We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and in the heart of the city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of CopenHagen Star Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added CopenHagen Star Hotel to your Saves list
CopenHagen Star Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   ColbjornsensGade 13, Copenhagen 1652, Denmark (Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
40% off in the bar!
Ranked #58 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Halmstad, Sweden
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Clean and in the heart of the city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

Well situated behind the central station. Yes it is in the red light district but we did not have a problem with that. The rooms was clean and big enough. The only downside was perhaps the crowded breakfast area.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    160
    158
    48
    29
See reviews for
73
139
41
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

This hotel did the job - it was central, close to main shopping/eating/drinking areas. Inside it was clean, if a little dated. Rooms were quite a good size - there were 4 of us travelling and our room was actually quite a bit larger, but both fine. Good heating and decent shower. The hotel is right next to the main train station and very close Tivolli Gardens, however, this is closed in the winter (think it opens from start of May) so it was a shame not to have access to it - there are quite a few restaurants, bars within the gardens. On a more general note, Copenhagen is really nice, the people are very friendly, shops very chic and fashonable, some great nightlife, I will definetely go back. Would consider staying here again but maybe try somewhere a bit closer to Norreport area. However when I visited I did my research and this was the best deal I could find for a 3 star hotel, we paid about £50 p/night per double room.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

Although reasonably priced and fairly centrally located I would not recommend this hotel. I found the staff incredibly rude and unhelpful. Our flight home was cancelled due to the ash cloud and we were re-booked for a flight five days later. When I called the front desk to arrange an extended stay the man there informed us that he would be doubling our nightly rate for the first two nights and giving us the regular rate for the remaining three days. 'I wouldn't be much of a businessman if I didn't take advantage if this' he said. That's not business, it's profiteering at the expense of those in need.

When we eventually checked out another man at the front desk wanted to charge us the higher rate for the extra five nights so I had to argue the case for about ten minutes before he reluctantly stuck to what had been agreed.

Aside from all that, travellers should note that after dark the neighbourhood is full of prostitutes on street corners who harass passers-by.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vigo
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2010

This hotel is very close to the railway station and right in the middle of the red-light district. Tired interior, staff are pleasant, room was awful. Single bed, old furniture, similar to a college hall of residence in the 80's. Toilet smelt awful. Depressing place.

Don't venture out after 8 O'clock or you'll be harassed by drug pushers and prostitutes. Prostitutes hang around the entrance to the hotel. You need to use your keycard to use the lift or get into the stairwell because of all the dodgy characters hanging around the area.

I would avoid this hotel at all costs.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

I stayed here with my parents (age 80) and sister and had a very good stay. The hotel is no more than 5 minutes walk from the central station, 10 mins from Tivoli and very easy to access all other sights of Copenhage by bus or train. The rooms are average size for a city centre hotel ( compare favourably with more expensive hotels I have been in London) and were clean, had basic toiletries, good soundproofing, comfortable beds and were warm. There was no sign of 'red light' activity when walking between hotel and station/Tivoli - that activity is further down street and so can be easily avoided. Breakfast was good with full range of eggs, meat cheese, lovely bread, jam, fruit etc If you are looking for a simple base for a sight seeing trip to Copenhagen and are not bothered about fancy frills and extras (posher shampoo, kettle in room, full bar etc) then I do not think you will go wrong with the Norlandia

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2010

Stayed here two nights in room 329 in late March 2010. Room was a double with two comfortable beds and a desk that seemed to double as a third bed when necessary. Quite big room for one person. Clean sheets and good pillows. Internet and movie channels have to be paid for.

Room had a rather small tv and plenty of room for bags and clothes in the closet. Bathroom had a decent shape and was quite clean although I found black hair on the floor and in the shower. Room seemed a bit dull but served it's purpose.

I was afraid that it would be a noisy night as the room faces a busy street but I slept like a stone and didn't hear a thing thanks to the double glazed windows. Breakfast was decent with boiled eggs, cereal, good bread, juice, youghurt, juice, tea and coffee.

This is a rather basic hotel but with excellent location if you want to be close to the main train station and the action in Copenhagen. The street is in the center of the red light district but it is no less safe than other parts of the city. You cannot avoid seeing drug dealers and prostitutes in the area at night but they rarely annoy you if you are not interested in what they sell. Many good and cheap (for Denmark) restaurants nearby. Close to Tivoli and shopping streets.

The standard rate (which nobody should be paying) for a single room was published to be around 1200 dkr. My company paid around the half with a negotiated discount.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

I liked staying in Norlandia Star Hotel. I liked its central location, I liked the fact it was impeccably clean and I liked the price of course. I found a double room in easy click travel web site for less than 130 $ a night. After checking well all the possibilities, I came to the conclusion it was the best one for the lowest price.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to CopenHagen Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CopenHagen Star Hotel

Address: ColbjornsensGade 13, Copenhagen 1652, Denmark
Phone Number:
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Vesterbro - Kongens Enghave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — CopenHagen Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Copenhagen Star Hotel is situated just 100 meters from the Central Station, to which you can arrive to in only 12 minutes by train from the airport. You find yourself in the pulsating Vesterbro district, with a lot of cozy cafes and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your CopenHagen Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norlandia Star Copenhagen
Hotel Norlandia Star

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CopenHagen Star Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.