We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this hotel... just don't expect a good massage” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels to your Saves list
Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Helgolandsgade 11, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Loved this hotel... just don't expect a good massage”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here recently and loved it. Wonderful futon style fluffy comfortable beds (despite the single doonas as is everywhere in Denmark), great organic products, delicious breakfasts, great room with balcony (had a superior room) nice little bar and comfortable seating area in foyer, great location. The service can be a bit abrupt at times and not as knowledgable about the hotel as should be. After a stressful trip we were very grateful to be staying at at a 'spa' style hotel and booked a massage on arrival. It took 3 days to get a reservation so were very much looking forward to it. I have to say this was the worst massage we had ever had in our lives and with a therapist with an extremely bad attitude. When asked if she could please go harder (as I couldn't feel her hands on me!) was told that she couldn't as she had a full day ahead with clients and her hands would get too sore. At 910 krona (over $150 aud) shouldn't I expect 100pc service? I actually wonder whether this therapist was even trained properly. I left the 'spa' still stiff and sore with no effect, just so angry. Not quite what I was expecting at a spa hotel where this should have been a priority service. Perhaps they should consider fitter more qualified therapists and rotate them so they don't get so tired. I had a morning appt so can't imagine the afternoon ones. Very very disappointing experience that ruined my lovely hotel experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

793 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    351
    129
    47
    9
See reviews for
77
395
65
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manama, Bahrain
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Nice hotel, nice location. Very central can be reached on foot from the central train station easily. rooms are very small or beds are not the comfiest though. Stayed in hotels that have similar quality for less but Copenhagen is an expensive city, so still recommended. Liked the organic / natural theme.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Pros,
Close to train station,
Beds,
Schampoo,conditioner,

Cons,
Extra fee if you pay with credit card
Elevator slow,
Long check out time, understaffed
Long check in time, understaffed.
NO WATER PRESSURE, ( stayed top floor)

Didnt try the brekafast, or morgon mad, beacause to crowded on saturday.
So so value, its not cheap.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Organic and beautiful hotel - what is not to love?

The single rooms are very small though and the bed is not very good. That is a bit disappointing. However, the nice breakfast and the organic choice compensate for all this.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel is just right for a city break. It's well maintained and although our room was small (it was the cheapest), it had everything you would need in a city hotel including a really comfy bed. The communal areas were all really smart and cool, and the service was very charming and efficient.

The central location is a real bonus - if like most visitors to Copenhagen you arrive into the Central Station, it makes a big difference to be able to walk straight to the hotel.

We visit Copenhagen regularly, and will certainly be back to this hotel. Next time hopefully we'll get the time to try the spa which looks nice, and may even pay more for one of the bigger rooms which are still reasonably priced and looked great from what we could see through open doors when they were being cleaned.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Loved this little hotel. Staff was amazing, rooms were pleasant, breakfast was really tasty.Really enjoyed our stay. They had a great little bar. A great place to have a beverage and find out about places to see in Copenhagan. Staff made great restaurant recommendations. All were great.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and had the most relaxing stay. From the moment we arrived and were greeted at the door by one of the cheerful reception staff we knew we'd made the right choice. The decor was different and beautiful, and the eco/organic ethos of the hotel was very impressive and consistent throughout. Our room was completely gorgeous and very relaxing; we found it spacious and very comfortable - definitely one of the best night's sleep I've had in a hotel. Breakfast was expensive at 160krone each but we splashed out on our last day for convenience and found it was a very tasty, traditional Scandinavian breakfast of bacon, eggs, yoghurt, salads, cereals, breads and pålegg (bread toppings). We were told everything was organic and home made which makes the price less shocking.
Service was really impressive. We had a minor problem with the shower temperature as the hotel is in an old building, and within about 2 minutes of ringing reception somebody knocked on our door to fix it. When we rang down and asked for an iron, it was brought to us within about one minute! Staff really bent over backwards to help guests.
The area is slightly undesirable as mentioned in other guest reviews, but there are many other expensive hotels in the vicinity, and it seemed quite safe. Furthermore, the hotel is within a 5 minute walk of Copenhagen central train station and seemingly endless trendy bars, stores and well priced restaurants.
We will definitely be staying here again the next time we are in Copenhagen. Cannot recommend this hotel enough!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Address: Helgolandsgade 11, Copenhagen 1653, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Copenhagen
#9 Business Hotel in Copenhagen
#13 Romantic Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Axel Guldsmeden is an experience of charm and style, and the best night’s sleep you will find in inner Copenhagen. Situated in the heart of Vesterbro, Axel has 129 rooms, conference facilities, an organic brunch & evening restaurant and a luxurious spa with own-brand organic products.The four-star Axel Guldsmeden is the environmentally friendly choice for a visit to Copenhagen – all products, food & drink, furnishings and services either organic, fair-trade or both. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Axel Hotel Copenhagen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Axel Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.