We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The dirtiest and most sweltering 4 star hotel. Don't stay here!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of First Hotel Kong Frederik

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added First Hotel Kong Frederik to your Saves list
First Hotel Kong Frederik
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vester Voldgade 25, Copenhagen 1552, Denmark (Indre By)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 117 Hotels in Copenhagen
london
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“The dirtiest and most sweltering 4 star hotel. Don't stay here!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011 via mobile

As others have said, it's the location that is great. But a hotel doesn't earn 4 stars based on this.

The only other thing about this place is that (if you don't look too closely) the lobby with the orchids look chic. But it's all downhill after that.

The lift is dirty, the whole hotel dark and dingy and the temperature is like being in a furnace! Despite requesting a non-road facing room, we ended up having one on the first night, which meant we had to open the windows onto the main road which was akin to being in picadilly circus at rush hour. This room had a dirty bathroom and a bath tub half the normal size. The temperature in the room was simply unbearable!

The next day we were changed to a room facing a courtyard full of air vents and pigeon droppings - but our standards were so low that being able to open our windows and being away from the main road left us grateful for the change. I'm not sure staying in a hotel should evoke such a response! We were always careful about the windows as we were worried the stupid pigeons would come in-trust me, they were flapping around enough!

The bathroom did not strike me as being clean and it lacked any style whatsoever. In fact the whole hotel needs a good scrub - and for pity's sake, a/c NEEDS to be installed! And rather than dark and dingy colours, try a little Danish style? As a Londoner, I would never go to a pub that looks like Sirius Black's house from Harry Potter!! It screams funeral parlour over pub!

Ironically, when I mentioned to the receptionist that the rooms were too hot, she said 'it's hot everywhere'. I'll leave you to gauge if that's an appropriate response.

Other things:

Positive: excellent location near to all sites, nice restaurants and transport around. Reception were helpful with printing my plane ticket.

Negative: apart from the temperature, customer service is hit and miss. Am not sure it really meets 4 star category. Because of the heat, Mosquitos/midges galore. My sister looked like she had scabies after being a rotating sushi dish for them one night.

Tip: don't book the secret 'central 4 star near Tivoli and centre of attractions' via lastminute.com.....else you'll end up in this terrible - less than budget standard - hotel masquerading as a four star!

Absolutely awful-we could barely wait to leave!! I would happily have paid double to be somewhere nicer in retrospect-or even just to keep the temperature bearable-crikey, it's Scandinavia, not the Caribbean!!

But...Copenhagen is a amazing and vibrant city.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KongFrederik, General Manager at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Dear guest,

I am really sad to hear your review about your stay with us - especially because this is far from the good feedback we usually get from most of our guests.

We always try to fulfill the requests of our guests - but unfortunately it is not always possible - especially not when the hotel is fully booked. I see that you were moved to one of our rooms facing the back yard where it is less noisy ion was taken from the reception regarding this. I am aware of the pigeon problem and as a consequence of your comment we will soon have a net installed so that the pigeons cannot enter the yard at all.

Thank you so much for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    136
    137
    75
    61
See reviews for
42
196
35
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

I spent a lot of money (€ 180 without breakfast) on a room that was depressing, dark and in need of a complete refurbishment. The bathroom was shabby and tiles were broken - no shower curtain (was not a modern wet room) so floor got flooded. Even the towels had holes in them. The photos of website are misleading and I would not recommend it

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

This is a recently modernised hotel, and the rooms and decor are clean and tidy. The central glass covered atrium courtyard is a great place to sit with free coffee. Staff are friendly and helpful.

The major problem however is the temperature of the rooms. The room I was in overlooked the courtyard, so even with the windows open, the temperature was unbearably hot during the night. There is a fan in the room, but this had limited impact. Really this hotel needs to install air conditioning.

The location is perfect - near the central railway station, tivoli gardens, shopping streets etc with plenty of places to go in the evening to eat and drink.

I would return to this hotel, but only if something is done about the room temperature.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

Safe closed so we couldn't use it. If you have a room opening onto the atrium don't open your window. The atrium is heated and you will melt. Bit tatty in places. Given a double bed room when clearly ordered one with 2 beds. Just not quite up to the 4 stars. Location brilliant.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

The hotel is renovated older building. Room VERY small and compact; no air conditioning. Don't reserve a room facing front as the noise is disruptive to sleep. Lift is tiny (barely got 2 people and 2 suitcases in there!). Rooms are clean and compact. The location is close to everything (Tivoli Gardens a 5 minute walk; great shopping and restaurants a 4 minute walk). The breakfast buffet is average. We did try the restaurant for dinner one evening and were pleasantly surprised. Some of the staff were very helpful; others polite.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KongFrederik, General Manager at First Hotel Kong Frederik, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review about your stay at First Hotel Kong Frederik. The hotel is more than 100 years old and many standards have changed over the years - but the room size is the same. However, we do have different room categories and our deluxe rooms are larger than the standard rooms. Upon availibility it is always possible to buy an upgrade to a larger room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011 via mobile

Nicely renovated hotel, that is poorly managed. No one to help you with your bags. The only elevator breaks down and we are on the fifth floor. The room was cold one night and we asked for an extra blanket - they didn't have one! They didn't have anything that wasn't in the room. Breakfast buffet was weak. Beds not turned down. Understaffed.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here one night and couldn't wait to leave. Rooms were very hot and had no a/c however if you opened the windows it was so noisy it was unbearable.

Service was shoddy and the walls in the corridors were riddled with damp.

It would have been better to have stayed in a budget hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to First Hotel Kong Frederik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Kong Frederik

Address: Vester Voldgade 25, Copenhagen 1552, Denmark
Location: Denmark > Zealand > Copenhagen > Indre By
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Copenhagen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — First Hotel Kong Frederik 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel located in City Center of Copenhagen. The Town Hall Square, Tivoli Gardens, Stroeget and the main train station is located within five minutes walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your First Hotel Kong Frederik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1st Hotel Kong Frederik
Kong Frederik Copenhagen
Hotel Kong Frederik

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage First Hotel Kong Frederik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.