like and old doormat...
The room had everything you need, including a small complimentary bag with toothbrush, toothpaste,razor etc, very cute :) The room was also equipped with a big fan in the sealing, wich was great, it was extremely hot in Copenhagen during our stay.......it maid a lot of noise though....but nice and cooling anyway :)
The bathroom was really nice, with a stone sink and bathtub....but unfortunely not very functional. The bathroom was soaked in water after a shower, and the "old doormat " wasnt good for drying up water, so we had to wait for it to dry for itself.....may I suggest a shower curtain??

The staff has a laid back attitude, they are not wearing uniforms, and can be find sitting on the reception desk when you arrive at the hotel. We think the attitude may be a bit too laid back; we had booked a room with a balcony in good time before our arrival, but something came up, so we had to arrive one day before we planned, and called the hotel to book the room for an extra night. The person we talked to said that it was no problem, we could have the room we already had booked for the extra night. When we arrived, they couldnt find our reservation, and had to put us in another room with no balcony. The staff didnt seem bothered by the fact that they had lost our reservation, and we find that a bit strange. All in all, the staff seems to be new and unexperienced. Not very well trained and service minded.

The hotel is located in copenhagens "red light district", so its a lot of shady business going on there and at night ,there are lots of noise from the streets,( arguing, glass breaking etc.), but its a short walk to the train station, "Strøget" etc.

The breakfast was very good, but a bit expensive. During the breakfast, we again found the staff acting unproffesional, the kitchen matron was yelling at another employee in front of hotel guests, and was in generally very noisy during our breakfast. We really didnt care for that.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AxelCopenhagen, Public Relations Manager at Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels, responded to this review, August 13, 2010
Dear Morthe,

Thank you for extensive review, it is always a positive experience to hear from our guests, and we appreciate you taking the time to write about your stay.
We´re glad that you enjoyed your room and our efforts regarding sustainability throughout the hotel – the towels might take a little getting used to, but we find that apart from being quite beautiful, the handwoven, organic cotton-weave towels are actually just as useful as traditional terrycloth ones, and considerably more sustainable to operate with. We are able to wash and dry them in-house, with organic detergents and outdoor clothes-lines, so they are quite a source of pride to us.
Our staff do not wear uniforms, as we find that communication flows more easily between guest and host, when the barrier of uniforms is not present. We are sorry that you found the staff too laid-back, hope that you were ultimately satisfied with the room provided for you.
Lastly, good to know that you enjoyed our brunch, which is a signature feature in all Guldsmeden hotels. Houda, our hostess, can be a bit loud, but we can assure you that she would never castigate a member of staff in this manner, and in front of guests. Most probably, she was clowning around and trying to raise a laugh..:-).
Kind regards from Axel Hotel Guldsmeden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

I fell in love with this hotel! Very nice newly restored building. friendly staff. Clean relaxing and beautiful rooms. Plus the best breakfast buffé ever!
The only downside is that the area can be a bit dodgy at night time (lots of prostitutes junkies etc close by). However the safety at the actual hotel is very good.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2010

First time in copenhagen. hotel was reccomanded by a friend and ofcourse we booked last minute after reading trip advisor hotel reviews. the rooms were small but very comfortable. great hotel staff. walking distance to everything and it is centrally located. it was a beautiful stay as the weather was just great the 6 days we were there. sunrise at 5am so we jogged around the pond mornings, had breakfast different coffe shops around the hotel and watched the World Cup FIFA 2010 in the Irish pubs. the only minus points for the hotel was the spa which could not be used unless paid additional cost. no one to take our luggages to our room.the shower didnt have a door so the whole bathroom was full of water when showering. since it is a organic hotel, the towels were so thin and could not dry my hair up.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

I stayed at Axel Hotel in July 2010. We planned the trip for our second honey moon.

Rooms are clean and safe. Not so large rooms, but bed was large and sleep quality was good.

Only the problem were the shouting drunk people early in the Sunday morning. After 10 minutes they stopped shouting .

Staff of the hotel were so kind. They gave me an excellent tourist guide for the city tour.

Breakfast was above average. Full with delicious Danish cheeses... :)

The hotel was nearly 400 meters away from Stroget Street. (the main shopping center)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

Like other TA reviewers, I highly recommend this hotel. It is clean, modern, and convenient. Less than a 5 minute walk from the train station. Can't beat that!

Here are some tips:

1) Room Advice: We stayed here for two nights during our visit and stayed at two different rooms - street facing and courtyard facing. The pictures I posted are of the street facing room, however I recommend the court yard rooms, here's why:

STREET Facing Rooms - If you are a LIGHT SLEEPER DO NOT get street facing. No, it wasn't the night people that woke me up as one would expect, but the delivery trucks. At 4AM, I could hear metal clanging for about 30 minutes. Looked out the window and it was the wheels of a linen delivery cart that was making all that noise. Needless to say, I got up and stayed up. Even with the windows closed I could here them! Note - I was located not on the top floor, one floor down from the top, so pretty high. The staff at the front desk advised me that the delivery trucks comes EVERY day by 4AM including Sunday. Uggh!!

COURT Yard facing - Given the bad sleep I had, I moved to a courtyard room next time around. WOW! What a difference. I got a spacious court yard corner room, kept windows open and slept like a baby. So, if you are a light sleeper get court yard.

Other/Top Floor - Also, be advised that some rooms on the top floor have a slanted vs. straight ceiling. If the ceiling is slanted the room feels smaller. So, I requested non-slant. Top floor rooms also have less water pressure.

2) Breakfast: It was not included in my room rate. About $40/USD and was not impressed. Yogurt & granola & cold cuts is standard. Also, no biggy that it as organic. Organic in Denmark & Sweden is pretty standard in the other hotels I stayed at. This one was $40/USD and basically pretty simple compared to the other hotels. Save your money and just buy yogurt and coffee at a convenience store.

3) Staff: Friendly and very accomodating. They let me take a look at the rooms before settling in which I appreciate it. Also, I was here during the volcano situation, so they let me borrow their cell phone, etc. to make calls to the airlines and made sure I was okay.

4) Safety: Very safe even though you are in the red light district. Hotel requires one to buzz in. Also, across of the hotel are other hotels too...and the prostitutes and drug dealers know to stay on the corner/not to get near the hotels.

Next time I'm in Copenhagen, I'm staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Address: Helgolandsgade 11, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#9 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#13 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Axel Guldsmeden is an experience of charm and style, and the best night’s sleep you will find in inner Copenhagen. Situated in the heart of Vesterbro, Axel has 129 rooms, conference facilities, an organic brunch & evening restaurant and a luxurious spa with own-brand organic products.The four-star Axel Guldsmeden is the environmentally friendly choice for a visit to Copenhagen – all products, food & drink, furnishings and services either organic, fair-trade or both. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axel Hotel Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.