We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Hotels steal your money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of First Hotel Kong Frederik

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added First Hotel Kong Frederik to your Saves list
First Hotel Kong Frederik
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vester Voldgade 25, Copenhagen 1552, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
“First Hotels steal your money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Our room was prepaid in full. When we arrived I was asked for a deposition. 250 DKK was to be reserved on my Visa-card. I agreed to that. When we left it turns out the whole cost of our stay, 4 500 DKK has been reserved. It takes numerous e-mails and 9 days before I get my money back. The answers from the hotel are nonchalant and it's clear this is not the first time this happens, nor is it considered a problem. Don't ever let them near your credit card, anything might happen.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, Receptionschef at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Annika,

First of all – thank you for staying at First Hotel Kong Frederik during your visit to Copenhagen and for taken the time to submit a review.
I’m of course very sorry to read that you felt that First Hotels is stealing your money and this is not correct in my opinion since the authorization has been released by your credit card provider. I trust that all credit card transaction at our hotel is transparent and it is an international industrial standard to pre-authorize a guests credit card when staying at a hotel, even if a stay is pre-paid in full, for example you might want to enjoy room service, rent bikes or do a phone call to your friends at home.
It has been a pleasure to assist you with your problem, where a system glitch made an authorization for the full amount, and this should of course never happen. We have been in contact with the two companies that are handling credit card transactions in Denmark as well as the industry leader for hotel operation system and they have made an update of their operation system. We are sorry for the inconvenience this caused you. I totally understand that it is neither fun nor pleasant to have had your credit card blocked with the amount and unfortunately the international system is set-up so that even if the hotel has released the blocked amount, the credit card holders bank might hold the authorization longer. All authorizations at our hotel releases immediately after check-out, however, it might take longer depending on your own credit/debit card provider that even if the hotel industry is operation 24/7, the banks do unfortunately not during weekends and bank holidays.
I’m sorry you left our hotel with little confidence in our services, but I trust that the credit card system has been updated to ensure this technical error does not happens in the future.

Sincerely,

Karen Henneberg
Front Office Manager
First Hotel Kong Frederik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    138
    137
    76
    61
See reviews for
43
196
35
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Akersberga, Sweden
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

If you need to stay in central Copenhagen, this is as central as it gets! Just a couple of hundred meters to Strøget and Rådhuspladsen. The hotel looks kind of luxurious from the outside but don't let that fool you, it's rather worn down and in need of a good restoration. Check-in worked fine, we arrived early and our room wasn't ready yet but we could store our bags in the hotel and stroll around in Copenhagen for a few hours.

Our room on the fourth level faced the street and had no A/C (I don't think any rooms have A/C here?). This means the sun was making the room baking HOT (in april!) and the noise from the street and the club opposite was terrible with the windows open! The noise went on until 4-5 in the morning. The room itself was ok in size, good bed, minibar (free), deposit box, small flat screen TV, free and fast Wifi.

Bathroom was on the small side with a half-sized tub including a shower. It proved to be a challenge to stand up and shower there because the tub had two levels and you were practically shoved against the shower pipes while showering if standing on the low level. The other option would be to stand further out but then the glass door would not stop the bathroom from becoming soaking wet (which was a challenge anyway...).

Breakfast was included with our booking and it was very good with a variety of everything you could possibly want.

Would I stay here again? Hmmm... probably not but possibly if I needed a central hotel in the winter and could book a room facing away from the street...

Room Tip: No A/C! Make you sure you get a room not facing the street! There's a club on the opposite side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, Receptionschef at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear PGon Tour,

Thank you for staying at First Hotel Kong Frederik and for reviewing your stay on Tripadvisor.

You are absolutely right, our location is as central as it gets just next to Rådhuspladsen and Stroget. This location also make the street outside quite busy sometimes and we are sorry if this disturbed you during your stay.

We are in a very charming old building and actually the oldest and most classic hotel in Copenhagen, and we, as the most hotels in Copenhagen, do not have air condition, since our building is an heritage and that the Copenhagen climate is very mild compared to other cities in Europe. Our rooms are indeed equiped with fans, and I hope you took the oppertunity to use it.

I am delighted to read that you did enjoy our breakfast, the room, the bed, complimentary minibar and our services overall.

I hope you will decide to stay with us again, and we would be happy to provide a room facing the courtyard if available.

Best regards

Karen Henneberg
Front Office Manager
First Hotel Kong Frederik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaxjo, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

The breakfast was exceptional with great staff. The hotel was old style and romantic unlike the modern ones. It was beautiful. Bed was very comfortable and the mini bar was free. Reception was prompt to send staff to the room to explain how the TV worked.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

The standard room was a lot smaller than it appeared in the pictures and the standard of cleanliness was quite poor. It was quite dusty and the bath tub had some rust around the edges. The carpet didn't look very clean either. We wee on the 5th floor, not sure if the other floors are the same. The restaurant food (dinner) was quite good and the restaurant staff very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen H, Receptionschef at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Alexandra D,

thank you for your review and for staying with us during your visit to Copenhagen.
We are sorry to understand that you felt that the pictures at our homepage is showing not an accurate picture. I assure you that the picture is a standard room and would like to bring to your attention that we also state that our rooms differ in both style and size, from 15-18 m2.
First Hotel Kong Frederik is the oldest and most classic hotel in Copenhagen and also the layout ofour rooms are different since our building is a typical townhouse.

What is really concerned is that you felt the room not clean, I hope you did contact our front desk
directly to allocate another room for you – or if you would like another style of room.
However, I do apologize for your experience.

I’m very happy to read that you liked our Italian concept restaurant and the staff very friendly,
and I’m sorry that you based on your experience with your room gave us the lowest score.

Best regards,

Karen Henneberg
Front Office Manager
First Hotel Kong Frederik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Nice hotel, WILL push upgrades, avoid room 311. We were switched into a nice room after we had issues with the first room. Our stay was lovely after that. I would go back, breakfast was fantastic as well.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with FirstHotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Located in the city center of CPH it is a great place to stay. breakfast is excellent inspired by Italy.
(also the value for the breakfast is worth considering eating in)

Staff at the reception was a little overwhelmed at arrival. One person at the reception for the check in rush hour. Waited for quite a long time. Still staff stayed very calm, polite and efficient.

my room was located on the 5th floor, quiet and cosy.

be aware there are 2 elevators dividing the hotel.

unfortunately you cannot pay with maestro.

Room Tip: rooms to the main street are sunnier
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Just checked out from this hotel and I was supriced who nice it was and how friendly the staff is. Specially to mention a swedish guy who opened the heavy doors, arranged a taxi and gave me some recommendations for dining out. There is an italian restaurant in the hotel with great pizza. Prevoious reviewers mention the soundproof as a problem and old bathrooms. I stayed in a double room facing street and had no problem with sounds and my bathroom was nice.
Great and friendly hotel that indeed is the oldest in the town, but nice atmosphere and the best location.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to First Hotel Kong Frederik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Kong Frederik

Address: Vester Voldgade 25, Copenhagen 1552, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Kong Frederik 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel located in City Center of Copenhagen. The Town Hall Square, Tivoli Gardens, Stroeget and the main train station is located within five minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your First Hotel Kong Frederik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Kong Frederik
Kong Frederik Copenhagen
Hotel Kong Frederik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Hotel Kong Frederik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.